Skip to main content

The LG Nexus 5X review

For a lot of Nexus fans, the original LG Nexus 5 is like a folk hero. The stories we tell after the phone has been replaced and shelved with the other mobile relics are about this amazing superphone that changed the industry with its impressive specs and remarkably low price tag.

And as is often the case with folk heroes, reality is a little different. The Nexus 5 was a decent phone, but the price tag was the most interesting thing about it.

Since the launch of the original Nexus 5, the $300 to $400 price range has exploded with a number of compelling options. Google took a year off from this space with the launch of the Nexus 6, but this year we've got two Nexus phones, and Google clearly has aimed one of them at that sweet price point. The Nexus 5X is Google and LG working together to create a successor to one of the most popular Nexus phones we've ever seen, with the latest version of Android powering this $380 nostalgia machine. The big question is whether these two companies were able to push this new Nexus 5 from mediocre to exceptional to compete in the market they helped create.

Here's our review.

About this review

I (Russell Holly) have been using the Nexus 5X for 10 days, split evenly between Google's Fi network and Verizon Wireless in Baltimore and Hurst, Texas. This Nexus 5X, which was provided by Google, is running build MDB08G, which is Android 6.0 for those who don't speak fluent build number.

During most of the review period, a Moto 360 2015 was paired to the phone.

A bigger nexus 5

Nexus 5X hardware

Much like its predecessor, the Nexus 5X is one of the most comfortable phones to use with one hand to have been released this year. Despite being slightly wider and taller than the Samsung Galaxy S6 and S6 edge, the Nexus 5X weighs less and doesn't require a case to avoid a slippery glass back. The impressively light construction and soft touch coating on the back give the phone a great overall feel. It's not quite a grippy or as comfortable to hold as the original Nexus 5, but it's close enough that fans of this design will appreciate the way the phone feels in the hand.

Taking it out of the box the first time brought back memories of phones that shipped with the battery removed (a rarity these days), and compared to just about every other major smartphone release this year the Nexus 5X weighs noticeably less. There's no denying how plastic the phone feels, right down to the lack of ceramic volume and power buttons, but it doesn't quite cross the line into cheap-feeling. The phone doesn't give or flex when pressure is applied, but our back cover already has some noticeable scuffs and scratches from day to day use, as well as a dent in the speaker grille. It's solid, but it's hard to escape how disposable this phone feels due to its weight and build.

Image 1 of 5

Nexus 5X

Image 2 of 5

Nexus 5X

Image 3 of 5

Nexus 5X

Image 4 of 5

Nexus 5X

Image 5 of 5

Nexus 5X

The front of the Nexus 5X couldn't be more plain, which is great. No logos, no buttons, just a pair of speaker grills, a camera, and a sheet of Gorilla Glass 3. The plastic bezel just barely climbs over the glass to protect those of us who put our phones face-down, but otherwise it's a flat black slab until you wake the display. Despite the pair of speaker grills, sound will only come out of the bottom when playing music or talking with speakerphone on. The speaker in the top grill is only for calls, and like the bottom speaker is neither particularly loud nor particularly high quality. They will get the job done, but LG won't be winning any audio quality awards from the speaker or the headphone jack on this phone. (We'd put it on part with the Galaxy S6, which is not that much of a good thing.)

LG Nexus 5X hardware specifications

CategorySpecification
Operating SystemAndroid 6.0 Marshmallow
Display5.2 inches
FHD (1920x1080) LCD at 423 ppi
Corning Gorilla Glass 3
Fingerprint- and smudge-resistant oleophobic coating
Rear Camera12.3MP
1.55 μm pixels
f/2.0 aperture
IR laser-assisted autofocus
4K (30fps) video capture
120 fps slow motion video capture
Broad-spectrum CRI-90 dual flash
Front Camera5MP
1.4 μm pixels
f/2.2 aperture
ProcessorsQualcomm Snapdragon 808 Processor, 1.8GHz hexa-core 64-bit
Adreno 418 GPU
Memory & StorageRAM: 2GB LPDDR3
Internal storage: 16GB or 32GB
Dimensions147.0 x 72.6 x 7.9 mm
Weight136 g
SensorsFingerprint sensor
Sensor Hub
Accelerometer
Gyroscope
Barometer
Proximity sensor
Ambient light sensor
Hall sensor
Android Context Hub
PortsMicro USB Type-C
3.5 mm audio jack
Single Nano SIM slot
Battery2,700 mAh
OtherLED notification light

LG also won't be winning any display quality awards, which is to be expected with a mid-range phone. The 1080p LCD display in the Nexus 5X gets the job done indoors, but it's borderline unusable the moment you step into the sun. It's a typical low-end LCD screen, which is a little frustrating after having used the exceptional LCD panel in the Moto X Pure Edition. It's a mediocre experience, but not an altogether bad one.

It probably wouldn't have killed Google or LG to put wireless charging in this phone.

Outside of the camera bump and the fingerprint ring, the back of the Nexus 5X is equally plain. The Nexus logo stands out more on the white version than the mint or black versions, and thankfully it's a part of the casing so you won't have to worry about letters falling out over time. The fingerprint ring is raised just enough that you'll quickly notice it when blindly looking for it with your finger, but not enough to feel out of place when holding the phone after it has been unlocked. This is especially true if your find yourself resting your finger on the bottom of the camera bump, which is high enough on the phone that you can lay the Nexus 5X on its back and use it without a lot of rocking around.

The USB-C and 3.5mm ports on the bottom of the Nexus 5X are placed well for anyone holding the phone horizontally, and like most of the examples we've seen so far the design of the USB-C port limits the kind of unnecessary wiggling that could damage the internal stem if you were to drop the phone while it was connected. You're unlikely to be in a position to drop the Nexus 5X while it is connected to the included power cord anyway, since it's noticeably shorter than most cables we get from other phones, and because it's a C-C cable — that is both ends are the new reversible USB-C. So if you want to plug it into a computer or a different charger, you'll need an A-C cable.

There's a lot to like about the Nexus 5X. While it's ridiculous to think of something with a 5.2-inch display as a "small" phone, that's basically what the Nexus 5X is. It's a small, inexpensive phone running the purest form of Android. It probably wouldn't have killed Google or LG to put wireless charging in this phone or include a second cable in the box like Huawei did with the Nexus 6P, but out of the box this experience isn't bad.

Nexus 5X

Pure google, for better or worse

Nexus 5X software

Like every Nexus before it, the 5X is rocking Google's Android, and this year it's all about Marshmallow. Dozens of new animations, native support for lots of new hardware, and some basic changes to how things like notifications work. Android 6.0 brings a lot of polish to the massive overhaul that was Android 5.0, and that means there's a lot of little things to appreciate. Perhaps more important, the OS itself feels a lot more complete.

Read More: Our Android 6.0 Marshmallow Review!

Despite being Google's vision for Android, the Nexus lineup this year doesn't go out of its way to support every new feature Google built. Adoptable Storage, for example, doesn't mean there's going to be a microSD slot for you to bump your maximum capacity. The Nexus 5X does support things like "OK Google" when the screen is off, Ambient Display for when you want to glance down at your phone and see what is going on, and a clever camera launch shortcut you can activate by double tapping the power button. There are a lot of clever ideas here that really make the Android as a whole feel more aware and capable.

Unfortunately, none of them work particularly well on the Nexus 5X.

The "OK Google" command when the display is off works fairly well when the 5X hasn't entered Doze mode, but it's nowhere near as good at waking up from a distance as the Huawei Nexus 6P or the Moto X Pure Edition. The same goes for Ambient Display — occasionally flashing notifications on the screen as it sleeps — which works about half of the time it works on the Nexus 6P when sat side by side with identical apps and settings. It feels like the new Sensor Hub Google put in these new Nexus phones hasn't been tuned quite as well as the Huawei version, so it's entirely possible this experience will improve over time. For now, it's almost easier to turn these features off.

Double-tapping the power button to launch the camera is not a Sensor Hub feature, so there's no excuse here. The implementation here is just plain broken. When you double tap the power button with the screen off, there's around a 15 percent failure rate on the 5X (and only the 5X). While some of that can be chalked up to user error, watching the display freak out and take 20 seconds to actually launch the camera is not an example of failing to actually press the power button twice. If you try this shortcut while the display is on and the phone is unlocked, the screen re-locks because you just pressed the power button and pulls you out of your current workflow. You can't unlock the phone from the camera, so you have to press the home button and unlock the phone before you can do anything with the picture you just captured. This experience is just plain bad, but if Google can fix it this shortcut could be great.

Despite phones already landing on doorsteps, the software doesn't feel fully baked.

The rest of the experience is Android as you'd experience it on any other Nexus phone. The grid for Google's launcher is five rows and five columns now, which means you can fit more on your home screen but also means icons look a little tiny compared to some of the other phones using Now Launcher. This is the one place in the interface you notice the UI isn't quite as nice as it is on the Nexus 6P, and it's only something you're going to notice if you're holding the two phones side by side.

Software on the LG Nexus 5X feels a lot like the software on the original Nexus 5, which is to say despite phones already landing on doorsteps the software doesn't feel fully baked. There are a lot of things that work really well, and look amazing thanks to Marshmallow's new animations, but there's clearly still work to be done here.

Nexus 5X

Truly exceptional, most of the time

Nexus 5X camera

There is a lot to love about Google's new camera, both with the sensor and with the app driving it. We've head a solid year of companies promising solid cameras in smartphones and actually delivering, but the Nexus 5X and Nexus 6P are something special. The software is dead simple, the pictures you get are fantastic, and the amount of work you put in to get the shot is basically nonexistent. Google has finally delivered a Nexus phone with a good camera, and they were so excited about it they did it twice.

The 12.3-megapixel sensor on the back of the Nexus 5X captures a fantastic amount of color and a respectable level of detail, and impressively it does so via autofocus a vast majority of the time. The camera doesn't handle macro shots particularly well without a tap to focus, but that is true of most smartphone cameras so it's not a big deal. A quick swipe on the camera app flips to video mode, where you can grab 120FPS slow motion or 4K video with little effort. With both video modes, the lack of OIS didn't cause any noticeable problems. 4K video would obviously be better with OIS, but what you get out of this camera is more than good enough for most folks.

Image 1 of 8

Nexus 5X Camera Sample

Image 2 of 8

Nexus 5X Camera Sample

Image 3 of 8

Nexus 5X Camera Sample

Image 4 of 8

Nexus 5X Camera Sample

Image 5 of 8

Nexus 5X Camera Sample

Image 6 of 8

Nexus 5X Camera Sample

Image 7 of 8

Nexus 5X Camera Sample

Image 8 of 8

Nexus 5X Camera Sample

Where this camera truly stands out is low-light capture, and in this regard Google has done an incredible job. This is by far the best low-light camera we've used this year, and it works exactly the way Google said it would. This camera pulls light in from basically nothing, and routinely gets you the shot you want.

Unfortunately, on the Nexus 5X the camera app isn't quite as fluid and snappy as it should be. The camera app regularly hands when flipping from still photos to video, and when capturing photos with HDR+ enabled it can take anywhere from 2 to 8 seconds to fully process the photo you've captured. In some cases there's even a slight delay between the shutter button and actually capturing the image, which makes shooting a moving target a little complicated. This makes capturing multiple photos something of a drag as well if you have HDR+ on, and since it's set to auto out of the box there's a good chance you'll run into this at some point. It's an unfortunate trade off for that fantastic camera, but rather than it be a deal-breaker it's just something you need to keep in mind when using the camera.

Genuinely enjoyable

Nexus 5X experience

It's weird to have both a Nexus 5X and Nexus 6P sitting in front of you, knowing one is noticeably faster and generally more capable, and yet feel compelled to reach for the Nexus 5X every time. LG has delivered a lightweight, snappy Nexus that flies through day to day tasks but is clearly limited in a handful of important ways. Nothing about the phone feels slow when opening apps and flipping between tasks most of the time, but occasionally having 2GB of RAM means apps need to re-cache when you switch to them. This is most noticeable when using just about any app after using the camera app, which offers its own usability challenges as we've pointed out.

Using the Nexus 5X is fantastic if you're a fan of smaller, lighter phones. It all but disappears in your pocket, and the soft-touch back makes walking around and using the phone with one hand a lot easier than most. It's light enough that a case adds noticeable bulk, and since the cases we've tried so far for the phone haven't been particularly great the Nexus 5X has been naked for most of this review. Which is good, it's good that the phone doesn't feel like it needs to be in a case to survive day to day use. That's not something we can say about most phones right now, so it's worth making it clear this is a good thing.

This is roughly the same experience we get out of the LG G4 and Moto X Pure Edition, and it's happening with 300mAh less than either of those phones.

Nexus Imprint is the new gold standard for fingerprint scanning. You set it up with only six presses tot he sensor, and the unlock is easily as fast as the other high-end sensors right now. The placement is perfect, the execution is fantastic, and if Google can get developers to actually support Nexus Imprint for authentication in their apps this will become the most useful authentication system on any phone. It's a positive start, which is important since Google has taken a little while to implement this feature natively.

Battery is always one of the biggest questions when it comes to any phone, and with all the changes Google made to Android with the 6.0 release that focus specifically on battery there's an expectation to be met here. The Nexus 5X routinely went from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. on a single change, with between 15 percent and 20 percent battery remaining. This is roughly the same experience we get out of the LG G4 and Moto X Pure Edition, and it's happening with 300mAh less than either of those phones. While I'm sure everyone would be happier with a 3,000mAh battery in this phone, knowing you can get through a full day with less is an impressive example of how much work Google put into Android for this release.

Despite the speakers being somewhat lacking on this phone, the microphones do a spectacular job capturing audio and filtering out background noise. The three microphone array on this phone is fairly standard, but it's implemented well whether you're speaking to someone else or you're just using your phone to capture a conversation to transcribe later.

Nexus 5X

Nexus 5X the bottom line

When it works, using the Nexus 5X is a lot of fun. If Google can reduce these failure points we've found in using the phone for the last week, the overall quality of this phone will be improved dramatically. If it feels like this gets said a lot about Nexus phones, that's because it does. Lots of folks remember the original Nexus 5 for what it was at the end of its lifespan — ignoring the camera, of course — but out of the box the experience was lacking.

Google has delivered a lot of great things with this new Nexus duo, but it couldn't be more clear that the Nexus 5X is the lesser of the two. It's a mediocre experience with some amazing high points, and when you balance that out against a $379 price point you're getting what you pay for. The $300 to $400 space is all about picking your high points and balancing them against the compromises made to reach that price, and Google delivered a fantastic camera and an exceptional fingerprint casing in an amazingly light package that stumbles every once in a while when you use it. It could be better, but it's already pretty good.

Should you buy it? Probably not.

Google's Nexus 5X is $379 for the 16-gigabyte model, which you shouldn't buy because it's 2015 and 16GB base storage for a smartphone is unacceptable. (Let that rational part of your brain take over for a minute.)

If you jump up to the 32GB Nexus 5X you're now paying $429, which is only $70 away from the 32GB Nexus 6P. If you haven't read our Nexus 6P review yet, you really should. It is in every way $70 better than the Nexus 5X, and your money would be better spent on an experience that will last you a while and be enjoyable the whole time instead of hoping Google improves things over time. Even if they do, the Nexus 6P will still be a better way to spend your money.

Bonus!!!

Nexus 2015: The video

Russell is a Contributing Editor at Android Central. He's a former server admin who has been using Android since the HTC G1, and quite literally wrote the book on Android tablets. You can usually find him chasing the next tech trend, much to the pain of his wallet. Find him on Facebook and Twitter

185 Comments
  • Coming from a Moto Nexus 6 this in my opinion, other than camera and finger print scanner, would be a step down for me. I also realize that this phone isn't geared towards users like me. I also own an LG Nexus 5 and if i were upgrading from that this would be a legitimate upgrade. It's still a nice phone, but not for me. I wonder if illiterate people get the full effect of alphabet soup
  • The software performance would also be a step down. Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • But that can be fixed. I really like my Nexus 6. I wonder if illiterate people get the full effect of alphabet soup
  • Wouldn't trade my Nexus 6 for any thing Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • As of right now, me neither Nexus 6
  • I'll wait to see what the 2016 Nexus will be. I must say that Pure Android is the way to go. I wonder if illiterate people get the full effect of alphabet soup
  • Priv? §~©¿©~§
  • Not at that wack ass MSRP. Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • It looks nice and I'm guessing the security will attract some people, but the price will turn assume people away. I wonder if illiterate people get the full effect of alphabet soup
  • Awesome phone love the fingerprint access on the back of the phone. Hope I win!
  • if you disable "Power button instantly locks" under security, this resolves the issue of locking the phone when double pressing the power button to activate the camera.
  • While true, Google needs to either say that in a tutorial or mention it in settings with the camera launch function. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Or maybe they should open Googler Bars all over the place in cool looking stores with Material Design elements everywhere and hand hold customers with no clue what cloud vs local storage is while looking down their noses at anyone that walks in with an iPhone.
    #oppositeday
  • I like your input on the podcast. But this review (and your defensive comment above) read like you had a bone to pick with Google. It seems like you wrote the conclusion, then worked backward and wrote the rest of the review in an effort to justify the conclusion. Every time you mentioned a high point about the phone, you were quick to qualify the same or negate it altogether by mentioning a perceived shortcoming. Hopefully everyone considering the 5X as their next smartphone realizes that it's a midrange device, not a flagship. I don't think that you considered as much before writing the AC review (despite giving lip service to this point). Lastly, I've noticed more spelling errors in your posts than other AC bloggers; a quick review may help.
  • Nice tip! Thanks.
  • I feel lucky that I can use a 16GB phone with no issues whatsoever. Ironically I went with a 64GB iPhone 6 and my wife decided to be cheap and go 16GB and she constantly runs out of space. Weird.
  • So maybe trade with her??? Posted via the Android Central App
  • Quit it with the logic, no place for that on the internet! Posted via the Android Central App
  • I also have no issue using a 16GB phone. I don't store hardly anything besides the pictures I take on my phone. So when people bawk at 16GB of storage and no SD Card slot, I just giggle because I don't need more than that.
  • Agreed. I feel 16GB is more than enough for me as well. Use the storage primarily for photos/videos. Don't keep any movies or music on my phone at all. Nor do I play any games that need a lot of space. Mostly small quick games. So, yeah for my use case, 16GB is good even in 2015 :)
  • This should come as a surprise to nobody. The perfect statement was, "you get what you pay for." I've always been of the opinion that buying a Nexus device is settling for inferior hardware for the privilege of beta testing the latest build of Android. Not something I care to do with my daily driver. Posted via the Android Central App using my Note 5
  • Yep. They just never worked right straight out of box.
    Still, one would hope that this time around they made sure it's flawless, given that they are advertising it (prime time commercials) for regular consumers. via AC App on
    VZW Moto X DE/N7
  • According to the 6P review, you're only half right this year. Posted via the Android Central App
  • True. At least they nailed on that one via AC App on
    VZW Moto X DE/N7
  • Yea.... Let's go ahead and take that review with a fairly decent sized grain of salt. The reviewer is a self admitted nexus fan boy, and even he admitted you're still dealing with inferior hardware... no ois, and no wireless charging. Plus it's a fairly ugly phone. I'm not a nexus hater, hell I'm swiping this on my nexus 7. What I am saying though is that a nexus device simply isn't good enough to be my daily driver. Posted via the Android Central App on my Nexus 7
  • In that case I guess the iVerge are a bunch of "nexus fan boys" too since they called it the best android phone available. Add to that list Arstechnica, Pocket Now, Droid Life, MKBHD, Do I really need to go on? Don't be so ridiculous, you may like the Note 5 but that doesn't make every other phone out there inferior. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Here we go.... I guess you don't understand the term "self admitted." Isn't the "best Android phone you can get" highly related to timing? Yea, sure, they say it's the best right now, until the galaxy S7 comes out, then that will be the best, and so on. When you compare the 6P to the Note 5, it has shortcomings. Period. Posted via the Android Central App on my Nexus 7
  • Comparing Android Central's review of the Nexus 5x with their review of the HTC One A9 especially at $399 for the US versions, the HTC One A9 is clearly by far a better Android Phone. Much better build quality 32 GB plus micro SD with 3 GB RAM Better display Better sound OIS & Ultra pixel selfie Quick Charge 2.0 upgradable to 3.0 boosts battery in minutes Common charger port. FREE 1 year warranty next day replacement
  • but the camera is worse despite OIS. If they would just make it a 808 with 2700 battery everything would have been good. But the 617 is just to low end to justify the NEW price of 500 bucks. In sweden the 16/2 version cost 6000 SEK and thats more then 6P, Iphone 6 16GB, and SGS6/edge/+ and over 1200 SEK more then the 5X
  • Shame it's too big Posted via the Android Central App
  • I can vouch for that. I'm a week in with my Nexus 6P and I can already tell that it's the best phone I've ever owned. Light years ahead of any other phone I've owned (ever). I'm looking at the 5X for my wife. She's a light user, some YouTube, email and light gaming. Mostly social media, texting, calling. This phone would be just what she needs.
  • Type-C was a waste on this phone. Its only USB 2.0 and only reason to use it I can see is to justify removing the Qi Charging in the back of the Nexus 5, and make more room for the battery pack. Type-C charges faster.. but (a) its not compatible with any USB-2.0 micro connectors (b) its stick+click, so more complicated when hooking up to charge (c) the charging wire only comes in "white" and its very stiff -- frankly I'd prefer they just upgraded the camera and re-released the Nexus 5 same form factor, same phone.. maybe more memory.
  • I wish they would've just gave us the G2's battery in the N5's body.
  • I'd take the nexus 5 with everything the same but a larger battery. It runs better than the 5X already.
  • decrypt the 5x and you will notice that your statement is false. Encryption of the 5x is forced (ie, from factory) and causes same problem as with the N6 when it came out. Also secure boot makes it appear slower due to the double-startup it does.
  • So what should I do in 2015 if I don't want a screen over 5.5"? I wasn't thrilled with Touchwiz or LG's software after a month or so, leaving me ready to switch phones. Any good ideas? Posted via the Android Central App
  • Get a 6P Posted via the Android Central App
  • Great review! He said that he doesn't want a screen over 5.5". Randy
  • Just going to disregard that first sentence huh? "So what should I do in 2015 if I don't want a screen over 5.5"?"
    I'm in the same boat, I don't want a phablet, I want a phone around 5". What options do I have?
  • > "So what should I do in 2015 if I don't want a screen over 5.5"?" Xperia Z5 Compact.
  • And what if I live in the US and don't want to import my phone for exorbitant taxes and import fees? Posted via Android Central App
  • Personally I would suggest the G4,but the International model to avoid us carrier infection Posted via the Android Central App
  • That's 5.7". He said he wanted something not over 5.5".
  • You can try the HTC A9, but get it quick before the price jumps up $100. Posted via the Android Central App
  • I was also considering 5x. Going with a9...checks all the same boxes plus a few more... Posted via the Android Central App
  • Moto Maxx 2 looks to be a good value (great battery, 5.5", 1080 screen, Motorola software)...that is if you're a Verizon person
  • Not with the Snapdragon 615.... There is absolutely no excuse that Moto couldn't get good performance out of that with stock Android, yet HTC could with the 617 in the A9 running Sense. There's not much difference in the processors. (I had the Moto X Play, and it was quite laggy and jittery) Posted via the Android Central App
  • Or the Turbo 2.
  • Sony Xperia Z5? Nexus 6
  • Samsung Gs6, iPhone 6 or a windows phone. I'm thinking of trying the lumia 950 when it's released. If I can't find an acceptably sized device that runs Android I'll try something else.
  • Same here. via AC App on
    VZW Moto X DE/N7
  • There is the new Oneplus X that will be announced soon. I think it will be a good mid ranger ta can compete with the Nexus 5X! Posted via the Android Central App
  • Can't wait to get my N5 15 to replace my old N5 looking forward to the camera
  • I would get the 5X if I could afford it right now. I like my Nexus 6, but I want to go back to a one handed phone. Sometimes this 6 is too big. Posted via my Nexus 6
  • Lol for me the nexus 6 could be 6.3 inches and I could still use it with one hand Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • Same +1 When we die, we go bye-bye. - Sal Vulcano
  • The 5x is not actually small. Compare it to a g2, you'll see.
  • Nexus 6 doesn't fit in my pocket, which makes it a non-phone, as far as I'm concerned.
  • The hell kind of pants you wear? Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • I have the Nexus 5x, and I find that this is as big a phone as a pair of 501's my size can handle without poking me in the groin when I walk up steps or sit down.
  • You must not be that tall then. 501's my size with my Moto X Pure Edition don't poke me in my groin. It fits all the way in the pocket without falling out either.
  • Not tall at all.
  • Just want to say that the nexii are to close in size, the 5x should be a much smaller device around 4.7" and should definitely come with EIS for the camera, the video footage from the 5x is completely unacceptable. dreaming of electric sheep
  • why would they make it smaller than the 5?
  • I would pay $150.00 for the 16gb version. Btw great review. Dam It Feels Good To Be A Google Gangster
  • If my experience with the nexus 5 is any indication this phone will just get better with age. My N5 was a good phone back in Feb 2014 and it is even better now. Even the camera, which is generally fine with fewer 'OMGWTF focus already' moments. Still too many, but fewer. Glad the audio mic is improved as it's pretty horrendous on the original. I plan on sticking with my N5 another year but this is still on the list if I suddenly need a phone.
  • It will definitely take a few OTAs but it'll get there. Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • +1 Posted via the Android Central App from my LG G4
  • I bought my N5 on release day 2013. I loved it from the moment I got it. But slowly the small battery killed me. Plus now the phone is two years old, so it was time to upgrade to a 5X. I didn't want to pay for a 6P. My only other quirk with the N5 besides the battery was the fact that if the screen was on too long, the phone would get hot to the touch. The 5X gets warm, but not anywhere as hot as the N5 did. I agree with you that the 5X will get better over time. On a normal day I don't do much with my phone besides send a few text messages and occasionally use it as a hotspot tether, so I don't need a phone with HUGE battery life and a million other features I'll never use. Still waiting for Project Ara though.
  • Russell, I really disagree with your assessment of the original Nexus 5. I keep using that phone and it represents all I ask from a phone except 4K video and fast charging. That's it. Other than that, there's nothing that make me want to buy a Galaxy S6, 5X, 6P, iPhone 6S, or pick any other phone. Honestly, I don't like the 5X either because it's big. It's big. Let's just come out and say it: it's big. But just how was the original a mediocre phone with a low price tag? I remember it being better than almost all flagship phones except maybe in the battery department. Even the camera, which was criticized like it's nuclear proliferation, is fine. Really fine. I use it all the time and it's good. It's just good. Nothing wring with it. Turn on HDR+ and you got yourself a very capable portable shooter. I prefer it even when I'm walking around with my trusty DSLR sometimes (I can really get close to things and stick it into smaller holes than I can stick my giant lenses). If I were to ask you to name 2 year old phones that are still a joy to use, you'd struggle, yes, there are some, but not many. Well, Nexus 5 is just that. It's such a good phone that I'm afraid of dropping and breaking it because I wouldn't be able to replace it. Bonus: the white version has not stained much over years of pocket action without a case.
  • 2 year old phone that is still a joy to use = my Samsung Galaxy S3.
  • Awesome, man you're a unicorn. Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • +1 Nexus 5 | AT&T
    Android 6.0 Marshmallow
  • Except it's three years old and probably has lousy battery life at this point unless you're sitting on wifi all day.
  • Exactly. The N5 was not mediocre, it was a flagship device when it came out and therefore the price was sensational.
  • The battery life was. Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • Ditto camera. At least that's improved a lot. Battery is ok given my use case but if I was away from a charger all day carrying a battery pack would get old. Performance of the thing though is flat amazing, with no "buts" or asterisks needed. It's what's convinced me I can hold on to it another year. Posted from the ghost of my HTC Aria via Android Central App
  • I'm in agreement with you. At the time the Nexus 5 was released it held its own against phones that were far more expensive and it's still a great phone today. And for all the criticism the camera got I've taken some great shots with it over the years. The only sore point was its battery life. Posted via the Android Central App
  • 100% agree! Don't worry, there's plenty of refurbished models on eBay. Under $200..
  • Absolutely bang on. Couldn't have put it better myself. There's nothing out there thats tempting me away from this brilliant phone. Posted via the Android Central App
  • I agree my N5 has been a great phone. If the battery was not crap I would happily keep my N5 Posted via Android Central App
  • It was a gimped LG G2. Smaller battery, lower quality screen, worse camera.
  • I sat here for 2 minutes double tapping my power button. Each time the camera popped up without an issue. I am sorry you cannot press buttons correctly ;) But until my 6P arrives, the 5X is pretty good in my opinion. The one thing I would have liked you to look at is the ambient light sensor and compare it to the 6P. I feel like in low light conditions, the 5X is not nearly bright enough. Other notes, the speakers seem fine, as well does the headphone jack. The call quality seems more than acceptable. The bluetooth works 10x better than my 2014 Moto X. So what it boils down too, do the specs of the 6P make it overly better than having a giant phone? That is what I need to decide. Tough decisions regardless of reviews or specs. Those things just don't quite always win over size.
  • I agree completely. The Nexus 5X is a great machine. I've had mine for a week and it's miles better than the Nexus 5. I also like that it's light and pocketable.
  • I always found the N5 (and the N4 before it, and the Galaxy Nexus before that) were too bright when using in low light (e.g. bed). I'm really pleased that the lowest light level on the 5X is so low; not only does it not burn out your eyes in the darkness, but it also should increase battery life.
  • Double tapping was inconsistent for me, but I don't think I would use it anyway.
  • Nice job Russell. Not a surprise why this one is in stock and the 6P is not...
  • It's a budget phone that doesn't have a budget price. No thanks.
  • Nothing about the snapdragon 808 is budget, but the software performance is. Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • 2gb ram and the build materials make it budget. look at the A9 3gb 32gb expandable storage better build for $30 less currently
  • '2gb ram and the build materials make it budget' Nothing wrong with the build material at all. It's never going to fall apart on you.
  • you're right but I'm just saying something like plastic says budget phone as opposed to aluminum
  • 'just saying something like plastic says budget phone' [citation needed]
  • updates updates updates
  • but now that it goes up with 100 bucks is that such a good deal? also the A9 has it's own problems - worse camera (still good) worse battery and updates are a big questionmark.
  • ID SAY THIS HITS IT ON THE HEAD. THAT PHONE SHOULD BE $275 AND PROBABLY WILL BE IN 6 MONTHS
  • More comparison with the Nexus 5, please: Screen, battery, performance?
  • I second this! Posted via Android Central App
  • The only thing better about the Nexus 5 over the 5X is the screen. The 5X screen is warmer and not calibrated as good as the 5. Everything else is much better.
  • Fingerprint sensor is worth the upgrade, honestly. Coming from N5, that was the biggest thing. I'm disappointed they didn't make a "5P"; the lack of memory is quite noticeable (applications restarting when selected from quick switcher) and the single core performance isn't great. Performance wise, in practice I think it's marginally slower than an N5, just from eyeballing starting a game on both phones simultaneously. Of course it has more cores, but if the code isn't running more than 4 threads at close to full tilt, it's not going to be any better. Don't get me wrong though. I didn't have a performance problem with the N5, and still don't with the 5X. But if you were feeling the N5 was slow, the 5X won't be an improvement.
  • I'm surprised that you didn't touch up more on the software issues, nonetheless great review. Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • Wow, I wonder if it wasn't a Nexus if they would have allowed as many faults to be "OK". I kept reading its "OK". Or "sometimes" it is this or that. If Google fixes this or that, it "could" be better. Or hoping that it gets improved. Wish wash wish wash. Lets just say it! You can do better for $429. Just for you price people. I am VERY disappointed if this is truly how the phone is. The one thing that should be the absolute best about this phone is the OS. Come on Google, this is your time to show people what Android can do. They should have fine turned it. Will I buy it? Maybe. Either this or the 6P. Because I want Project Fi. Guess I really need what Russell said to be true, it should get better over time.
  • Waiting on my 6P to get here, but Im carrying the 5X for now. With that being said I have had zero issues with the 5X. Half baked software, not sure I understand what that means with this device. Again, zero issues here. Great review overall. This phone does have its place for someone thats likes smaller devices. If the 6P ends up being too big for me I have no issues keeping the 5X.
  • I mostly agree with you. I love this phone, but I didn't think it was a great review. I thought the review was a bit harsh (but thorough) and that it was colored by disappointed expectations. Just a hunch, but I think that if this phone came from LG without the Nexus logo the review would be "nice midrange entry with a great camera running stock Marshmallow that unfortunately only has 2GB of RAM and lacks expandable storage."
  • Sounds like it's a reasonable upgrade from the 2013 Moto X due to its size, price and similar interface. The X Pure Edition is just too big coming from a 4.7" phone Posted via the Android Central App
  • You really do get use to the size. I went from 2013 moto x to N6. Pulled out my X the other day and I can't believe how I used something so small. Posted via Nexus 6 running on any data plan I want
  • Different strokes for different folks. I understand why lots of people like big screens, but comfortable one-handed use is a must for me, and any phone over 5 inches is too big for that in my hands. I don't think I could ever get used to a 2-handed phone like the Moto X Pure, the Nexus 6/6P, etc. Posted from my Moto X (2013) via the Android Central App
  • Still getting my dad to replace his Redmi Note with this one. He's had enough with big phones.
  • This isn't much smaller.
  • The Redmi has somewhat thick side bezels. It doesn't look much smaller, but hold the 2 and the difference is significant.
  • But it's in a size range where every tenth of an inch makes a big difference. And this one is 0.27" shorter and 0.15" less wide. So I agree that the difference should be noticeable.
  • Well that makes me sad. I really wanted the 5X but that coupled with some other reviews, I think I'm gonna hold off till next year. Maybe Nextbit's Robin to complement my G4, maybe nothing. Damn, I really wanted that phone. Posted via the Android Central App from my LG G4
  • Don't hold your breath for next bit. Little odd how quiet they've been lately... Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • Yeah, totally waiting for some actual reviews of the device. I'm very happy with my G4, other than having to factory reset every two months to get a smooth performance. If LG through stock Android on this device, I wouldn't even be thinking about owning a second phone. Posted via the Android Central App from my LG G4
  • Yeah LG is gonna have to step it up next year software wise. Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • I do have have G4 and its a very good device but im starting to hate the UI and some lag so I bought the nexus 5x ( will receive it tom) for these reasons; Pure stock android, screen size, compact, finger print scanner. I was planning to get the 6P but i thought its too big for me. So ill be happy with5x for now and wait for next years Nexus. I do believe google will release just 1 premium device next year with 2 different size maybe? Posted via the Android Central App
  • I've just upgraded from N5 to 5X - it's a considerably nicer phone. The fingerprint sensor makes a surprising difference in practice. The natural way of holding the phone both turns it on and unlocks it - you don't need to press any buttons or hold it in an unnatural way. The review is unnecessarily critical IMO. The features described as unreliable have either not been unreliable for me (camera, ambient notifications) or features I don't use (Google Now, voice). The 6P is a different product category, I couldn't use it if I was paid to own it. It's not actually comparable. I'm not 100% sure why it's being brought up.
  • "The camera app regularly hands when flipping from still photos to video"
    Still trying to figure out exactly what that means, lol.
    On the other hand nice review, although I'm saddened a bit because I thought this phone would be a bit better. I ordered the 6p but I was thinking about getting this as an upgrade for my wife's phone. Maybe I won't now.
  • "hands" --> "hangs" Posted via the Android Central App
  • Felt great about my Nexus 5X 32GB purchase. After reading this article.......thanks Russell. Lol jk Posted via my Nexus 5X
  • I'd like a 5p nexus from Google. I'm guessing most people would have been happy with a 5p...
  • lol Posted via the Android Central App
  • I wish more companies would make "smaller" flagship phones. I have the G4, and knew when I bought it that I shouldn't have. It's too big, and I hate everything about it other than the camera and removable battery. Sony nailed it with their Z5 Compact but nobody carries it in the US. What is this love affair with tablets as phones?! I just don't get it. Right now, my debate is between the 5X or bringing in the Z5 Compact from overseas.
  • You and me my friend have exactly the same situation! Bought the G4 knowing that its big for my standards then kinda refgret it bc i didnt like its UI but love the camera and battery. So I bought 5x bc its pure stock android, still has good camera like G4, and it is compact and lightweight! Plus you know... its a Nexus. Posted via the Android Central App
  • I knew I couldn't be the only one.
  • Got the international Z3 Compact and it works well with AT&T and has most US radio bands(no CDMA), but I miss out on 4g in some spots where my wife doesn't with her M9, so I'm sure it's missing bands. Still, data is really fast even when not on 4g and coverage is the same. In town 4g is blistering fast. So far Sony has been pushing updates fast, got lollipop in May and 5.1 in August. Scheduled for marshmallow in first quarter 2016. Hardly any bloat, fast, clean, good battery life, love the camera and button. Posted via the Android Central App on the Sony Xperia Z3 Compact
  • Agreed. I'm done with huge phones. Posted via the Android Central App
  • I'm afraid you're in the minority here. What's not to get? Bigger phones offer more versatility and better media experiences. Might as well embrace it.... Resistance is futile Posted via the Android Central App on my Nexus 7
  • It may be a minority, but there are a lot of us. Bigger phones are just...bigger. I disagree with being more versatile. Better media experience, sure. But it's a phone primarily, and the bigger they get, the further from that they drift. I don't game. I don't binge-watch videos. I want a phone that is usable one-handed, front facing speakers (for those occasional media times), a top-tier camera, and a battery that doesn't need charged by 2pm. There are a LOT of us out there that agree. Sony gets it. Unfortunately, here in 'Merica - we have a tendency of being gluttonous rather than thoughtful. Soon you'll be rolling up that 60" TV into your pocket because it's more versatile and offers a better media experience.
  • My only issues with it have been due to AT&Ts love of infecting phones. Otherwise I love it Posted via the Android Central App
  • Funny that I am reading such conflicting review on this phone being a disappointment vs. being a good surprise. http://www.androidpolice.com/2015/10/26/nexus-5x-review-its-better-than-... Posted via the Android Central App
  • People are trying to compare it to 6P thats what happen. Posted via the Android Central App
  • That site just caters to ppl who hear what they want to hear. Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • That's a lot of reading. Posted via the Android Central App
  • You're new here I see, welcome to AC! Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • Just skip to the end where they tell you not to buy it. Posted via the Android Central App on my Nexus 7
  • The 6P isn't a better phone than the 5X for a very simple reason: it's not a phone, it's a phablet. It doesn't fit in any of my pockets, and thus I wouldn't be able to carry it around. The 5X is already too large; it digs into my groin when I bend over, tie my shoelaces, pick something up off the ground, etc. Point being, even if the 6P was $100, the 5X would still be my first choice between the two.
  • Amen!
  • You know what they say about people with small pockets..... Seriously though, I have zero problem dropping my Note 5 in my pocket and going about my day. I almost don't notice it is even there. Posted via the Android Central App on my Nexus 7
  • I totally agree. What´s with this gigantic phone size trend?! Please give us a proper 4.7inch top tier model!
  • I just replaced a 4 year old iPhone 4s with the 5X. I find the 5X to be very cool design wise (the frequently expressed desire for phones made of metal and glass is the opposite of modern), and with Project Fi I stand to seriously slash my wireless bill. Nexus + not a phablet + Project Fi = no brainer.
  • It sounds like your conclusion is mostly "just get the Nexus 6P instead." But what if you don't want a phone that big? I'm interested to hear your thoughts because my sister has a Nexus 5 and is considering an upgrade. Posted from my Moto X (2013) via the Android Central App
  • Agreed. I used the N5 until it broke on me (power button sticking). I can honestly say the 5X is NOT worth $400 to come from the N5. However, that price is mitigated by selling the current N5 ($200?). It is definitely lighter and a bit thinner. I was using the Moto E LTE, and geez, I am so glad I have a capable phone once more, especially a pure Nexus
  • I will be upgrading from the Galaxy S6 to the 5X. Yes you read that correct!
  • I was literally about to pull the trigger last night and buy the 5x but the missus stepped in and said at least check it out in person first! Which i thought was a fair point. But now after reading this review, I'm properly having second thoughts! Posted via the Android Central App
  • Don't just take the word of this review. Go to the 5X subreddit or the 5X forum here on AC. There are definitely some issues (there usually are with Nexus releases, especially in the preorder production batch), but most people are loving this phone.
  • Definitely, I'll check it out. Maybe I'll wait a month or two till everything's ironed out... That's if I have the patience! Cheers Posted via the Android Central App
  • $429 for 32GB. For $449 we have the ZTE Axon with SD810, 32GB, QHD and metal body. $399 Moto X Pure with 16GB + microSD. tHe 5X 32GB would be better at $399.
  • Most other reviews seem to like the 5X, but I get the point about the 16 GB storage. I guess that either a 32/64 GB setup OR keep the 16/32 GB setup but put the 32 GB mode atl $379 would make it easier to recommend the phone?
  • Russel, dont be offended but you are a big guy, with problably big hands. You like big phones. And yes, 5.2 inch is already big, not to mention 5.7 inch.
    Why cant you understand that even if manufacters believe customers prefer a 5.5 inch phone that´s not completly true? Please give us some 4.7 inch top tier smartphone!
  • Really enjoyed your review. Just a few thoughts: - I had to factory reset my 5X to eliminate lag caused by apps restored from my other phone, once I did that its been smooth. I keep my transition animations at 0.5x because they're a little slow for my taste.
    - Battery life hasn't been stellar but it's gets me through a day, and Fast Charging mitigates the need to panic
    - Camera photos / video have been great but the app is really buggy
    - A to C cables are very cheap and LG should have included one in the box. The included C to C cable is a foot too short.
    - I'm sure side by side the 6P screen would look much better, but honestly I have no issues at all with the LCD in this phone. Maybe we don't get enough sunlight in the UK?
    - The 32GB $70 diff is true in the US and makes getting the 5X 32GB over the 32GB 6P a strange choice unless the size is a major factor. In the UK I paid £90 less for my 32GB 5X (£349) than the best priced 32GB 6P (£439). This works out just shy of $140, and much more of a differentiator.
    - I've had a few times where Smart Lock forgets my trusted bluetooth entries. Not seen many reports of this though so could be my devices.
  • Yeah, I've seen other posters on reddit say that they also experienced the same lag/drain issues due to a backup from a previous phone. I did the same thing on my 5X, although the backup failed after about 15 apps because my wifi router got hung up and everything just timed out in Play, and I manually installed the rest. And I definitely am experiencing rapid drain compared to a lot of battery screenshots I've seen, so I'll give the reset a try as well. I haven't experienced any issue with the Smart Lock. And the price difference for me is irrelevant. It's all about the size. I have no desire to use something the size of the iphone 6+
  • And that size/form factor is a HUGE aspect for a large contingency of smartphone users. I, for one, do not like being told to use a too big for one hand device. As a techie, the $70 for a faster chip, RAM, screen, build is very very tempting, but the 5X is as big as I want to go. I think that's a sentiment a lot of people feel.
  • Totally agree with you. It's very tempting for $70, but I'd be paying for the device that I don't really want just because it's a superior product. If I went with that logic, I'd just get an Iphone 6s and call it a day.
  • This phone seems nice. Haven't gotten one yet but i iike the processor and the RAM. I hope to actually get one and see what it's like :)
  • WOW, you must have had a good time at Android BBQ. A little hung over and didn't bother to proof read?
  • I agree with the review. However, the argument of "Pay the $70 for the 6P" is NOT a good argument to ping against the 5x. Like me, there is stilla large audience of people who do not want 5.7"+ phones!!!!!!!!!!!! I was heavily considering the Moto X Pure, but upon holding a 5.7" phone at BestBuy, I said nope. The 5X is big enough, and even it is really big for my jeans pocket (standard relaxed fit jeans mind you). Yes the 6P is tempting because of its superior specs across the board, but it's also made by Huwaei which, like it or not, is still a new comer on these shores. If the QA aspect of the OPO or Two is an issue, whos to say Huwaei won't be? We, Nexus community, wanted a cheap(er) Nexus, with the N5 formfactor, and we got an updated N5 for a $30 increase. So it's not "you get what you pay for", because the N5 was a budget hero.
  • Two Nexus 6's in the house and both of them are going nuts over my 5x. Specs sheets are for those that don't understand the concept of diminishing returns. Is the 6p a better phone? Yes, especially at $70 more for 32gb vs 32gb. But I don't like that form factor. I came from a S6 Edge and I like this phone much better and I have been taking side by side pics and in low light, the 5x is hands down the better camera, especially since the S6 Edge has a ton of chromatic aberration and the 5x colors are much more life like. Think Canon, not Nikon. The 5x could have been the hands down winner with AMOLED and 3GB of Ram, but only when going head to head would you have really seen those differences show. In every day use, this is the 2nd best Android phone ever made. The original Nexus 6 was a flop, which is why this years offerings seem so much like the apologies that they are.
  • "but our back cover already has some noticeable scuffs and scratches from day to day use" After three days careful use the phone had severe wear marks in both bottom corners and down both sides just from being placed in a slip case. The Google Nexus forum suggests this isn't an isolated incident; there does seem to be an issue with the coating.
    Fortunately, after a bit of an argument, I got the phone replaced, but the new one isn't going into anything until the back cover I've ordered arrives.
  • My favorite part of the new Nexus is the fingerprint control on the back side
  • The camera is absolutely awesome
  • The byline "Just short of brilliant" and then saying people probably shouldn't buy it seems like an odd combination that doesn't make sense.
  • Russell, I agree with your review, except the price reasoning of getting a 6P. I have a 32GB Nexus 5X, and I would argue that the sheer size of the 6P was going to be uncomfortable. The 5X out of the box seemed large to my taste (coming from an HTC One M7) and so the switch to a 6 inch phone would have been too dramatic for me. (IMO) So for me the price for the 32GB version is just fine, I wouldn't pay $70 more for a more uncomfortable phone size.
    I believe this phone is flawed and not as polished as it could be, but I was in the market for a small (relative) phone with a better camera. All at a reasonable price. The fact that I will feel prioritized by google in terms of software updates swayed me away from other LG/HTC/Moto/Samsung devices.
    I think in 3 months (hopefully) google may address the issues on this phone. So far the only annoying thing about the physical part of the phone is the generic front face. I can never tell which side is up and it leads to some awkward phone spins and such.
  • I agree with you. I also have the 32 gb 5X and for me, it came down to size. I have noticed a few glitches here and there with the software on the 5X, but I feel that's something Google will fix in the coming weeks. I understand the 6P has a much more premium build and higher specs, but the size was too much for me. I didn't feel that the Snapdragon 808 was enough of a weaker chip to make it a deal breaker for me. I've been super happy with the 5X with the exception of battery. Hasn't been that great in real world usage, at least not much better than other phones some with even smaller batteries. Doze helps stand by - no doubt - but actually usage time still isn't great.
  • it the best nexus done with google i love it
  • Glad I bought the one plus two Posted via the Android Central App
  • Why are some reviews loving how bright the LCD gets, and others like this aren't? Are some reviewers forgetting about Adaptive Brightness? Turn it off and the display gets really, really bright.
  • Hey Russell, love the review. I received my 5X last week and have yet to feel like I'm getting the most out of my battery. I know battery usage is relative to the user and varies greatly, but I can't seem to get more than 1 hour 45 minutes or so of screen on time, and it seems to be close to 25-30% by the end of my work day (between 4 and 5 pm, taken off charger around 6:30 am). Could it simply be the apps I have installed doing too much in the background? This screen on time seems to be about the norm for this phone as well as my older Moto X 2014 (probably worse on the Moto X). I definitely see the effects of Doze during stand-by time, but real time usage doesn't really seem to be improving. Any thoughts?
  • I'm surprised by the negative points in this review. I expected there to be compromises at this price point (screen, plastic build, single speaker), but lack of polish with things such as the camera quick launch and lag are not what I was anticipating. I was considering picking one of these up to use as a second phone, but I think I'll be looking elsewhere. The battery life really surprises me. My Moto X 2014 with a 5.2" AMOLED display and 2300mAh battery can get me through a 7AM to 10PM day, so I thought with Doze and a significantly larger cell (even with an LCD), the 5X would be quite a lot better than "20-15% remaining at 10pm". Heck, my iPhone 6S Plus only has a 2750 mAh cell and can get me through two days, and it's powering a larger display and more powerful processing hardware ( know it's not fair since it's way more expensive, but still). Since this is a Nexus I thought LG would have optimized the software/hardware relationship a bit better.
  • I have not noticed many of these things and I am coming from a Note 4. I had the original Nexus 5 and seem to remember problems at the beginning as it is a .0 version but over a couple months it settled and was a phone I was really happy with. The 5x also charges super fast so in most cases not an issue for me so far
  • @Russell,
    Can you comment on how seamless it is to switch between Project Fi and Verizon, and what your experience with signal quality has been? I'm thinking of picking up a Fi-capable device (undecided between the Nexus 6 or 6P) and starting to wean myself off of Big Red.
  • I like the size and the finger print sensor.
  • Damn, almost would consider looking at this compared to my G4. Too bad they didn't compete better. Nexus 6 is not an option Posted via the Android Central App
  • So i have to get the spousal unit a new phone and trying to decide Nexus 5X or the latest Moto G? She's not a heavy user, but the kids to play games on her phone. She had the Nexus 5 until someone stole it and partially broke it where the camera won't focus, so we got a cheap LG replacement which has been getting on her nerves more and more as the days go by.
  • I'm planning on getting the 6p at tax time. I never planned on getting the 5x, but I was hoping to hear it get a really good review. The review is a little bit of a letdown, but it still sounds like a perfectly decent phone. I will say this, though: for what little this is worth, probably nothing, even though the 6p is made of much better material, and has a more striking, instantly recognizable look, I actually think I might prefer the overall look of the 5x. Like the Lumia 950/950XL, it's nice, simple understated elegance. Cheers!
  • I like the phone alot ! I love that is one of the first android 6.0
  • Love it ! I want one,love the fact that is one of the first with android marshmellow
  • Nexus Phones and Tablets are now on sale only on NexusPhoneDeals;com
  • Nexus phones is best mobile phone from google, which is manufactured by lg, google nexus 5x. this is best mobile application phone and applications running in this phone fast.
  • it should be available in under 200$ max.
  • After this review i want it
  • Being somewhat of an Android and Google enthusiast, but never really feeling like I could quite afford a Nexus phone and an expensive carrier combined, I have been using a 16GB 1st Gen Moto G with Republic Wireless. Generally happy with the phone and love Republic Wireless but I've been wanting a bigger screen and faster phone with more storage. My feeling has been to see if there is a 4th Gen Moto G this year and then getting one from Republic once they have them. But now that Project Fi is suddenly open to all and Google is giving a $150 discount on a Nexus phone if you sign up, that means I could get a 32GB Nexus 5x for only $249. Would you recommend the 5x and Fi over a theoretical 2016 Moto G with Republic? My guess is a definite yes and I am seriously considering it. BTW, I'm a big fan of the podcast and listen to it every week! Keep up the great work!
  • I would recommend against getting this piece of crap.The LG Nexus 5X is suffering from a bootloop just like the LG Nexus 5 and the LG V10.
  • I purchased this phone for my son and he was very happy with it until the screen stopped working. From then on my experience with Google and Nexus would make me never purchase another one of their products and I would not recommend them to anyone I know. We lost internet connection while filing the claim and were not able to log back into the support site. When we called the support site they asked for our email address and they told us it was not the one associated with the account. We have no other gmail account so it was apparently corrupted when we lost connection. We have spoken to numerous people at Google and Nexus and their stance is that if we can’t provide them with the email address that is associated with the account, even though it may have been corrupted, they can’t help us yet they send us follow up emails to the email account that they say they don’t have listed. It’s very frustrating that they don’t seem to have anyone competent enough or willing to help with this situation and will look to more reputable companies in the future. What's worse is that they say they can't cancel and refund us for the extended service plan we purchased unless we can provide them with the same email that we don't have.
  • Would you mind giving me your opinions on buying the phone NOW since its a whole lot cheaper. (found the 32 gig for 240 dollars)