Google+ tip: Instant upload | Android Central

Google+ tip: Instant upload

Google+ Instant Uploads
Google+ Instant Uploads
Google+ uploads

Google+ Instant UploadsGoogle+ Instant Uploads

A major feature of Google+ is "Instant Upload." That's a sweet little deal that will automatically upload your pictures and video to Picasa (Google's longtime image-sharing service), all without you having to do anything. It's something you'll be asked to set up when you first launch Google+, but it's worth a deeper look.

Google+ uploads First off, it's not quite as scary as it sounds. If you enable it, it will, in fact, upload all of the images on your phone to Picasa. Do note that as indicated by the settings above, only new pictures will automatically upload, but you can tell it to send everything that's on your phone, too, if you wish. And also note that by default, these images are only visible to you -- not to everyone in your circles. You still have to share them if you want others to see them. So that picture you took of your butt (or worse)  late one night won't be automatically shared, just uploaded.

That brings about the issue in that it's not quite as easy to delete uploaded pictures as we'd like (nor is the selective uploading of batches of images). But as Google+ matures, we only expected it to be better itegrated with the core apps of Android.

Other settings of note: You can choose whether to upload while on mobile networks, or Wifi-only, or if you only want to do photos or photos and video, or only while charging.

3.5
Average: 3.5 (4 votes)