Google Translate adds support for 13 new languages

Google Translate has added support for 13 new languages, bringing the total number of supported tongues to 103. The new languages rolling out to Translate over the coming days include:

  • Amharic
  • Corsican
  • Frisian
  • Kyrgyz
  • Hawaiian
  • Kurdish (Kurmanji)
  • Luxembourgish
  • Samoan
  • Scots Gaelic
  • Shona
  • Sindhi
  • Pashto
  • Xhosa

Google says that the addition of these languages brings Translate to 120 million new people around the world. According to Google, the 103 supported languages now cover 99 percent of the online population in total. All of this was made possible through a combination of machine learning and contributions from the Translate community, which you can read more about in Google's full blog post at the source link below.

Source: Google