Inaugural Google Play Awards will highlight killer apps at Google I/O 2016

Google has announced that this year's Google I/O will feature the first-ever Google Play Awards. In an effort to recognize the work of developers, Google has handpicked what it feels are some of the best apps on Google Play across a number of categories.

Google Play Awards

In all, the program features 10 categories with five nominees each. Categories include:

  • Standout Startup
  • Standout Indie
  • Best Families App
  • Best Use of Material Design
  • Best Use of Google Play Game Services
  • Early Adopter
  • Go Global
  • Most Innovative
  • Best App
  • Best Game

Nominated apps include everything from Dubsmash and Alto's Adventure, to Robinhood and Minecraft: Story Mode. For the full list of nominees, be sure to check out Google's announcement. Winners will be announced at Google I/O on May 19.

Dan Thorp-Lancaster