Droid X reset

If you're one of those folks who is less than pleased with your Droid X after the Froyo update, this one's for you.  Android Central Forums member Fabrian was at wit's end, and even talked of ditching his X (blasphemy!) because of the random bugs, general weirdness, and plain old unsatisfactory performance of his unit since the update.

His last-ditch effort and ingenuity seems to have paid off.  The secret?  He has completely disabled the Froyo feature that restores data from previous installs.  It's really just a matter of turning off the automatic restore feature before logging back into your Google account. It's a little odd that "Automatic Restore" is still checked by default, even when "Back up my data" isn't, but there you go.

The method isn't too painful and does require one more factory reset, but the payoff appears to be a much smoother experience. Makes sense, too -- restoring data from Eclair to Froyo probably isn't a very good idea even if it is convenient. 

We've verified it here, a hard reset in Froyo isn't really a hard reset, as things come back by themselves.  Follow Fabrian's instructions, and you will have a pristine Froyo installation on your Droid X (or Nexus One -- Sense on Froyo has no setting for this that we could find).  Any troublemaking leftovers will be no more, and won't get downloaded and installed automatically again.  If you're being plagued with myriad tiny bugs in your Droid X after the update, give it a try!  [Android Central Forums] Thanks Fabrian, nice sleuthing!

 

Reader comments

Why a Froyo factory reset really isn't (plus, a fix for upgrade issues)

13 Comments

Its not froyo its moto/vzn bloat. If this phone could run android pristine and free as the nexus one it would be a dream come true! I had to remove launcher pro+ broke my heart. Maybe this will help thanks

Froyo works just fine on my X. It's a shame that the issues are being blown so out of proportion, as the *vast* majority of X owners saw no problems upon update. If I recall correctly, the Evo had a similar number of issues with the upgrade to 2.2.

Thanks for the post and credit :-)
I'm glad I stuck it out and found the culprit. I really didn't want to go back to a smaller screen; overall I've been very happy with the DX and am now once again.

What were the issues you were having? The only issue I have is the known text messages not showing in the right order issue, which a reset wouldn't fix. Everything else seems great. With 2.1 I had the issue that the text message app took forever to load and refresh. Not anymore. Everything is much snappier since the Froyo update.

No issues here after the Froyo update. Everything is snappy. I am okay so wouldn't want to mess with something that is working fine.

The setting does exist within Sense on Froyo, its just hidden.
Go into your search screen
press menu, search settings then searchable items
make sure settings is ticked
press back twice
type in privacy - Privacy (HTC global search) should appear

Note - this doesn't work if you have use Swype, you need to reselect Touch Input

That's so weird that this setting is so hard to find on HTC phones... First I've ever heard of it. If you click on the first entry, does it actually backup all phone settings to Google's servers? I'm not sure I even want to experiment with it since I'm rooted and Nandroid backups are so much easier to manage and you know exactly what you're restoring (along w/AppBrain syncs and/or Titanium Backup for backing up just apps).

Deleting the cache should do the same thing. Recovery screen - wipe cache - reboot. Worked miracles for my X without having to factory wipe.

Does it fix the google search stutter? Mine will let me put two words in then freeze for fifty seconds and let me put in the rest.

What good is stopping autoupdate when after u update u use a backup app to restore all your apps and info?

Let me put it this way; if one has to go from Chicago to Detroit, does he have to go to Miami first??
The point is, one does NOT have to do all those step to disable automatic restore after hard reset. Just reset your phone, and BEFORE you sing in into your Google account, just tap Menu=>disable restore. Done. Easy.