Skip to main content

Gmail now lets you 'drop the mic' on any conversation

If you've ever just wanted to put a stop to an email thread, but with a little added emphasis, Google has your back. Thanks to its new "Mic Drop" feature, Gmail users can now literally drop the mic on any conversation.

From Google:

Today, Gmail is making it easier to have the last word on any email with Mic Drop. Simply reply to any email using the new 'Send + Mic Drop' button. Everyone will get your message, but that's the last you'll ever hear about it. Yes, even if folks try to respond, you won't see it.

Mic DROP!

Okay, so this is obviously another April Fools' prank from the folks at Google. But like Emoji search in Google Photos, you can actually use this feature in Gmail — for the time being, that is.

16 Comments
  • This is actually a great idea. We're on Google Apps at work and I could really use this feature!
  • Soooooooooooo this is like blocking someone? Be Together Not The Same
  • Somewhat. It blocks further replies in that email chain only. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Thanks Be Together Not The Same
  • Smart reply apparantly also suggests emoji to use instead of actual words. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Make this a feature for text messaging. Posted via the Android Central App
  • OH SNAP! Prevents them from replying to you for an hour. Or disables there SMS app entirely for that hour. Gives them time to recover from what just happened. Posted via the Android Central App
  • April 1, 2016.
  • April fool, b1tches
  • Just accidentally mic dropped an HR for the job I'm applying for. Thanks google! It was too hard to ask confirmation before send the mail, right?
  • Pretty neat eh? Like it:)
  • Apparently this feature was disabled because people mistakenly used it for important emails. Posted via the Android Central App
  • It seems so but it was a pretty cool idea with not the best of deliveries. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Lol. Confirmation before sending is a nice feature that really needs to be enabled on the web portal. Posted via the Android Central App
  • It seems so but it was a pretty cool idea with not the best of deliveries. Posted via the Android Central App
  • I want to petition Google to make this a permanent option.