Skip to main content

Huawei Nexus 6P review

We've put the Nexus 6P through the paces, and it's time for a review. Hooray for reviews!

For the past few years Google has tried to build a phone that appeals to both the consumer and the tinkerer with its Nexus program. If you want to do all the things with the bootloaders and the flashing and the ROMs and such, the Nexus phone was (and is) the phone to have. If you needed to write software and test it against the very bleeding edge of Android, a Nexus phone was your best bet. But on the consumer side, there have always been compromises. For some, the open hardware or latest version of Android was enough of a draw to negate things like a mediocre screen or camera, or less-than-stellar battery life. For others, it wasn't.

Enter the Nexus 6P. While not quite perfect and lacking a few features you find in other Android-powered phones — removable storage, IR blasters and Qi charging come to mind — it's the best "consumer" Nexus yet. With a great display, an excellent camera, and all the software features of Marshmallow, it's a Nexus for almost everyone.

Read on to see if it's the Nexus for you.

A well-built phone

On the outside: construction, materials and design

The Nexus 6P is Google's high-end offering for 2015. It's the bigger model, with the "faster" processor and more memory (see the specs section for all the gory details if you're into that) and the higher price tag. It's also pretty stunning, both in the design and construction department.

It's metal, big but not too big — and it's very nicely built.

With a 5.7-inch screen, it's smaller than last year's Nexus 6 in both width and thickness, but it's the same height. If you've held a new iPhone 6s Plus, it's almost exactly the same size. It's also just a bit taller and a bit thinner than a Note 5. It handles very much like either one. This means it feels pretty darn good in your hands. The all metal construction is nice, but more important than the materials used is the way it's all put together — very well. The seams on our review unit are perfect, the bevels and rounded corners feel good, and the whole package is easy to hold and use.

The front bezels, both top and bottom, are a little large. You have two front facing stereo speakers (good ones) that require a little bit of room, and the ridiculously thin profile (7.3 mm) means more extra room is needed somewhere for components. But the bezels still look a little large. The side bezels are thin, and cut the width of the phone to 77.8 mm. It feels a lot smaller than the Nexus 6 from last year does, and that's all because of the reduced width. A little reduction goes a long way here.

Besides the stereo speakers, you'll find an array of sensors, the front facing 8MP camera and a true RGB notification light at the top. Apps like Lightflow (opens in new tab) can be used to control the LED, which you turn on in the Sound & notification settings. The buttons are all on-screen, as expected on a Google-designed phone.

Flip the 6P over, and you have a camera hump. It's not nearly as bad as the early (and leaked) renders made everyone think it would be, and it's almost flush with the rest of the body. The hump is covered in tinted glass, and it holds the 12MP main camera, the dual-tone, dual-stage flash assembly and a fancy laser-autofocus module much like the one we see in late-model LG phones. It also works as well as what we see from LG and that's one of those good things I like to mention. There is a small microphone right under the hump, used for noise cancellation while on a call or for audio recording when capturing video. #LoveTheHump

Drop a little lower and you see the ring. It's the fingerprint scanner, and it's used with the Nexus Imprint software for biometric security. It's quick, it's accurate and it's easy to reach. In fact, all of the controls are easy to get to. Some thought went into their placement, and anyone with average to large sized hands will find that they are in the "right" spot. A few folks with smaller hands had to adjust their grip to change the volume or use Nexus Imprint when they tried using the 6P, but most people had no issues. The rest of the back of the 6P is just solid and smooth aluminum.

You get the big screen experience in a package that's better to use

The Nexus 6P has a USB Type-C interface on the bottom. This is the direction all manufacturers will be going, so I'll not gripe about having to buy new cables and adapters too much. It's not USB 3.0 but does have the coveted bi-directional plug. We've talked about where to get cables here, and I want to second the recommendation for the iOrange 2 meter braided USB Type-A to USB Type-C braided cable from Amazon (opens in new tab). I bought a couple to use in the office and the bedroom, and they seem tough and are nice and long.

On short, everything is well-built and well-designed. The Nexus 6P is still a large phone, but the reduced width make it easier to handle and more comfortable to use. We saw Samsung make the same design decisions with the new Note 5, and they work the same way here. You get the big screen experience in a package that's better to use.

How the magic happens

On the inside: the specs and performance

You can't review any Android phone without taking a close look at the specifications. Many of us don't care what's under the hood of our phone as long as it performs well, but plenty of folks do care and need to know all the numbers. Here are those numbers.

Huawei Nexus 6P hardware specifications

CategorySpecification
Operating SystemAndroid 6.0 Marshmallow
Display5.7 inches
QHD (1440x2560) AMOLED at 518 ppi
Rear Camera12.3MP
1.55 μm pixels
f/2.0 aperture
IR laser-assisted autofocus
4K video capture
240fps slow motion video capture
Broad-spectrum CRI-90 dual flash
Front Camera8MP
1.4 µm pixels
f/2.4 aperture
ProcessorsQualcomm Snapdragon 810 Processor
Adreno 430 GPU
Memory & StorageRAM: 3GB
Internal storage: 32, 64 or 128GB
Dimensions159.3 x 77.8 x 7.3mm
Weight178 g
SensorsFingerprint sensor
Sensor Hub
Accelerometer
Gyroscope
Barometer
Proximity sensor
Ambient light sensor
Hall sensor
Android Context Hub
PortsMicro USB Type-C
3.5 mm audio jack
Single Nano SIM slot
Battery3450 mAh
OtherRGB LED notification light

Now you have all the numbers. You'll also find plenty of benchmarks and discussion of those benchmarks in the forums, and if you're into that, jump in with other like-minded people who are better and benchmarking and discussion of benchmarking than I am. I just look at how well the darn thing works as my benchmark, and it passes that one with flying colors.

A little background on how I've been using my Nexus 6P is in order. I sync two busy Google accounts. I use Hangouts for messaging, Slack for work banter and communication, Skype for technical talk with our team here at Mobile Nations, Trello to remind me of all the work stuff I need to be doing, Keep for reminders and notes of other stuff I should be doing and Google+ for general jackassery and fun. I also sync the Android Central accounts on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram, though I rarely have much to say (I'm shy like that.) All this gets synchronized with my Huawei Watch running Android Wear.

I send and receive a lot of email. I also still use the phone as a phone and make a good number of calls. When nobody's looking, I play a lot of Bloons TD 5 (opens in new tab). I don't know exactly what a power-user is or what they do, but this is how I use things. All day, every day. So far, all of it on a regular T-Mobile unlimited account, because Google takes forever to send out new Project Fi SIM cards.

Nexus 6P

The Nexus 6P has handled all of this fantastically. Battery life has been great, getting me through the full day in a busy setting like the Big Android BBQ. Off the charger at 6 in the morning (I know, right? 6 a.m. is the devil) and lasting me until I wheeled into the hotel mostly drunk late in the evening. It latches onto a signal well (better than the Nexus 5 and almost as good as the Nexus 6 in the same places on the same network) and holds on to it until the death. HD calls on T-Mobile sound amazing between the Nexus 6P and a Note 5 or a Galaxy S6 edge, and Wifi calling (T-Mobile) works as expected out of the box.

There are some compromises. But finally we have a Nexus phone with the right compromises.

The camera is awesome (and gets its own section later in this review). Zero issues were seen with Bluetooth or Wifi connectivity and range, and GPS tracked things perfectly from Reagan National Airport to Casa Del Jerry (open until 3 a.m., no cover charge) using Google Navigation. Android Pay even let me buy delicious things at Jamba Juice.

The screen is beautiful, and you can even see it out in the sun. This gets its own paragraph, because it's the first time a Nexus phone had a screen as good as the other players. The 2K AMOLED screen is bright and you'll love it.

The Nexus 6P uses a different quick-charging method than we've seen from other manufacturers. You'll need to be sure to use the right power supply and the right cable, and you'll see similar results compared to Samsung's QC spec or the "regular" Qualcomm QC 2.0 specs. There is no wireless charging, and I'll cry more about that further down the page. Stupid Google mumble grumble.

Things work like they are supposed to work. Everything works like it is supposed to work. And there was never a time where I wanted things to work better.

Android Marshmallow

Software is the soul of a phone

What makes a Nexus a Nexus: the software

The Nexus 6P runs Android 6.0 Marshmallow out of the box. Build number MDB08H, with an Android security patch level of October 1, 2015 for those keeping score at home. This may or may not be the "final" retail version that you'll see when you first fire things up after the delivery person drops off your Nexus 6P, but it's what we have on review units. It's also Marshmallow the way we're used to it on our Nexus 6 and Nexus 5 phones, and that's another of those "good things" I like to bring up all the time.

Everything Google showed us during the Marshmallow presentation is there, doing its thing, the way it's supposed to do it

Other than the software required to support Nexus Imprint, you have the same features in the same places on every Nexus phone running Marshmallow. We're going over every little Marshmallow thing in separate features, but here is a good place to start to find out more.

I want to say the Nexus 6P runs Marshmallow better than any other phone, because the Nexus 6P is shiny and new. In reality, it runs things the same as a Nexus 6 or a Nexus 5X does. Some things may be a little faster to open or have smoother animations, but you get the same experience using any supported Nexus. Doze keeps your battery from draining when you're not using the phone. Sharing things has never been easier. Google now still knows all the things about me and is there to help when I can't remember them. On tap helps me know new things. Everything Google showed us during the Marshmallow presentation is there, doing its thing, the way it's supposed to do it.

Nexus 6P

Things are fluid and fast. When you swipe between screens you get the flowing animation and transitions without a stutter, list scrolling is buttery, and applications are quick to load. Task switching is fast, and apps aren't aggressively pushed out of memory when you go back to them.

More important: Because it's a Nexus phone the 6P has the latest security patches applied from Google. The way Android (and open-source operating systems in general) works means nobody is forcing anyone to push out updates to keep our phones secure. You need to be able to rely on the people who made your phone to keep you up-to-date, and because Nexus phones are updated directly from Google, you can count on keeping current. For many of us, this matters. You can expect real monthly updates direct from Google to keep your phone up to date throughout its lifespan.

If you don't care about security patch levels, and just want things to be blazin' fast, you'll still like the way Marshmallow runs on the Nexus 6P. If you're the type who can't leave well enough alone, fastboot oem unlock and have a blast. Flash all the things.

Nexus 6P camera

A camera that makes you smile

The camera: the hype is real

It seems that every year we hear someone from Google promising us that the camera on the new Nexus phone will be the best most awesome thing ever. So far, every year we've been disappointed.

You can add the Nexus 6P to the list of phones with great cameras

Previous Nexus phone cameras have been acceptable in a utilitarian sort of way, delivering pictures that were good enough. This year, with the Nexus 6P, we get pictures that live up to the hype machine. We've all read about how the Nexus 6P is number three on some list of phones with a camera. The people who test that stuff have really great methods and tools they use to determine things, and knowing that the camera is capable in laboratory conditions is cool. To me, though, how things work in real life is more important.

I'll make this easy. The best camera on any phone is the one on the LG G4, because it has excellent manual modes and saves full resolution RAW images out of the box. Take that away, and phones like the G4 or Galaxy Note 5 or Galaxy S6 or even the iPhone 6 plus have really awesome cameras on them. You'll love the pictures you can get from any of them, and they are all "the best" at taking pictures. You get a really nice image that's easy to share with anyone, and it looks good even when you zoom in.

You can add the Nexus 6P to that list.

We can talk about 1.55uM pixel sizes, or 1/2.3-inch sensors, or OIS and how it's not there until the end of days (and we probably will) but in the end, the camera on the Nexus 6P is great. It's great in the sun. It's great in the shade. It's great in a dark room where people are on stage talking to us about cool Android things. It focuses fast, processes images quickly and gives out results that will make you happy. We've looked at the camera (because it's that important) in it's own post, and you should read that here but I wanted to include some pictures here, too. I took some of these, and other people took some at the Big Android BBQ. They are just point and shoot, using the stock Google camera application, in all sorts of conditions.

Capturing video gives excellent results, too. I noticed how well the microphone handled background noise, and that the built-in stabilization software did a good job keeping the camera shake to a minimum. I also captured two videos showing off both, which you can see below. The first is in a torrential downpour (seriously, people in Dallas were gathering two of every animal and building a boat I think) and the second is coming in fast on a very short runway at Reagan National where things get pretty shaky.

I take a lot of pictures, both for work and for just goofing off, and I'm pretty darn happy. This is by far the best camera on a Nexus phone, ever, and stands up against the best from the competition.

Nexus 6P

Nexus 6P AMA

Real Talk: your questions, answered

We had our Nexus review phones at the Big Android BBQ, and that worked out really well. It gave us a chance to give people some hands-on time, and talk about the things we all want to know. A good phone review answers the questions you want to ask, and having a bunch of Android die-hard fans throwing questions at us made it easy. And fun. Easy and fun is a great combo.

Here are the most-asked questions I fielded at the BBQ, and the answers.

  • Does the processor overheat?

So far it hasn't. I haven't had a chance to use it somewhere that was really hot or sunny, though. Russell took a look at what happens under a thermal camera, and I just used the heck out of it the way I would use any phone at a tech conference. Neither of us saw anything that would set off an alarm. Play a game for 20 minutes, or use it as a hotspot for a couple of laptops and it gets warmer, but never hot.

  • Does the Snapdragon 810 throttle and get slow?

Yes it throttles. As far as getting slow, it doesn't get slow enough to notice any changes doing the things you do with a smartphone — watch videos, get email and messages, take pictures and video or use a lot of apps and games. I imagine you would be able to see the throttling if you sat and ran benchmark apps, but I don't buy a phone so I can sit and run benchmarks.

This is the first Nexus phone that lives up to the promise of a great camera.

  • How is the screen in the sun?

My answer at the BBQ was "Here, have a look!" The display is just fine in the sun. Give the light sensor a second to ramp everything up, and your eyes a second to adjust, and you can use the Nexus 6P in the sun with no issues. Even while wearing sunglasses. Everyone who tried it seemed to agree.

  • How is the camera?

The most often asked question, and the easiest to answer: It's really damn good.

Not just good enough, but good. OIS might make it better, and if I ran a photography site and set up a lab I could rank it in a list. I don't run a photography site, and didn't use a lab, though. I just took a lot of pictures, in all sorts of lighting and conditions, and really liked what I saw.

I think this is the first Nexus phone that lives up to the promise of a great camera. Everyone who tried the camera then looked at the results seemed to agree.

  • How is the battery life?

It's been fine for me. Off the charger at the ungodly hour of 6AM, on and off Wifi (and thusly on and off of T-Mobile's LTE network), getting used for all communications between folks at the BBQ as well as at home, being my hotspot whenever I needed my laptop, taking a lot of pictures and video and even playing games on the toilet — the battery lasted me all day.

We're talking 4-6 hours of screen time, and little to no Doze action going on. You may use your phone differently, and your network conditions will be different. This means your battery life will be different. I can tell you it lasts longer than the Nexus 6 and the Nexus 5 I had with me, even while using it more.

  • Should I buy that case from Google?

This is the case we're talking about. Russell loves that case. I don't.

It's $35 dollars, and it will work as intended — your Nexus 6P will stay protected from minor bumps and scratches.

I just don't like the feel of the felt-like carpet on the back. Like Russell, you might. Also like Russell, you would be wrong. Just kidding. It's a fine case if you like spending money and if you like felt or things that feel like felt. (Don't buy that case!)

  • Should I upgrade from the Nexus 6?

That's tough. The Nexus 6 runs really well with Marshmallow. You can also buy one for like $350 from Amazon. It's a helluva phone for that kind of money, and will get the next version of Android.

If you already bought a Nexus 6 and don't hate it, keep it until next year. If you haven't bought either yet, but plan on getting one, get the 6P.

  • What bugs have you seen in Marshmallow on the Nexus 6P?

I've seen two bugs worth a mention.

At a point during the keynote at the BBQ, T-Mobile went into Super Saiyan crash mode. Cellular networks do that sometimes when you have a room full of people using them all at once. The Nexus 6P responded by locking up and rebooting. It's the only time I saw things get laggy and the only reboot I've seen.

The battery stats screen gets wonky and you have big blank spots. The on-time is correct, and the individual numbers give the correct amounts of time used and time on, but the chart itself just has giant gaps. They don't seem to correspond to anything like charging time, or dozing time, so I'm calling it a bug.

There are surely other bugs, and I may or may not see them. I'll be looking, because this is the phone I'll be using for a while.

Nexus Imprint works flawlessly if you take the time to set it up correctly

  • Is there really an e-fuse on a Nexus phone?!?

Yes. It's a hardware feature of the Snapdragon processor. It will trigger if you unlock the bootloader. Google doesn't care if it's triggered, and they aren't going to deny you any warranty because you unlocked the bootloader on your phone using the easy directions they provide to unlock the bootloader (I asked). That doesn't mean you can flash Kangaroo-kernel-9001_experimental_v0.311-OVERCLOCK-YOLO and break everything, then expect Google to mail you a new phone, though.

If you unlock your bootloader, use some common sense and you won't have any problems.

  • Does it bend?

I might have tried to bend it, because I do stupid things to phones that are review units. All I can say is that it doesn't bend easily. Now stop talking about bending phones.

  • Has anyone stolen your fingerprints yet?

If you don't stop teasing me, I'm telling mom. When the fingerprint apocalypse comes, you'll be glad I was here with my tinfoil hat.

But seriously, Nexus Imprint works pretty flawlessly if you take the time to set it up correctly, and those who want to use fingerprint security will appreciate it.

Nexus 6P

Decision 2015

Wrapping it up: should I buy this thing?

Congrats on making it this far if you read the whole thing. Welcome to the part that people have said is the most important, where we hash out the good and the bad and decide if a product is worth spending our hard-earned money on.

The Nexus 6P is missing a few things that other phones will have. It can't use Samsung Pay, because only Samsung phones can use Samsung Pay even if the correct hardware to use magnetic swipe terminals were in place (it's not). Android Pay uses NFC, and it works fine in the places that support Android Pay.

The camera doesn't have optical image stabilization hardware. The 6P does a fine job taking pictures, but there will certainly be times when a camera with OIS would have taken a better picture. No amount of hackery will get OIS into a Nexus 6P.

There is no IR blaster. And some people seem to love having an IR blaster. The good news is that you can probably buy a doohickey that plugs into the headphone jack that fires an IR LED, and an app to control it if you really need an IR blaster. The bad news is that you'll have a doohickey hanging off the end of your Nexus 6P.

There is no S Pen. Duh. But Marshmallow has full support for active stylii, if you want to buy an active stylus.

Someone will rig up a case or a dongle that allows for wireless charging, and it will suck.

It has 1 GB less RAM than the Note 5. Yep. And you can't add any. Good thing you don't need to add any, at least for now. More RAM is always more future-proof, so it gets a mention.

There is no wireless charging. Wireless charging is coming to metal phones, but the Nexus 6P just didn't hit that design cycle in time. Tis a pitty.

There is no removable battery or storage option. And there never was going to be. For better or for worse (a discussion we've had a million times) Google doesn't do removable batteries or SD cards on their own phones. USB OTG works if you're into that, but the Nexus 6P is a sealed unit around the back.

Some of these shortcomings will matter to some people, and some won't. But they all need mentioned. For me, the lack of wireless charging spoils the scorecard and keeps the Nexus 6P from being my perfect 10. Others won't care about Qi charging, but may not be able to deal with the lack of a removable battery. Some people will find all of these important, and will pass on the Nexus 6P because it lacks them. There are also some subjective things to consider: is it too big? Do you hate "stock" Android? Don't like any of the colors or that camera hump? You're not able to change any of those things, so consider them.

I think the Nexus 6P is phenomenal.

It's the best Android phone I've ever used. I will miss wireless charging, but the great screen, awesome camera and Marshmallow as it was intended to be have me loving this thing. I don't even mind the size, and I'm not one who gushes over big phones. I have the open Nexus phone I want to use, ready for endless customization if I like, in a package that makes it one of 2015's best flagships — even if I never change a thing. It's one I would definitely spend my own money on and recommend to anyone with no regrets.

Bonus!!!

Nexus 2015: The video

Jerry Hildenbrand
Jerry Hildenbrand

Jerry is an amateur woodworker and struggling shade tree mechanic. There's nothing he can't take apart, but many things he can't reassemble. You'll find him writing and speaking his loud opinion on Android Central and occasionally on Twitter.

275 Comments
  • Yes! Posted via the Android Central App
  • The Nexus 6P is really good, however there are lot of better, highly rated phones on the market (like http://www.consumerrunner.com/top-10-best-phones/ for example...), and I would consider those one instead if I was you.
  • Ummm... NO! Guessing you're involved with that site. Nearly all of those phones are a year old or not nearly advanced as the Nexus 6P. If you browse most legit Android fan and review sites, you'll find the article you posted is very much alone in its opinion. Plus, you're not going to sell real Android fans, who know better, on an iPhone. I actually use an iPhone 6 for work purposes and I can say, nearly all modern Android devices DESTROY IT!
  • And... ordered. I get the feeling you like it Jerry?
  • 9/10 because no Qi charging. But by far the best Android phone I've ever used.
  • Awesome review. I have a very short list of phone must haves (only 4). Wireless charging is one of them. So no 6P for me until a wireless adapter comes along for USB type C. I'm so disappointed every time I see these gushing reviews because it's so close to the perfect phone.
  • I hate that it is using USB-C. It is so nice that my wife and I can completely interchange charging cables etc.
  • Not that it's a perfect solution, but you can buy a couple micro usb to usb c adapters on the cheap. You don't need new cables.
  • I've done both, because official chargers will put out more current that an on-spec USB C/3.x cable will support. But also micro to C adapters because it'll make it easier.
  • You might take a look at this: https://plus.google.com/+BensonLeung/posts/HakwCMmd346
    So not every cable keeps you safe! Beware of this.
  • Jerry, I love your comment "until I wheeled into the hotel mostly drunk late in the evening" it got me thinking that having a chair whilst hammered is definitely an advantage!
    In all seriousness though I didn't know you had mobility issues until I saw your photos from the BBQ. I wish you the best of health in the future!
    You are a pleasure to read here, and I have been here since darn near the beginning. Posted via my Note 4 on Cricket
  • Bravo, Jerry! I think this and the Android Authority review are my favorite articles of 2015. I can't wait to get my hands on my 6P in the morning!
  • Jerry, how about a side by side comparison of the N6 and the 6P please. Love my N6, and was curious, plus the 2,7Ghz processor seems to be the fastest I have seen to date even with encryption on
  • Woo hoo! Great review, Jerry! (As usual)
  • Just ordered as well. Jerry and MKBHD sold me on it! 
  • From where? Google store has been out of stock for couple days now. eBay?
  • They've had 32 GB on Google, but Huawei is also selling it on their website gethuawei.com
  • I ordered direct from Huawei also.
  • As did I. Communication from them is lacking. Good luck getting on chat with anyone. Just being impatient. Thanks for the great review Jerry, I expect nothing less. Posted via the Android Central App
  • I want this phone, but I'm not sure how much I would trust the warranty program of Huawei over the warranty program of Google, any thoughts?
  • Just keep checking the store. There's times throughout the day when there's stick on the 64g. Currently the silver is in Stock in 64g and 128 in white
  • Wahaaay. There HERE. UNFORTUNATELY Android Central has now run out of space and there will be no more comments after this one.
  • Already ordered and this just makes me more comfortable. I can't wait for my phone to arrive.
  • Nice Review, Jerry :D.
  • Never before have I wanted a Nexus device until now. Now, which color to go with... Aluminum or graphite? Cynicism Evolved
  • I originally went graphite, then changed to aluminum. The aluminum looks really nice, and not near as fingerprint magnet as the graphite version.
  • I ordered the aluminium. I recommend looking up MKBHD's video review on YouTube. There you can see more HD shots of the Frost (white) colored phone, which frankly looks quite nice despite making the "visor" more obvious. Posted via the Android Central App
  • I really like Jerry's style of review. He looks at phones like regular people not like tech obsessed uber nerds. Don't get me wrong, I'm a phone obsessed nerd but not the uber kind meaning in hacking into NASA from my phone. Jerry is the perfect balance of smartphone lover but not a pretentious snob, a true national treasure and hero to his people, celebrated in both song and legend.
  • Agreed! But IMHO he's still mainly a Nexus fanboy (forum post here as evidence: http://forums.androidcentral.com/nexus-6p/599557-holy-jeez-phone-freakin...), so I take this all with a grain of salt. :)
  • A Nexus fanboy who also uses every other phone. That bit is important. And after using every other phone, I'm even more of a nexus fanboy.
  • Great review Jerry. I'm a fan boy of what works best for me. I love Stock Android-Nexus, I love front facing speakers-Nexus, I love great cameras-Samsung, I love great displays-Samsung. Dam It Feels Good To Be A Google Gangster
  • Love the last comment. I feel the same way. For me its all nexus and then the rest
  • That last sentence there was just gold Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • If I recall, you really liked the Moto X and it's voice control.
  • I approve this message !!! Posted via the Android Central App
  • Word Posted via the Android Central App
  • hmmm..so what has the 6P over the Xperia Z5 for example? DId you use a current sony flagship phone?
  • Actually last year he was a big hater on the size of the nexus 6. He says it how he feels, and for him to like a large phone, after loving the moto x original size says something about this phone. 
  • Lol
  • I felt the same way. Real down to earth. Great review!
  • Agreed, feels like something I would have written (had I been remotely capable). Posted via the Android Central App
  • 6p FTW!!!! dreaming of electric sheep
  • It's here! So excited for this phone. Btw, what's wrong with Kangaroo-kernel-9001_experimental_v0.311-OVERCLOCK-YOLO? It's the most stable version yet!
  • I prefer v0.420
  • The lack of OIS really showed in that landing. Good thing the still photographs are quite good.
  • I'm not really a big fan of Jello vision that ois gives.
  • "9001_experimental_v0.311-OVERCLOCK-YOLO and break everything, then expect Google to mail you a new phone, though."
    I think you meant DON"T expect On a better note, what's the chance some case maker will do a QI charging one?
  • You don't have the full quote. He states "That doesn't mean you can ..." "That doesn't mean you can flash Kangaroo-kernel-9001_experimental_v0.311-OVERCLOCK-YOLO and break everything, then expect Google to mail you a new phone, though."
  • Ooops. Thanks. Proof Jerry is smarter then me.
  • This was never in question Posted via my Note 4 on Cricket
  • Nawww. I just have Phil to edit the things I say :P
  • No Samsung pay. I am out. Great review. I am super jealous. I am just playing. I Wish the 6p would be more configured for Verizon. Ie HD voice, etc.maybe next time, I really would have got one. I do love my note 5. For reals, Samsung pay is no joke or gimmick. The fact it works everywhere is fantasic. It really is convenient. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Not only that but no S Pen ffs Posted via the Android Central App
  • I thought this phone was good for use on Verizon? Posted via the Android Central App
  • Same here. Can't I use Verizon with my new 6P?
  • It has HD Voice/VoLTE on Verizon.
  • Sorry for my ignorance, but does this mean no go for the Nexus 6P at Verizon?
  • .... This isn't a Samsung product. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Succinctly non techie and relevant to just a plain user like me.
    Covers all the points I can think of. Very nicely done.
    Having small hands try it is nice attention to little things. “seriously, people in Dallas were gathering two of every animal and building a boat I think” << -- Great review, but this is what I will take away. :D
  • Great down to earth review. Thanks for this. Just yet another notch to validate preordering it.
  • Excellent review. Thanks! :-)
  • Card charged today. Hoping to see it in flesh this week.
  • Mine will be here this Fri! Very excited for it's arrival!
  • Thanks for a honest review, I'm going to miss qi charging, but I'm off to order one and want to get back to that smooth buttery experience of a nexus! Posted via a LG G4
  • Qi is a big deal to me. But if it can make it all day it's not needed.
  • Waiting on the 64GB or 128GB stock to come in on Project Fi.
  • Lack of wireless charging is probably the only thing keeping me from upgrading my Nexus 6.
  • This is definately the best nexus ever, and I think the best android phone ever personally because of the combo of premium hardware/ stock software, camera, and the most important being the only brand offers lightning fast updates on Android. All those combined make it the best android phone available IMO. But I still can't justify ditching my N6 to get it. Its too fast, still a premium device, and battery life is too good to feel the need to replace it.
  • I've used my Nexus 6 with only Marshmallow, and I'm completely spoiled. The only other feature I want is a fingerprint scanner, but I'm not buying another new phone just for that. I at least want a Snapdragon 820 to go with a new purchase. Nexus 6
  • I'm waiting on the 820 too, but it looks like Google same Huawei optimized the hell out of the 810 which surprises me. That nexus 6 though, its so damn fast, the 805 is a speed demon (even faster when decrypted,) the display still looks great, the battery lasts quite awhile, the camera is more than adequate for me, and I got 6.0 the day it launched. I can't justify getting anything else right now
  • I'm waiting for the 920. What's the point of always waiting for the next version?
  • I think his point was he might as well sit this one out and wait on the 820 to upgrade since the 805 in the N6 is lightning fast and sans fingerprint sensor it checks all the boxes if you don't mind the size. We've pretty much hit the point where a processor alone isn't a reason to upgrade. Probably since the 800 running vanilla Android.
  • I'm keeping my old 5 for the same reason Posted via the Android Central App for WebOS
  • I like this eventhough it doesn't have a removable battery nor expandable storage. Double standard when I've clamored for it on the Note? No, because I've never expected it from Nexus. I've had a few in the past and I think I'm going to jump in on this one if the Z5C doesn't make it to the US anytime soon. Note 4 vs Note 5 Speed Comparison: http://youtu.be/MYkTxA7dcEY
  • Nice review Jerry! Now if I can just see an Aluminum 64GB model long enough to get it in my cart I will be set! Got my iPhone 6S+ yesterday and like the size. I felt the Nexus 6 was a bit too wide so can't wait to get the 6P!
  • So youre gonna have the latest and greatest of both worlds, awesome. But why not just get an iPad/mini or an android tablet if you wanna use both iOS and Android?? The 6P is reasonable, but the 6S is pretty steep
  • That is what I am doing. 6P for phone, ipad for tablet (since android tablets still arent cutting it in that regard, and still holding out for a nexus 7 refresh)
  • IDK, iOS definitely has many more tablet or optimized apps, but I'm not sure how much it matters if you have an Android tablet with 4:3 aspect ratio or a smaller 16/10 and use them in portrait. It's basically like using a larger smartphone which makes pretty much every app optimized. Landscape is the problem though, like on my tab S 10.5. There need to be alot more Android apps optimized for tablets in landscape
  • Agreed. He'll, even Google's own apps aren't particularly well optimized for tablets. Looking at you, Hangouts. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Simular but windows tablet and android phone. I can't stand iPad. Need to be able to move files to and from w/out iTunes. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Check on Huawei's website, they update their stock periodically. I had bought a 32 GB model from Google's store and then canceled it once someone commented that Huawei had 64 gig models. It took a try or two but then it went through.
  • Is the fingerprint sensor still working when the phone is rooted?
  • Yes, Android Pay does not though. Posted via the Android Central App
  • As it shouldn't Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • Correct! Posted via the Android Central App
  • Even though in my opinion the 6p falls way short of the complete package that Samsung delivers with the s6e plus and note 5 it actually does seem like a great phone. Definitely better than any other offerings this year from any Android phone manufacturer besides Samsung. Posted via the Android Central App
  • In my opinion the complete package would include an SD card slot, timely software updates, standard RAM management, and front facing speakers. None of which Samsung provides. Not that the Note series isn't awesome, cause it is, better than the 6p even. But complete is a powerful word....
  • Awesome review, now just need Google to restock some 64GB's so I can pull the trigger. Would be great if I can get this before my birthday 11/11 :)
  • Check Huawei's website. I'm hoping to get mine by my birthday on the 13th
  • 11/11 11 hours ago. (Time of this post) I think you might have won something m8. Posted via the Android Central App
  • They just restocked. I ordered a 64 gigabyte aluminum one this morning. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Awesome review... How are the speakers compared to the M8, M9? Posted via the Android Central App
  • Did you read or watch the video? Apparently not.
  • Thanks for clarifying the Qfuse situation. I wasn't planning on rooting immediately (if ever) but I was going to unlock it in case I changed my mind and didn't want to have to wipe it in the process. Posted via sheer force of will from my OnePlus 2!
  • Qfuse does not get tripped when unlocking.
  • The video stabilization looks awful to me. It's not like watching Blair Witch, and it wouldn't stop me from buying the 6P, but even my Note 4 does it better. Aside from the fact that I no longer want a phone without an S Pen, it's the lack of wireless charging that rules it out for me. But, even though I'm not a Nexus guy, and I find Stock boring, I must admit it looks like a fantastic phone. For once, I can see why people would want a Nexus - this one, anyway.
  • I guess this is your half ass seal of approval. Posted via Nexus 6 running on any data plan I want
  • Haha +1 Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • You stop talking about bending phones.... yeah.
  • A little girl could bend this phone in half. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tTIaUH6PIvo Most reviewers: * Does the Samsung pen go in backwards? I think I'll try it, even though the manual says not to. Design flaw. * Does the phone bend? No, not going to try this, It's a Nexus, A Nexus is never flawed.
  • Round 2 of the bend test. The 6P is a disaster in this respect. It might be fine if you treat it right, but a little girl really could bend this phone in half. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r3cWVdLqXCg
  • The fact Jerry doesn't mind the size is interesting. Hmm, tough choice between the two Nexus' if I suddenly need a phone this year. 5X is the perfect size. Argh.
  • If they had a 64GB option, I would try it out. Not going 32GB when the 6P is around.
  • Yeah that's a thing. I intend on keeping my phones awhile...6p seems significantly more future resistant and the higher storage options are a part of that. Posted from the ghost of my HTC Aria via Android Central App
  • Ya he lived and died by the original moto x I recall Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • Lol yeah if I remember right he even bought extra leftover stock of it before the 2014 model came out so he could always be well equipped.
  • Yup and that influenced me to push my wife towards one... Now she's pissed there's almost nothing to replace it with in a similar size lol. Posted from the ghost of my HTC Aria via Android Central App
  • ^This. I had to give in and accept that phones weren't going to stop getting bigger. Still want to see that Z5C tho ...
  • Bummer that so many good unlocked phones are 5.5" and up though. Ah well... Progress.... Posted from my Nexus 5 via Android Central App
  • I'm really surprised that there aren't more Android manufacturers making 4.7 inch devices since Apple sells a gazillion of them.
  • They can fit a bigger screen in the same size of Android phone. Apple has huge bezels because of the home button and a need for symmetry. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Whew, thanks for the awesome review Jerry... My 6p wool be in my hands tomorrow! I can't wait. Upgrading from OnePlus one... And back into a nexus (nexus 5 before)... I'm with you on the wireless charging but with quick charging it won't really matter.
    Again thanks for the review. Posted via the Android Central App
  • I love my Nexus 6, but I may be getting a 6p real soon.
  • Seems like a lot of phone get the android central choice award this year. Gonna be a tough choice Posted via the Android Central App
  • Haha Kangaroo-kernel-9001_experimental_v0.311-OVERCLOCK-YOLO! You rarely fail to deliver Jerry.
  • I know what you mean. I got a good chuckle out of that.
  • Loved the fact that Jerry used the term "doohickey"! Posted via the Android Central App
  • Can I just say this review was amazing. Good things come to those that wait I suppose. Seriously, I loved the attention paid to the things that matter (rather than just running through the specs). Also very happy you tested on T-Mobile and tried GPS in the mid Atlantic! (Jerry are you me?) Reading this review (finally) was nearly as good as getting my shipping email at almost the exact same time. Thank you AC! Posted via Android Central App
  • I've heard some rumblings about screen burn-in. Any truth to that that you could see?
  • I've been running at 100% brightness since Friday. That's how I like to run AMOLED phones. I have zero burn in. I know a couple other folks who have had review units and none of them have any burn in.
  • One of the other reviewers on another blog has burn in. The issue is not everyone notices burn in. Some do not see it until you mention it to them.
  • Phil, Give Jerry a raise :) Brilliant review Jerry. I have mine coming soon. :)
  • hmm i wonder if jerrys 6p is rooted because the reboots during a call could be a kernel issue.
  • How is the audio output through the headphone jack? The Nexus 6 sucked in that regard. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Umm sounds fine to me Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • screw cords and go bluetooth
  • well then you can screw decent audio fidelity too....
  • Not sure about these two phones, but some phones support lossless Bluetooth protocols. I had always avoided Bluetooth audio in the past for the quality issue you mention, but I picked up a pair of Jam Transit BT headphones last week, and they sound just as detailed as my Sennheiser and Sony hardwired sets. Of course the quality will depend on the DA converters, even if lossless is supported, but it's pretty good with the better devices. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Russel looks like he is so depressed that he didn't get to review the nexus 6p, especially at the end of the review where he talks about how it feels $120 more expensive lol with that said, I totally agree. The nexus 6p is boss Posted via the Android Central App
  • I am impressed. Still not a buy for me but impressive. I hope to see one in my hands later this month +++ Insert witty signature, watch as others not get it, profit +++
  • You want one and you know it!! Its time to ditch Samsung and experience the best of android. Don't worry, you can change your username to "LoveNexus" or something. No biggie
  • Haha Posted via Nexus 6 running on any data plan I want
  • I get better than the best. I use an Spen. Just gotta remember the right way to put it back in... Seriously that 5x is a dog. We are trying to send it back thinking it has to be a hardware thing. Random reboots, VERY POOR SOFTWARE performance. There has to be something with our unit. Oh drops WiFi like a hot potato every 30 minutes. You can almost set your watch by it. I even cracked out wugs at work and loaded a new image... +++ Insert witty signature, watch as others not get it, profit +++
  • You should decrypt it if you're already using wugs anyway and see if that makes a difference. I would immediately if I had one. It's a software issue and I think a lot of it has to do with encryption. Easy fix
  • I will give it a go at the office in the morning. Thanks for the tip +++ Insert witty signature, watch as others not get it, profit +++
  • No random reboots since I got mine a week and half ago, WiFi never dropped out, performance is fine. Must be your unit. Posted via the Android Central App
  • I'm warming up to the 6P. I still prefer the 5X mainly due to the smaller size and somewhat grippier build, but I'd love to use either one nonetheless. Huawei has built excellent hardware for a long time and combining it with stock Android is a winning combo.
  • Wow! Can't wait for my phone to arrive. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Great review Jerry, you keep it honest and essential. Now.... can you pick up my 6P and get it here ASAP! LOL Posted via the Android Central App
  •  and that's another of those "good things" I like to bring up all the time. Aw man I ripped on Jerry for using that phrase so much and now I miss it. Fantastic review man!!! If only it had wireless charging I'd buy it for $1,000. Absent that, I'm using my recently acquired Nexus 6. A replacement for the Nexus 5 that survived hundreds of drops, but sadly not the last one. Damn this phone is huge! I need a bigger cupholder. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Loved this review Jerry! You need to write more reviews here in Android Central like in the olden days, lol. There is something really warm and inviting in the way you wrote this. Anyway I'm even more excited than ever for my Nexus 6p to get here!
  • How is the resistant of the nexus 6p to the bending issue?
    İs it stonger than the iphone 6 plus? Posted via the Android Central App
  • If an adult applies enough pressure to an iPhone 6 Plus, it will eventually bend at a weak point. If a toddler plays with your 6P, it will bend and break. Does that answer your question?
  • I don't like this review. I bought the 5X purely for the size and now you two have me reconsidering the 6P. Please lie to me and tell me I won't regret the 5X.
  • You are doomed to forever regret your decision to purchase the 5x over the 6p. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Yup, doooooooomed Posted via the Android Central App
  • I'll just never pick up a 6P and all will be avoided. The size of the phone is the only thing holding me back. My previous phone was a G4 and that was my max as far as larger phones.
  • Sorry man, software wise the 6p is a whole hell of a lot better. Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • Returning my 5x for a 6p. purchased 6p yesterday 5x going back in a few days.
  • just don't drop it between now and then.
  • Bought my N6 for Project Fi... Skipping this generation if only for full usb 3/c speeds next gen
  • Awesome review, not to mention the sprinkling of humor, Jerry! It makes me drool even more as I sit and wait in the pre-pay line for my "aluminium" 128 GB Nexus 6P. :-) Also, yes, you're a power user. :D
  • 32gb aluminum I am waiting so anxiously Posted via the Android Central App
  • Fingerprint on the backside = nightmare. Placed in your work desktop, you ll have to hold it to use your phone. Placed on any docking (armband etc), the phone is not easy to be used. Don't buy such shit. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Trusted devices, smart lock Posted via Nexus 6 running on any data plan I want
  • Great review, congrats. The best till now. Too bad is so expensive here in Europe :(
  • Loved the review, and the video of Russell and Jerry comparing phones was awesome. Let's have some more of that in future reviews. I like the format of 2 guys comparing phones; when it's done on the podcast it's often too many people trying to talk at once. This was great! As for the 6P, I agree with Jerry, disappointed about no wireless charging. Of course, my N5 needed to be charged all the time, so with the massive battery on the 6P, maybe I won't miss the wireless charging. It was damn convenient, though. Just got an email from Google: my 6P has shipped!!
  • I am so Glad Jerry did the revue of this phone. Mine is to arrive this Thursday
  • Oh please. It may stand with the best this year but it is not the best. Please be honest, one can have a favorite and this can be it. But no ois, camera quality not as good as the best this year according to every review I've seen, screen not as bright as the best, not ideal placement for fingerprint scanner, good but not great battery life, no wireless charging... Ok, the best nexus yet (have they not all been?) automatically means the best phone on earth to the nexus fanboys. Ugh it's getting hard to read sites like this. The forums are good and there's a lot of good articles but anything about nexus is just so bias. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Yup, there's a definate Nexus bias around here (noticed it when I became a member 4 years ago). It gets even more amped up this time of year. /Nexus Central! ;p
  • Then go somewhere else.
  • Or maybe I can just enjoy the parts that I do like and exercise my right to state my opinion when I disagree with or don't like something. Posted via the Android Central App
  • You're missing something huge. Take all those high end specs the 6P has along with the great performance, great camera, and stock Android, and give it priority software updates directly from Google. Put all that together and you have the best Android device ever. Come on, you really think the best Android device ever could be one that doesn't have the ability to compete with apple on speedy software support? I don't think so. And just so you know, many of those reviewers saying its the best ever are strongly emphasizing speedy updates straight from Google as a reason why. Now you can argue for your note 5, which I'm sure you're trying to defend by belittling the 6P
  • First, I'm not belittling your precious nexus. Second, no I don't think speedy updates put this device over every other one on the planet. I think it's one aspect that helps put it on par, but not above. Without that it would be just another Huawei that probably wouldn't even be sold in America. You know it's not the only phone getting fast updates these days. There's moto, the G4 has already gotten it pushed and anyone with an unlocked one can flash it, and even the htc a9 has committed to a 15 day update window. How many points does your nexus flock give that phone for its fast update schedule? That's what I thought. Lets be real this isn't about fast updates that tend to be full of bugs anyways, it's about one thing: a nexus logo. Congratulations, nexus has a truly great phone this year, I'm not belittling it, but it's simply not the best. There are better displays, better cameras, better battery life, more features and more versatility(removable battery, sd slot...). Hell, the V10 has all of these things in one package and still has a premium metal build. Not unibody but that's tough with a removable battery, and it's extremely durable. But you'll dismiss it entirely because of what you call a gimmicky second screen. As if extra features, whether you want to use them or not, are a negative thing. Oh but its real sin is not having stock Android and a nexus logo. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Well that's great that G4 users can flash the early polish beta version of their LG's 6.0 while normal users will wait 4 months or longer for their carrier to push it out, and that HTC most likely lied to everyone like they did last time when they couldn't even reach their 90 day promise, but none of that compares to what you get with nexus. Thats just a bunch of hit and miss that misses most of the time. Ya, go ahead and dismiss early firmware because of bugs If that makes you feel better about having to wait 6 months for an update, lol. You should probably dismiss LG's though since all of their software is garbage, let alone early beta firmware I don't care if there are 1 or 2 better displays out there, or 1 or 2 better cameras. Its the entire package. Great display, great camera, great build, stock Android that hasn't been turned into a colorful bloated joke like what LG and others do, and consistently fast updates straight from the company that develops the OS. All that together makes what many are agreeing is the best Android phone ever to date.
  • Well, if you want a bit of reality, almost every review on every site I've read or watched has stated that it's quite possibly "the best" Android phone of the year. No phone is perfect, but it appears the overall package of the 6P has resulted in a lot of very positive reviews. So if this is a conspiracy theory about Android Central, then the conspiracy theory is holding true for a large portion of the tech industry.
  • True true. Hell, even Apple fanboys (like The Verge) are drooling over the phone. BTW - judging a phone is more than just adding up components and deciding a king. It's an overall experience. And damn near everyone who has experience with the phone absolutely loves it.
  • I have one question, what's the headphone output quality like? My M8 posted this
  • Would it be worth upgrading my HTC one m8 to this? Posted via the Android Central App
  • I will be moving to the N6P from my trusty M8 once the stock is back in.
  • Yeah I think I am too but my m8 still doing everything flawlessly. Hard to justify buying a new phone lol Posted via the Android Central App
  • Hold them horses, my Nexus 6 is super fast and buttery smooth, no need for the 6p, maybe next year when the SD820 makes it's appearance. Until then, the Nexus 6 holds it's own with any phone out there today, heck I even got 52,000 in AnTuTu. Posted via the Android Central App
  • I've had the N5 and the N6, and the six was a dog before Marshmallow. The camera is so-so at best, and it just feels cheap considering the (launch) cost. Can't wait for my 6P to arrive so I can dump it.
  • There's always the saying, "A dog is a man's best [telecommunications] friend!" The N6 was just lacking some polish typically found on flagships. The camera is quite good in the realm of smartphones (certainly at the time it was released), so unless "so-so" means anything not in the top 5% of performers... I do agree that the N6 feels like a poor value (but not 'cheap') for its launch cost in the 'now available' market, but that's not ever a valuation I'd make because, well, it isn't selling at that price versus the competition, but rather closer to half of it.
  • Me too. I squeeked out just over 53,000 a few days ago on mine. And the iP6S with its insanely powerful A9 scores 58,000 on antutu. The 805 is still a monster. The adreno 420 even more so
  • 800, 801, and 805 are best snapdragon's chip. My n5 with marshmallow is a beast!
  • The N5 is slightly faster than the N6 even decrypted in my experience. I should've said the entire 800 krait series because they're all basically the same. Benchmarks are respectable but they mean little. 800 krait series is blazing fast hardware
  • I lol'd
  • nobody said your 6 isn't fast. if you don't want a 6p, don't buy it. But implying that the phone isn't needed because the last version of the phone is still awesome is like saying there shouldn't be new Honda Accords cause your last one has never broken down.
  • Great review, can't wait to get this bad boy in my hands. Nice video feature as well. Posted via the Android Central App
  • There was a few comments about the phone getting hot after a while of usage. The truth is that it is true. Mostly because it uses a snapdragon processor(sounds a lot like the Nexus 5) Not a big problem, just leave it in front of a fan or leave it in a cool room for the night while youre charging and it will be at max usage in the morning and the day
  • Great review. Hits all the highs and lows. Already ordered mine a week ago Posted via the Android Central App
  • Looks like an awesome phone, but impossible to buy if you find the $299 Nexus 6 eBay deal (which I did).
  • The 32GB (eww) version pops on on the Google store often, you just have to be persistent. Go to the Huawei site to purchase since the Play store credit is over, though shipping estimates are late Nov last I checked.
  • How is the display when you switch the sRGB mode on?
  • Great Review! I can't wait for mine to arrive. Posted via the Android Central App
  • How much jerry?
  • There is no such thing as a perfect phone and I don't mind no wireless charging, no ext storage, no battery removal. My concerns are the overall quality build of the phone and getting the updates first. A 9 rating out of 10 is good for me. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Great review Jerry!! Posted via the Android Central App
  • I'm so conflicted. Moto XPE or the 6PP. I am currently on the 2013 Moto X. I do love my Moto X, I use the Assist, wrist twist for camera, and other features quite often. But. The idea of a nicer camera, battery, and finger print camera is intriguing. As well as confidence in timely updates. Thoughts, advice?
  • Isn't Motorola planning to retire Assist?
  • Can't go wrong either way. I returned my XPE because Moto pissed me off with their lack of update commitment - that gives me little confidence in the brand. But the WPE was a GREAT device and has the same size screen in a much smaller body.
  • Have you purchased a new phone?
  • I ended up going with 6P and I love it! Took a couple days to adjust to the size, but I am happy with my choice.
  • I don't always agree with your opinions Jerry, but I really enjoyed your review. I like that you point out the things the Nexus 6P is missing. I really wish there was no compromises here, I like high end devices with biffy specs. No wireless charging and OIS is what's holding me from buying this phone. For a person like me who sticks to phones for a year or two, I would of happily paid an extra $100 - $200 for these two features. Nevertheless it seems like who ever pre-ordered the Nexus 6P made a great purchase. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Yes!! There I am in pic 7 working with the great Ray Walters and preparing delicious meats!!
  • If the 6P was the size of the 5X...
  • If only my wife were as skinny as that stripper. Seriously, two different devices and build qualities. If you don't like BIG phones, double fist it like said wife or gf :D
  • One of, if not the best review I've read in a long time. Love your writing style.
  • Great review, Jerry. Still waiting on Marshmallow to hit my N6, and despite the N6p having a few features I'd like (most notably the improved camera with slo-mo), I'd convinced myself a few days ago to hold off a year. Almost immediately thereafter my phone started spontaneously rebooting - it's done it about 6 times in the past 24 hours. So while it's still under warranty and I know I can get the issue resolved through Google if it continues, I'm hoping you can answer a few comparative questions that may help me determine if I should stick with my current decision to stay with the N6 another year or just go ahead and upgrade... 1. How much more visible is the N6p display than the N6 in bright, direct sunlight? 2. How do the N6p speakers compare in volume and clarity to the N6? 3. Does the N6p have encryption, and if so, is it, like the N6, locked (short of rooting, etc) or can it be toggled? 4. Can I have your review sample? ;-) Thanks in advance, and thanks again for a "real person" review!
  • If it had OIS they could have won so much more. Now I need to search for this android it blaster you mention.
  • Great review, Jerry, as always. Content like this is the reason I visit Android Central multiple times daily.
  • I think this is the best review I have read to date. Thumbs up.
  • Loved the review
  • Wireless charging or no go. The USB connectors wear out too quickly.
  • Note 5 is a great option which is the second best phone after the Nexus 6P. It has wireless charging so that's a good option. Posted via the Android Central App
  • LOL "second best phone after the Nexus 6P". The Nexus 6P isn't even in the same league as the Note 5. The Note 5 looks down on the 6P and says, "Aw, that's cute. I'm proud of your display. And I believe in you. Someday you will grow up and have two methods of wireless charging, FAST wireless charging, MST payment ability for magnetic strip readers, multi-window, real themes, an S Pen, all the S Pen features and supported apps, SideSync capability, OIS, a more common quick charge capability. Yes, I know I'm more expensive than you are. That's what comes with being a grown-up."
  • When the note gets rid of Touchwiz and capacitive buttons and the hardware home button I'll take another look at it. Until then, it doesn't even give me pause. My experience with the Galaxy S3 convinced me that I don't want any of those "features".
  • More common quick charge? This is an industry standard not a licensed charging method. Any phone will be able to use it. Posted via the Android Central App
  • USB-c says hi My M8 posted this
  • What are you doing to your connectors? Never had one die on me. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Does the quick charge work as well as promised (i.e. 10-15 minutes of charge for 7 hours of use or something like that)?
  • It's close. I get about 6 hours.
  • No SD card storage
    No removable battery
    No Qi charging
    No QC QuickCharge 2.0
    No OIS
    RIP OFF PRICING IN THE UK
    NO SALE.........
  • Hello friends. I am new to android central. im confused in choosing between graphite black and Aluminium colour. which one looks great and shiny?
  • Graphite!!!!!! Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • Aluminium! Posted via the Android Central App
  • Makes the delay on my order (128 GB model) all the more painful to wait for... :| Excellent review!
  • Great write Jerry! It's nice to see sensible reviews. My Nexus 6 will be semi-retired when my 64GB graphite arrives later today. Thanks.
  • Ausgesichtnet!!! Target: Tax time. I'll be waiting with baited (and probably bad) breath!!! :-D Great review! Cheers!!!
  • Awesome. Pulled the trigger on a whim on day 1. Loving my decision ever since. Posted via the Android Central App
  • This is mine... All mine! Posted via the Android Central App
  • After getting the Nexus 5 right after it released, and since then using a Moto X first gen, Moto X second gen, a One+ One, and Moto X Pure, I'm ready for another Nexus! Waiting on the 6P, should be here Fri, can hardly wait! The Hype is real.
  • Is anyone on AC using this phone on Project Fi? How does the battery hold up compared to the phone on just Verizon or T-Mobile? Posted via the Android Central App
  • I'm on Project Fi and I am a relatively heavy app user. I do not get much past dinner on a full charge. I attribute it to constantly searching for the Wi-Fi signal.
  • Do you have weak Wi-Fi signal where you live and work?
    I'm using my 6P on t-mobile now, and I find that the battery life depends heavily on how much my phone "Doze". On some days, I can get over 24 hours with about 4 hr screen on time. When I pick it up a lot while I'm at work, the battery can only get me through about 18 hours. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Yes, it was my work Wi-Fi that killed the battery life. I've found a more reliable signal and things are better, but I had to buy a car charger because I'll never last a full day without a charge. The rapid charging is great, so it's really not a problem for me. I just plug it in while I drive home from work. I do worry about wear and tear on the battery over time.
  • both 32 & 64 Gb are 'out of stock' for India in flipkart. I missed all the pre-Order dates. I dont know when I will be able to preorder. any ideas friends. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Good Review JH
    Nice video guys.
    Just ordered a new N6 for under $300 for my wife.
    Buyers remorse has set in ... until I get my CC statement anyway.
    Utilizing Fi mandates a Nexus. So this forced me to shop with my wallet in mind.
    Got the Fi sim already, waiting for the new Nexus 6.
    Guess we will be a Google Fi family....like a "Fimily"
    Like the idea Moto made my phone. They either do good work or I've been lucky.
    Anyway, Good review.
  • I love my N6. If you're okay with the size, I bet you won't be disappointed.
  • I have one, hasn't let me down yet.
    The size has grown on me. Guess that is the best way to describe it.
    Using a wallet to consolidate necessities makes it larger still.
    Newest/Greatest hardware is like catnip to me.
    Truth be told; Nexus 6 construction-hardware will be competent for years.
    Battery failure or some "can't do without feature" will render it obsolete in the future.
    That time is "not yet".
  • I noticed you wrote that the Qfuse gets tripped when unlocking... that isn't actually the case, people have done it on XDA and it still " enabled "
  • Some of the early shipped models say they tripped the fuse when unlocking the bootloader on the fastboot screen. That's what caused the uproar to begin with.
  • Jerry
    Nothing in your review about sound / duel front facing stereo quality? Or did I miss it?
  • Thanks Jerry. You may just have swayed this ardent 5" fanatic to compromise on size.
    My beloved N5 won't last forever, and all the 5" replacement candidates seem flawed. The N5x has too little storage (for me), the SG6 has a weak battery and too aggressive memory mgmt, and the A9 - my last great hope - has a sucky battery. And none of them are Nexus.
    Sucking it up on size to get everything else right may be the way to go.
  • Jerry, I wanted to point out that the iOrange 2 meter braided USB Type-A to USB Type-C braided cable from Amazon is only rated for a maximum of 2.4 amps whereas the cable from Google is rated at 3A. So I can only assume it won't charge quite as fast as a 3A cable.
  • Huawei hardware has built-in security risks. If you care about network security or privacy you will avoid using Huawei hardware
  • Why? Posted via the Android Central App
  • Take off the tinfoil hat
  • Another excellent review Jerry! I'm also going to miss Qi charging al lot, but am still leaning to upgrade my Nexus 5 with this sexy hump #lovethehump Posted via the Android Central App
  • Question: Is it as fast as the N6?
    Answer: That depends. When 4 cores are fully utilized anything more would bog down the N6 vs the N6P.
    Having MANY CPU intensive apps working at once would slow down the N6 vs N6P
    For everyday tasks/normal usage: The N6 is faster.
    This is due to SD810 having more cores lower clocked than the N6 SD805.
    Why? Most likely because of heat, SD810 is lower clocked.
    Bottom line: More is better. More cores makes for a smoother operating experience.
    While some operations may be deemed "slower", real world usage would beg to differ.
  • I wish someone would show a picture or video of the Nexus 6p in a woman's hand. The only thing holding me back from ordering a 6p is the size. Can't figure out if I really want a phone that big. Could someone please share a pic??
  • Please do not buy this phone until you test it for yourself. I am a female, but my hands are as big as any man's I know and I find the 6P to be really awkward to hold. It's big, but not too big, but then again not small enough to fit comfortably in your hand. If you're okay with two handed operation, then by all means, but I think you should try it first. I've had real trouble getting used to the size of this thing. It feels completely uncomfortable in my hand and the way it's weighted I drop it constantly.
  • Thanks. I have it and it is scheduled to ship Nov 26-Nov 30. I will have 15 days to return it, if necessary. On Google+ I've read that the cases for the N6p are really thin. Should help with the "slippery". You might try one from Google store or Amazon. My son has a LG G3 and according to phone arena website the two phones are close to the same size. Fingers crossed. (I'm not a geek or guru, either. I've learned a lot from these different discussions. I'm sure you have, too.)
  • Yeah, I've got to get a case. My initial concern was getting a car charger now I'll get the case. Good luck with it! I'd love to hear how you make out.
  • I've had my phone for almost a week now and I really like it. My previous phone was a Galaxy S3 (I don't buy phones real often.) :-) I'm okay with 2-handed. I got a Spigen case on Amazon. It's thin so it doesn't add bulk and helps with the "slippery". Car charger is next on my list. Hope you eventually like your phone.
  • I enjoyed your review! Thanks Jerry!
  • How does the display compare to the display on the Note 5? Are they the same panel? I heard the 6p's display is a Samsung panel, but I wouldn't be surprised if they were saving the top of the line displays for their own devices. How does the brightness compare too? I know you said the display is very visible outdoors, but is it as bright as the Note 5? That's surprising too as I heard the maximum screen brightness is a bit low at 337 nits. Thanks! Posted via the Android Central App
  • I think there is a slight difference between AMOLED and SUPER AMOLED. Amoled is in 6p and Super Amoled is in note 5 Super Amoled may consume less power than Amoled Posted via the Android Central App
  • when it is available again in flipkart Posted via the Android Central App
  • To be honest, I'm sort of disappointed in the battery life of both units... 15% at 10 pm? Posted via the Android Central App
  • Thats the original capacity of 3450 mah li po. Posted via the Android Central App
  • I guess I'm spoiled. 60% at bedtime (after 11pm) is common for both me and my wife.
  • I'll upgrade to the 6p from my 6 next year when it drops in price. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Not so premium after all. Check out this durability test. http://youtu.be/tTIaUH6PIvo
  • Wondering why that phone didn't have the Nexus logo on the back like all the other review units? Something is fishy about that video.
  • The nexus logo is there, it's just hard to see due to poor lighting.
  • A $100,000 BMW is premium right? Run it into a wall at 10 mpr and see what happens to the front bumper.
    Drop a premium $300 Waterford crystal wine glass from chest height and see what happens to it. Those items are durable for their intended usage. But abuse those PREMIUM items and you'll get damage. Why should a mobile phone be any different? How many people do you see trying to break a mobile phone in half each day on the street? How many do you see purposefully dropping them on concrete purposely?
    Exactly.
  • Just like the McDonald's slogan, "I'm lovin' it!". So far this phone is a dream.
  • Jerry (or anyone else),
    Nexus 6p, Moto X pro or xperia Z5?
    Please give me some advice. Posted via the Android Central App
  • ...gotta 128/Frosty comn in Mon 11/2 ! and thnx for that in depth/accurate review, Jer ! ;-}
  • Does the nexus imprint can be used to login to your websites and apps?
  • How fragile is the glass on the back? Is it Gorilla 3 or just a regular one? Camera glass on my Note 4 cracked, luckily not in front of the camera aperture.
  • I've had the 6P for a couple of weeks now and I have to say I am impressed with this phone. I'm not a tech geek like some of you, but I do like to try new things. So here's the good. I left VZW after 22 years and I have not found this service to be any less than what I had between all the network options, I've maintained my calls and have not had any interruptions in my data. That said, it did take a while to get used to the WiFi searching. I had to find my MAC address and log in to my provider to get the most of the service which I don't think anyone mentioned, but it makes sense. Once I got that all figured out, this thing hums like a dream. The processor is FAST - really fast and I appreciate it. The one thing I cannot agree on is the battery life. My battery is done most days after dinner and I have to find a power source. The rapid charger is great and I can get several hours in just a few minutes of charging, so kudos there, but it's a pain to run out in the first place. The camera....the pic quality is fantastic. I cannot complain at all, but it took me a while to figure out how to zoom and few other things. The camera interface is definitely not as user friendly as my Motorola Droid. The photo editing options are not as robust either. With my Motorola I could straighten and edit photos right out of the box. I get the feeling I'm going to have to download a 3rd party picture editor to edit pics with the 6P. Aside from a few minor inconveniences, I've been loving this phone, but I do have one major pet peeve which is the form factor. Oh. my. goodness! This thing falls on the floor way more than any other device I've ever had (and I have had a lot of phone's over the years). It's weighted funny and it's slippery! I haven't been able to master the one handed photo either. We were at a function the other day and I wasn't comfortable handing the phone to someone else to take a pic. I was pretty sure they would drop it. It's really awkward to hold. I disagree with the reviewer on this one point completely. It's the phone's one real flaw. Otherwise, I'm happy with it. It's hard to believe I left VZW after so many years and I'm very happy with my choice.
  • Did you leave VZW because the Nexus 6P is not compatible? I just got my 6P and I thought i could go to ANY carrier for service.
    Thanks for your reply.
  • I am in the process of choosing a new phone myself, and found your opinions very helpful. I hope you don't mind a few questions... 1) Now that a few months have passed, have you become more comfortable with the size / weight and form factor? (are you still dropping it as frequently?) 2) Has the Nexus 6P suffered any damage from the falls, or more precisely the sudden stop when striking an object? 3) Has the battery life continued to be an issue? If so, has it worsened? 4) Regarding leaving VZW, am I correct in understanding that you are using your phone without a wireless carrier now? I've surmised that you may be using your cable provider's network of "Hotspots" as your sole connection for making calls while away from home... If my supposition is correct, have you been successful in maintaining that arrangement? If I'm way off base, maybe you could further explain the scenario in the first few sentences of your post, starting with; "I left VZW after 22 years and I have not found this service to be any less than what I had between all the network options, I've maintained my calls and have not had any interruptions in my data." I am anxious to hear back from you, as I am ready to make my decision... it's either the Nexus 6P or the Samsung Galaxy S6. I'm curious if Richard has done a side by side on those two phones!!! Haven't been able to find his direct comparison yet.
  • Do not buy this phone. The boneheads excluded HDMI-out. They have declinef to the level of Apple.
  • I'm disappointed with my nexus 6p.
    It overheating on using the navigation of Google maps.
    Same if just play video on you tube.
    It get really hot ( 40°) on a video conference with Hangouts, and the quality of the video was not even good.
    Honestly, I was not expecting this on this product.
    The Google support has offered a replacement or a refund.
    But in the first scenario I have to put on hold on my credit card the value of the phone (AUD$1100 for the 128gb) till they has received and inspected the faulty one.
    ????
    Well this "support" is not the kind of support I was expecting.
    I'm returning the faulty one and taking the refund.
    Someone has a distorted vision of who is the customer. I'm very disappointed. :-(
  • No micro SD + no removable battery = No Purchase
    If I wanted these limitations at a premium price I'd just get an iPhone.
    With cloud services and data streaming costing real money, and many places with lousy data coverage anyway...a microSD is essential for me. I want my stuff WITH me. Especially when it's so cheap (on other phones) to do so. Add the fact that if all your crucial data is on a removable microSD, you can just pull the card if the phone fries or, if you need to get your sensitive data out of the phone, you just pull it and pocket it. Not having a microSD is like a car not having windows.
  • This phone is as fragile as a glass doll, the screen cracked when I dropped my two-day old phone on ceramic tile from a height of 15 cm, yes, 15 cm, as in 0.15 meter.
    Maybe it's a super unlucky drop or perhaps this particular phone is defective to begin with, but all of my other phones have survived much, much, much worse drops than this and they all survived. I cannot properly express my disappointment with this phone.
  • i like 6p aluminum body and its crispy display.
  • I'm still on the fence about getting a NEXUS 6P. I Have a NEXUS 6 W/MARSHMALLOW 6.0.1 AND with the added benefit of wireless charging. My phone is fast as hell and battery life is very good. Getting total usage times between 12-15 hours with about 4 hours SOT.
  • Very informative and a lot to consider. Thanks!
  • So I have a question on the N6P. I have a Moto X 2014 that apparently on its last legs, but I love the phone! One of the features I love the most is the gesture feature being able to wave at the phone and get my time and notifications. Does the N6P have such hands free features. I love my Moto 2014 I am torn between just upgrading to the Moto Pure Edition and the Nexus 6P. I love pure Android and can't stand anything added on to it.
  • i couldn't wait to get the 6p as a upgrade the camera is cool i downloaded a app called cameraMx from google app store makes it even better the only thing that lets the phone down is how fast the battery drains at 8,30 this morning it was at 100% it's now 10;35 it's now 90% thats shocking all i done was check email and facebook and twitter it drains so dam fast