Nexus One Hard reset

Two words phrases we throw around a lot: Soft reset and hard reset. The former is what it's called when you turn your phone off and on, or pull the battery. The latter is a bit more drastic. But sometimes things go wrong, and you need to restore it back to its factory settings, wiping all of your applications and personal data. Here's how you hard reset the Google Nexus One:

  1. With the phone off, hold the Volume Down button and press and release the Power button.
  2. You'll boot into the menu you see above with the little skateboard guys. Select Clear Storage from the list by pressing the Volume Down button.
  3. Press the Power button, and confirm by pressing Volume Up.
  4. Sit back while your phone reboots in its virgin state.
 

Reader comments

How to: Hard-reset the Nexus One

17 Comments

Whoa! When did "hard reset" come to mean "erase everything and wipe the slate clean"? As I've always understood it, soft reset is to turn it off and on again, but that may not restart all apps. Pulling the battery is a hard reset on a phone. What you're describing is a "factory reset", right?

--Lance

The article makes up new definitions for reset.

To soft reset you tell your phone to restart.
To hard reset you tell your phone to shut down, then power it up, or yank the battery.

To restore to factory defaults and wipe all data, follow the instructions he gave.

Actually, hard and soft reset was very common terms back in the Palm handheld organizer days before the age of smart phones. Hard reset has always meant to wipe the slate clean. Soft reset was forcing the device off, like a "Force Quit" for Android users, and Alt-Control-Delete for windows. When Palm was around, there was a little pinhole on the back. Just pushing it in would "soft reset" the device, causing it to quit whatever applications it was running, and start a fresh boot. Hard reset required holding another button down while pushing the pinhole (purposely more complicated), and that would wipe the device.
It's only been within the past few years that people have redefined the meaning due to adding the ability to shut down programs that weren't responding. With some devices, hard and soft resets may mean different things. That, or the writer in this post is having flashbacks from his Palm days. Haha

I heard that the other way to do it is to swipe:

Up - Up - Down - Down - Left - Right - Left - Right - B - A - Start

The above described way _does not_ delete all data, for example my pictures where still on the card, as where some app data.

It did however delete everything from the accounts like user / pw / wifi settings. The above link from hardreset seem to be the more drastic one.