BitTorrent announced today that its secure messaging app, Bleep, has moved out of alpha and is now publicly available on all platforms, including Android.

BitTorrent Bleep, which launched in alpha form last September, is a privacy-focused messaging platform that keeps messages out of the cloud, instead sending them directly to the recipient with end-to-end encryption. With today's public release, Bleep has also picked up an ephemeral messaging feature called "whisper."

If you aren't already familiar with BitTorrent Bleep, here's a rundown of what the app offers:

  • Sign-up with email, mobile number or just go incognito
  • Send and receive online and offline text and images
  • Make and receive voice-calls over cellular data or WiFi to other Bleep users
  • Import your address-book contacts
  • Invite friends over email, SMS or share your public key
  • Move an existing desktop account to a mobile device
  • Messages are sent fully encrypted and stored locally
  • Easily delete your message history

Of course, the a big part of today's release is the addition of the aforementioned "whisper" feature. If you have a message or picture that you'd like to keep extra-private, you can choose to send it as a whisper, which will cause it to disappear after 25 seconds. If you're worried about screenshots ruining the ephemeral nature of whispers, BitTorrent notes that the app will block out nicknames while sending whisper messages—making it impossible to tell who sent the message.

If you're a privacy-minded individual and you'd like to give Bleep a shot, you can hit up Google Play to check it out.