A Google Logo at CESSource: Android Central

Google Cloud support has confirmed that the outage was resolved, and all services have been fully restored as of 3:08 pm ET/12:08 pm PT.

What you need to know

  • A Google Cloud outage was acknowledged by Google Cloud support at 10:10 am PT.
  • This outage involves Google's cloud networking architecture, which is affecting access to many Google services.
  • If you're experiencing strange 404 errors or having a difficult time accessing any Google services, it's likely due to this outage.
  • The outage was restored at 12:08 pm PT.

Google Cloud Networking Outage Restored 11 16Source: Google

If you're seeing 404 errors on the web or generally having a difficult time accessing your Gmail or Google Drive, you're not alone. Users began reporting problems around 1:10 pm Eastern Time (10:10 am Pacific). The issue was acknowledged on the official Google service status page as a networking issue and was resolved about two hours after problems began.

During the outage, web pages were affected the most, with some pages returning 404 errors — that means the content can't be found on the host server — while sections of other pages aren't properly loading at all. The courage appeared to affect apps such as Snapchat, Spotify, YouTube, and even Meta's apps, which is the last thing that company needs after its October outages.

While the global Google Cloud dashboard showed all other services operating normally, problems on the networking side meant that network traffic had no proverbial road to travel on to get to those services. Last month, the big Facebook outage was also caused by networking issues that prevented access to Facebook services for several hours.

However, things should be returning to normal and you can return to posting on social media while ignoring your work.