How to delete your Twitter account

Twitter logo crossed out on an Android phone
(Image credit: Namerah Saud Fatmi / Android Central)

Anyone who doesn't live under a rock has heard of the infamous Twitter takeover spearheaded by tech mogul Elon Musk. For the large part, the world is split between passionate Musk fans in support of the idea and those who are absolutely horrified at the notion of him owning it.

Now that the deal has finally gone through, those of you who aren't keen on the idea of Musk taking the social media platform private can delete your Twitter account following these simple instructions. Our guide includes steps for Android and desktop users.

How to delete your Twitter account on Android

1. Open Twitter on your phone.

2. Tap on your profile picture in the top left corner.

3. Select Settings & Support and then Settings and privacy.

4. Tap on Your account.

(Image credit: Namerah Saud Fatmi / Android Central)

5. Choose Deactivate Account.

6. Carefully read the information given and tap Deactivate.

7. Enter your Twitter account password and select Deactivate again.

(Image credit: Namerah Saud Fatmi / Android Central)

If you're not on your phone at the time, you can always achieve the same result from your computer. The following set of instructions walks you through the steps to deactivate and effectively delete your Twitter account on desktop.

How to delete your Twitter account on desktop

1. Go to twitter.com on your computer.

2. Click on More in the left-hand sidebar.

(Image credit: Namerah Saud Fatmi / Android Central)

3. Select Settings and Support and then click Settings and privacy.

(Image credit: Namerah Saud Fatmi / Android Central)

4. Click on Deactivate your account under Your Account.

(Image credit: Namerah Saud Fatmi / Android Central)

5. Read the information given and click on Deactivate.

(Image credit: Namerah Saud Fatmi / Android Central)

6. Enter your Twitter account password and hit the Deactivate button.

(Image credit: Namerah Saud Fatmi / Android Central)

Deactivation is the first step toward deleting your Twitter account completely. You get a month's grace period after that to reverse your decision. As a safety mechanism, your Twitter account is erased only after that time concludes.

Things to know before deleting or deactivating Twitter

Once you have hit that deactivate button, Twitter will give you exactly 30 days to walk back on your decision. Should you choose to reactivate your profile, you will only be able to do so in that time frame. After the stipulated 30-day deadline is up, all your account information, data, and profile will be gone from the popular social media platform forever.

Considering that bit of information, it's a good idea to download a copy of your Twitter data before jumping the gun. After all, you never know what you may need in the future until it's too late. This process also takes a bit of time, so you'd better do it before you've taken any irreversible steps.

Apart from saving a copy of all your data on Twitter, there's another preemptive measure to be taken by you. Be sure to change your Twitter username or email address before initiating the deletion process. This enables you to use the same name and email address again if you decide to rejoin Twitter with your old credentials later on.

Namerah Saud Fatmi
Contributing Writer

Namerah Saud Fatmi is a contributing writer for Android Central. She has a passion for all things tech & gaming and has been an honorary Goodreads librarian since 2011. When she isn't writing, she can be found chasing stray cats and dogs in the streets of Dhaka or slaying dragons in the land of Skyrim. You can reach her on Twitter @NamerahS.