Samsung Unpacked event

'Unpacked' event expected to showcase Galaxy S7 series ahead of Mobile World Congress in Barcelona.

Mobile World Congress

It's official — Samsung has sent out invites to an "Unpacked" launch event on Sunday, Feb. 21 at 7:00 p.m. CET (that's 1 p.m. ET and 10 a.m. PT) in Barcelona, Spain. For the third year running, the company will unveil new flagship phones — the Galaxy S7 series — ahead of Mobile World Congress, which this year takes place in the Catalan capital from Feb. 22 to 25.

This time around we're expecting to see at least two, and possibly three Galaxy S7 models, including a regular flat S7 and a curvy S7 edge. There've also been rumors that a larger GS7 edge+ may break cover at the same time as its smaller cousins. Either way, it'll be a crucial launch for Samsung as it attempts to hold onto market share in the face of increasing competition from Chinese rivals.

But Samsung won't be alone in Barcelona. Local rival LG is holding its own event in the city on Feb. 21, where it's expected to unveil its new LG G5 handset.

However things shake out, Android Central will be live from Barcelona on Feb. 21 to bring you full coverage of the new Galaxy S7 phones. In the meantime, be sure to hit the comments and let us know what you're hoping to see from Samsung. And check out our guide to everything you need to know about the Samsung Galaxy S7 to get up to speed.