Nexus

 

Sure we all know that the Samsung Galaxy Nexus event is scheduled for 9:30 a.m. local time Wednesday in Hong Kong, but what time is that for you? Confusion always sets in around event times, so we wanted to make this super simple for you.

North America

ADT (Halifax) 11 p.m. Tuesday
EDT (eastern daylight time) 10 p.m. Tuesday
EST (George Town) 9 p.m. Tuesday
CDT (central daylight time) 9 p.m. Tuesday
MDT (mountain daylight time) 8 p.m. Tuesday
MST (mountain standard time) 7 p.m. Tuesday
PDT (pacific daylight time) 7 p.m. Tuesday
AKDT (Alaska daylight time) 6 p.m. Tuesday
HAST (Hawaii-Aleutian standard time) 4 p.m. Tuesday

Hey, rest of the world. We didn't forget about you. Hit this link for a list of cities near you.

And we'll have more coverage than you'll know what to do with all day Tuesday and Wednesday. And remember that the event's being streamed at youtube.com/android. Stay tuned, folks.

More in the Android Central Forums

 
There are 45 comments

BarneyDroid says:

Sweet!

what about this? straight from android's twitter it says that it starts at 7pm PST on youtube.com/android

https://twitter.com/#!/Android/status/126040214085976064

Dirrk says:

This is less confusing?
Here let me help

Times for the US on Tuesday
Eastern: 9:30pm
Central: 8:30pm
Mountain: 7:30pm
Pacific: 6:30pm
Alaska: 5:30pm
Hawaii: 3:30pm

rizzay1 says:

Yesss 6:30 can't wait, it seems like its taking forever for tomorrow to come

rizzay1 says:

Or 7:30?

Barton82 says:

The event is scheduled for 10 AM, at 9:30 they only open the door.

I live in NJ so is it 8:30?

ro1224 says:

LOL, yes, New Jersey is Eastern Time. :)

Sniper1087 says:

so 9:30pm

h20squirter says:

so around 2130 is what your saying?

thanks b/c androidcentral says 8:30 so i got confused

Wesley1 says:

Android's twitter account says tune in 7PM Pacific time. For me in the UK that is 3AM. I guess I'll be waking up for that, cause I wouldn't miss it.

lexarjump says:

Are you sure that it at 3AM in uk? :)

carlosrey23 says:

Lol....this is by far the funniest post I have ever seen on AndroidCentral....baring the listing just below this one about the size of the phone....anyhow...

I have never seen so much hype for an Android device before...this is cool!

daboma says:

Yay! For once in Hawaii I do not wake up to the news that happened at 4am and will get to watch it live online at 3:30 in the afternoon. I was excited when I found out about the Hong Kong announcement and figured it out myself.

xeroslash says:

Did anyone else read this and immediately think it was Tuesday and start wondering where they'd be when the event started tonight?

No? Well, alright then.

*slowly back out*

Floss82 says:

9:30pm I will deifinitely be posted to my phone :D

eljoker says:

We should be able to stream this from our phones right?

I hope. Unfortunately for me, this is the only day of the entire semester that I have a night class, and it starts about an hour before this event, what are the odds of that? If someone knows how to stream this on android, please share. I'm not sure if you can access live streams from the YouTube app, anyone know?

HomerSp says:

Can't you view it in the browser on your phone?

I went to YouTube.com/live in the browser and tried to view a live show and it says "live event playback is not supported on this client."

HomerSp says:

Depending on what browser you use you could set the user agent to desktop (I'm using dolphin browser mini and it appears to work here).

pr0k says:

Only if you are running ICS.

eljoker says:

We should be able to stream this from our phones right?

Finally its almost here 9:30 PM for me cant wait woot woot

pr0k says:

It's pretty cool we get to see the announcement before those actually at the event! They don't get to see it until Wednesday while we get to go to bed on Tuesday having already seen the presentation. I love time travel!

cdf3 says:

Can't wait!

Holy crap you people are lucky. If I want to watch ill have to stay awake until 3am on Wednesday :( GMT sucks

Jeremy626 says:

7pm PST.....

Quasar says:

I misread the post.

Csdaytona says:

I'm double excited, not only is the announcement Tuesday night but it's also taco night at my house!

Jordan jones says:

So what language is this being broadcasted in? I English, Korean Mandarin or Cantonese?

Jeremy626 says:

ummm.... of course ENGLISH...

qwick says:

So let me get this straight... Motorola is going to launch or show off their ICS Motorola RAZR hours prior to the Samsung/Google Event doing the same with the Galaxy Nexus??

Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but that doesn't make sense...

Ferman07 says:

@qwick the razr has Android 2.3.5 with Blur over it rather than ics which is 4.0. Nexus for the win :-D

qwick says:

Ok I thought I read somewhere that it had ICS... must have been BS, thanks!

pearljam5000 says:

The wait is too hard

Scottatron says:

1pm for me, so I am glad it changed to HK :)

15israellai says:

I'm exactly in Hong Kong at GMT+8, which is not good because I will be at school at that time. That still excites me though.

deadbass72 says:

I will be watching from work! =D

morganmms says:

It's good to see someone using Daylight Time properly. I know it's just a pet peeve of mine, but Standard Time doesn't happen until next month (unless you live somewhere that doesn't participate in the arbitrary clock changing shenanigans). It's nice to see that this post even had MST for Arizona residents, such as myself. It just drives me crazy when people use PST,PDT,EST,EDT, etc at the wrong times of the year.

akbah says:

Pacific "Standard" Time is the same all year long. As well as any other "Standard" time.

uansari1 says:

4:30am here in Doha.

SunSdk1020 says:

10:00 PM at Orlando FL