Skype this morning announced that it's taking its video messaging feature out of "preview" status and keeping it as a free feature on its desktop, Android, iOS and BlackBerry apps. (Windows Phone, oddly, is omitted.)
The feature records up to 3 minutes of video that then gets sent to a specific contact's Skype account either directly, or as soon as they're back online.
The actual act of recording a video message is simple, but a bit buried. You have to first choose which contact will receive the video message. If you're viewing a contact, hit the "more" option. If you're already in a conversation, you'll need to hit the + button. Then record, and send. You can cancel or re-record easily enough.
As Skype is graduating the video messaging feature from "preview" status, there's no new download necessary. If you're already using the latest version of the Skype app, you're good to go.
- Filed under: