It's now a lot easier to keep your data private with Google services

Location Data Google Photos Galaxy S
Location Data Google Photos Galaxy S (Image credit: Ara Wagoner / Android Central)

What you need to know

  • Google will automatically delete web and app activity for new users from today.
  • Older users will receive a prompt, directing them to change their settings if they want to.
  • The company will also put incognito mode just a tap away on all its apps, starting with iOS first.

Google is launching a bunch of privacy-first initiatives across its line of software products, CEO Sundar Pichai announced today. The company had taken to being more privacy-conscious after being criticized by both publications and governments over its lax treatment of user data, and today's updates hand more control over to the user.

Last year, Google began allowing its customers to delete personal data with the tap of a button from a dedicated hub on both mobile and web. It also allowed them to automate it so that Google would flush your account data after either 3 or 18 months. From today, Google's automatic data deletion settings will default to on rather than off for new users. You're still free to change it to 3 months or turn it off entirely, but Google's new defaults mean that the option is there.

Google Auto Delete Gif

Source: Google (Image credit: Source: Google)

For older users, Google will prompt them to take a look at their settings and configure it how they'd like. if you use Chrome, you may already have noticed a prompt and a shortcut on the new tab page this morning.

Aside from this, it'll be easier and faster to go to Incognito Mode on all Google products by simply long pressing your profile photo in apps like Search, Maps, and YouTube. Google says it's bringing this first to iOS versions of those apps, but Android users won't have long to wait. Google is also making its privacy controls more proactive, pushing users to change their settings to more privacy-conscious ones whenever they enter its Privacy Checkup hub.

You'll be able to find all these account data controls in Google Search soon. Just like how you can search for contacts directing in the Google Search bar, Google will let you search for queries like "Google Privacy Checkup" and "Is my Google Account secure?" when signed in for quick access to those settings.

Finally, Google is disabling its Password Checkup Chrome extension. That's because it's already integrated into its Security Checkup tool and is redundant. The extension will be shut down in the coming months.

Have you listened to this week's Android Central Podcast?

Android Central

Every week, the Android Central Podcast brings you the latest tech news, analysis and hot takes, with familiar co-hosts and special guests.

  • Subscribe in Pocket Casts: Audio
  • Subscribe in Spotify: Audio
  • Subscribe in iTunes: Audio (opens in new tab)
6 Comments
  • So... It takes them three months to get around to culling whatever data they needed from you? 😁
    I'd like to see an automatic nightly option.
  • Exactly. I've been using the Beta version of the apps for months and when I first saw these options it was my first thought. Why can't I chose my own amount of time they delete it myself?
  • Google is still not private because the play store keeps track of everything you download and the last time you access it. Kind of stupid you can't delete that or privately install/use apps
  • Now you have me wondering: does putting apps in something like Samsung Secure Folder accomplish that?
  • It doesn't actually. You would think it would. Also Samsung secure folder shows up in the play store as well as your activity usage. Even downloading an apk doesn't seem to work if the app also exists on the play store as Google seems to connect the two.
    Security only exists if people don't have access to your pin/password/fingerprints but hiding apps or app activity on Android is not available
  • You really want to be in cybersafe? So, join Utopia and try!
    Good luck)