If you mess up your S7 by playing with too many settings you don't understand, you get a do-over!

That's right. In the event your brand new S7 starts acting weird because of some setting you tweaked without understanding what it does, you can relax. You can fix your wonky settings-tinkering by resetting them back to their default states.

This type of reset is a soft reset, which means it won't erase all the data on your phone. It will get rid of any customizations you've made, however, so be aware of that.

How to reset the settings on the Galaxy S7

Settings govern just about everything about how your S7 operates, from how long the screen stays on to the wallpaper. Here's how to return everything, except for the security settings, to their default state:

  1. Swipe down from the top of the screen to pull down the Notification Shade.
  2. Tap the Settings button. It looks like a gear.
  3. Swipe up to scroll down on the settings screen.

    swipe down from top of screen to pull down notification shade, then tap settings button, then swipe up to scroll down

  4. Tap Backup and reset.
  5. Tap Reset settings.

    Tap backup and reset then tap reset settings

  6. Tap RESET SETTINGS.
  7. Tap RESET in the bottom right corner of the pop-up.

    Tap reset settings, then tap reset in bottom corner of the popups

How to reset the network settings on the Galaxy S7

Network settings govern how the S7 connects to your cellular carrier's network and Wi-Fi. If you did something wrong with these settings, doing a reset as described below could fix your problem.

  1. Swipe down from the top of the screen to pull down the Notification Shade.
  2. Tap the Settings button. It looks like a gear.
  3. Swipe up to scroll down on the settings screen.

    swipe down from top of screen to pull down notification shade, then tap settings button, then swipe up to scroll down

  4. Tap Backup and reset.
  5. Tap Reset network settings.

    tap backup and reset then tap reset network settings

  6. Tap RESET SETTINGS.
  7. Tap RESET SETTINGS again on the next screen to confirm your choice.

    tap reset settings, then reset settings again

That's it. A little pop-up message will appear briefly to let you know that your network settings have been reset.