Skip to main content

Samsung Galaxy Watch 3 review: Premium Samsung on your wrist

Samsung Galaxy Watch 3
(Image: © Hayato Huseman / Android Central)

Our Verdict

Bottom line: The Galaxy Watch 3 offers stunning hardware and a variety of health-focused features, including an EKG and blood pressure sensor. It doesn't have the widest third-party app support, but you'll get good battery life, a bright display, and Samsung's zippy Tizen OS software.

For

  • Gorgeous classic design
  • Satisfying rotating bezel
  • Solid battery life
  • EKG support is incoming
  • Tizen is generally a great interface

Against

  • App support is still lacking
  • Tizen OS is on borrowed time
  • Slow, clunky charger
  • No MST for Samsung Pay

Design compromises are one of the most recurring issues that smartwatches have to deal with. After all, it's hard to cram all of the various specs and sensors that make these tiny wrist computers so functional into something you'd want to wear out. The result is usually a thick, unattractive gadget that costs as much as a nice traditional watch, with the double whammy of needing to be charged once a day.

Sadly, even in some of the best Android smartwatches, those hardware tradeoffs are met with equally cumbersome software in the form of Wear OS, which continues to be a slow-moving disaster, limiting the number of compelling options on the Android side. However, with the introduction of the Galaxy Watch 4 and the new Wear OS 3, things will begin to get more interesting.

But Samsung does things a little differently. The Galaxy Watch line uses the company's homegrown Tizen software rather than Wear OS and features hardware niceties like circular displays and rotating bezels for navigating through the interface. The Galaxy Watch 3 also carries over the Watch Active line's focus on health and fitness and finally brings long-awaited support for some advanced physiological readings.

Samsung Galaxy Watch 3: Pricing & availability

The Galaxy Watch 3 was announced on August 5, 2020 alongside the Galaxy Note 20, Note 20 Ultra, Tab S7, Tab S7+, Z Fold 2, and Galaxy Buds Live (Samsung had a busy year!), and released the next day, August 6.

Available in several configurations, consumers can choose between 41mm and 45mm sizes, which feature essentially the same specs, including the Exynos 9110 and 8GB of internal storage. At launch, the sizes started at $399.99 and $429.99, respectively, with an optional titanium variant of the 45mm model priced at $599.99 — though as of January 2022, you can many of the styles on sale starting from around $240. Additionally, Samsung offers an LTE-capable variant of either size at a $50 premium.

The 41mm Galaxy Watch 3 is available in Mystic Bronze or Mystic Silver, while the 45mm swaps the Mystic Bronze option for Mystic Black. The Galaxy Watch 3 Titanium is only available in Mystic Black and swaps the included leather band with a metal one.

Samsung Galaxy Watch 3: What I love

The Galaxy Watch 3 has pretty stunning hardware as far as smartwatches go. Made from stainless steel (or titanium, depending on the version you buy, the casing feels just as great as it looks. It's a bit on the thicker side, though; Samsung markets the Watch 3 as being 14% thinner than the original Galaxy Watch, but the 41mm review unit I was sent is still over 11mm thick. It's even slightly thicker than the 45mm version since it needs to cram all of the same sensors into a smaller chassis.

Still, I love how small of a footprint Samsung was able to give this watch, as it takes up even less space on my wrist than the analog watch I typically wear. I'm also a sucker for leather bands and have zero complaints with the one that comes included in the box — though if you're into other materials like metal or silicone, you can easily swap it out with a standard 20mm band (22mm if you opt for the 45mm version).

The Galaxy Watch 3 is a gorgeous timepiece with a surprisingly small footprint.

I thought the haptic "touch bezel" on the Galaxy Watch Active 2 was pretty slick, but I'm glad that Samsung revived the physical rotating bezel with the Watch 3. There's a satisfying audible click with each dial rotation, and it makes scrolling through the software interface delightfully fun. Hell, even when you aren't actively using the watch, it's like having a fidget spinner strapped to your wrist.

Samsung sent me the Galaxy Watch 3 in its Mystic Bronze finish, which closely resembles a pink or rose gold; it's certainly not as easy to match with an outfit as the Mystic Black or Mystic Silver alternatives (at least, not when your closet is mostly full of band tees and Uniqlo sweaters). Still, it's a fun, eye-catching color that you won't see on much of the competition.

Oddly, the 41mm variants of the Galaxy Watch 3 feature a totally smooth rotating bezel around the display, while the 45mm casing features a finely ridged ring in its place.

Galaxy Watch 3 on AC's Joe Maring

Source: Hayato Huseman / Android Central (Image credit: Source: Hayato Huseman / Android Central)

Great hardware and looks are hugely important on a smartwatch — after all, watches are just as much an accessory as they are a utility — but they don't add up to much if the software isn't equally good. Luckily, Tizen mostly holds up. Since Samsung has moved to Wear OS starting with the Galaxy Watch 4, Tizen will stop getting updates down the line.

Samsung added so many fitness features here that there's no more need for an Active line.

I love how naturally Samsung's interface pairs with a circular display. Then, of course, you can use the rotating bezel to scroll through pages and menus and be able just to touch and swipe on the screen. Even if you've never used a Tizen watch before, it's intuitive and easy to learn quickly.

Two major additions to the Galaxy Watch 3 are its blood pressure detector and electrocardiogram, otherwise known as an ECG or EKG. Samsung struggled for years to receive FDA approval for these features in the U.S., even putting the necessary hardware into some of its older watches like the Watch Active 2 in hopes of retroactively enabling the settings later. Thankfully, coinciding with the announcement of the Watch 3, Samsung finally got the go-ahead for its EKG and blood oxygen sensor tech and eventually activated the features in late September 2020.

Along with SpO2 (blood oxygen monitoring), the Watch 3's pulse oximeter allows it to read out VO2 max, which tells you the maximum amount of oxygen you can intake and utilize while exercising. You get a VO2 estimate automatically after each workout routine, though you'll need to manually initiate blood oxygen readings through the Samsung Health app.

Friend of Android Central Andrew Martonik frequently bemoans the reliability of the GPS on past Galaxy Watches, but while I certainly don't get out and exercise nearly as often as he does, I've found the Watch 3 to be fairly accurate. On a three-mile walk through a paved trail with distance markers every half-mile, the Galaxy Watch 3 stayed consistent with the signs I passed and gave me a full post-workout sheet with stats like my heart rate trends, calories burned, etc.

Samsung Galaxy Watch 3: What needs work

Samsung Galaxy Watch 3

Source: Hayato Huseman / Android Central (Image credit: Source: Hayato Huseman / Android Central)

Let's talk about that Tizen software for a second, though. I really like the general interface, but third-party app support is still lacking despite Samsung's efforts. Spotify is the only app on my phone that populated an app on the Watch 3. I've also found that Spotify app to be hugely unreliable, often failing to control my music playback properly.

Tizen is still woefully lacking in third-party apps.

I was also a bit disappointed by the Watch 3's battery life. It isn't bad. In fact, with the always-on display disabled, I had no trouble squeezing two or three days out of a single charge. But with AOD turned on, even one full day is pushing it at times, especially if you're using the Watch for activity monitoring.

Another thing I wish Samsung would improve is the charging situation. The included magnetic puck is more or less the same as on every previous Galaxy Watch, with a weak connection that's easy to dislodge. I've picked up the Watch 3 hours after putting it on the charger, only to find it wasn't seated just right and didn't charge at all. It also still uses USB-A, which is ... well, it's fine, but I'd love to see a USB-C option.

There's also the sky-high launch price. The Galaxy Watch 3 originally started at $400 for the 41mm Bluetooth-only model and only went up from there. That pricing is nothing new for the Galaxy Watch line, but if you've looked at any Wear OS-powered watches lately, you're bound to feel some sticker shock here. That's not to say that the Galaxy Watch 3 isn't worth the money, if for the gorgeous hardware alone, but you need to ** want a premium smartwatch to justify buying it, even at its newly discounted rates.

The competition

Samsung Galaxy Watch 4 Review

Source: Daniel Bader / Android Central (Image credit: Source: Daniel Bader / Android Central)

If you're not into the Galaxy Watch 3 or just don't like shoveling out a few hundred dollars to get one a watch with software with numbered days, the first option to consider is Samsung's own Wear OS option — the Galaxy Watch 4 series. It offers two options, the standard Galaxy Watch 4 that borrows a lot from the Galaxy Watch Active 2, and the Galaxy Watch 4 Classic, which stays more faithful to the Galaxy Watch 3.

Regardless of which of the new watch's you choose, you'll get some impressive health tracking options. You get ECG, heart rate, blood oxygen monitoring with both options, but you also pick up a new BIA sensor. This feature gives deeper insights into your overall health by evaluating your body composition.

If you are interested in options outside of Samsung, consider the Fossil Gen 6. Gen 6 series features an understated design and a rotating crown for interfacing with the software, similar to Samsung's rotating bezel. You even get some of the same features, including heart rate monitoring and basic fitness tracking.

Samsung Galaxy Watch 3: Should you buy it?

Samsung Galaxy Watch 3 replaceable watch band

Source: Hayato Huseman / Android Central (Image credit: Source: Hayato Huseman / Android Central)

Who it's for

  • Those looking for a classic watch that can dress up or down
  • Those looking for health features like an EKG
  • Those with active lifestyles looking to track their activity
  • Those who enjoy navigating through software with a rotating bezel

Who it isn't for

  • Those looking for an affordable smartwatch
  • Those who need an expansive third-party app selection
  • Those looking for a Wear OS watch
  • Those looking for a smartwatch to get support for an extended period.

The Galaxy Watch 3 is equal parts gorgeous and functional, and its collection of health-focused features put it in direct competition with the likes of brands like Garmin and Apple. The rotating bezel is undoubtedly the best (and most fun) way to interact with a smartwatch without obfuscating the screen. Samsung's Tizen OS is fluid, responsive, and well-tailored for the circular display, but it will not be around for much longer.

4 out of 5

The weak third-party network of apps could be a deal-breaker for some, but Samsung packs a lot of features into the watch, to begin with, and the Watch 3 performs its core function as a notification aggregator well. You'll get good battery life (so long as you leave the always-on display feature off), a sharp display that's bright enough to use outdoors without a hitch, and fantastic hardware with a stylish leather band that's easy to swap out if you prefer.

There are plenty of great Wear OS alternatives available at lower price points, which benefit from a wider selection of third-party apps. Still, in most cases, aside from a few outliers, you'll be giving up some combination of hardware polish and fitness sensors. Even though the Galaxy Watch 3 won't be supported forever, it is an excellent-looking watch with a solid set of features until that day comes.

Samsung Galaxy Watch 3

Samsung Galaxy Watch 3 41mm 4GB

The Galaxy Watch 3 offers stunning hardware and a variety of health-focused features, including an EKG and blood pressure sensor.

Review Changelog, January 2022

This article was originally published in August 2020. It was updated in January 2022 with the following changes.

  • Added information about Tizen's end of support.
  • Included mention of the new Samsung Galaxy Watch 4 and Wear OS 3.
  • Updated competition section.

It was updated in April 2021 with the following changes.

  • Updated pricing in the product boxes and body text.
  • Added more information on the rollout of EKG and SpO2 support in the U.S.
  • Updated the competition section with reference to the Fossil Gen 5E and current pricing.

Hayato was a product reviewer and video editor for Android Central.

13 Comments
  • Like almost anything Samsung makes wait for it to go on sale before buying.
  • Costs too much.
  • Title needs to be changed. This is the best Tizen watch.
  • Is this a sponsored review? There’s no way anyone in good faith should be recommending a watch as the best watch when it has failed to provide updates for launch features for over a year. The original galaxy watch active was supposed to get blood pressure monitoring and when it was released it was not an app made by Samsung but a research groups beta program... but it was a headline launch feature! That’s unacceptable. The galaxy watch active 2 was supposed to feature EKG. And it was never available in the USA. Now they are saying they got approval and will update shortly. What about this track record bodes faith in them to deliver? Phil Nickilson wouldn’t have wrote a review in a watch without expressing those concerns. Consumers need to know there’s a chance they never get the launch features or get them with direct support from Samsung.
  • This site went to crap day after Phil left...
  • my active 2 in the USA has ECG. got it about a month ago.
  • Having one I can say my original watch had way better battery life. And the MST was gone in the original Watch. Having owned S3 -> Watch -> Watch 3 this is lighter and screen bigger. Love the workout items and I purchased for BP monitoring they already gave the O2 update. After having the watch for 2 yrs I justified it for the health features and such. Now charging every 2 days is not my favorite thing but it feels a good bit lighter than the original.
  • Who is seriously comparing a Fossil 5E against the Galaxy Watch 3. I really dont know what has happened to the quality of articles on here of late but whatever it is needs looking at.
  • calm the hell down everyone, it was a great article. you people need to take a coffee break or something or better yet smoke a blunt, it will take the edge off.. like seriously
  • I've had my (45mm) Watch 3 for about 3 months now, and generally love it. Battery life is sufficient with my use, and AOD off (my general preference), that I can throw it on a charger for a couple of hours every other day and still use it for basic notification management, sleep/exercise tracking (including quite accurate gps), and still never fear running dry on battery. The only thing it lacks that I do lament is compass functionality, but that's not a dealbreaker for me. As another poster pointed out, given that this is running on Tizen OS, it's a very large error to classify it as an Android watch - much less, the "best." Though I suppose calling it the best Tizen smartwatch would be like calling your only child the smartest kid you have.
  • I'm a runner and the advanced running metrics on this watch are quite good. My only gripe is that the battery is just barely good enough for me on some days when I do a lot of GPS tracking. I do use AOD because I feel like a watch should be AOD. If I do a lot of GPS tracking, some days I will almost completely kill the watch by the end of the day.
  • If you are going to repost an almost year old article, you should update it. Compare the TicWatch Pro # with the 4100 chip and Wear OS to it.
  • We bought this watch and my wife washed her hands with it on. (only 2 months of use) It immediately broke. We sent it back to be repaired and Samsung said it was water damage and that broke the warranty. They literally show people swimming with it on their site. This is watch is NOT water resistant and Samsung sucks. They refused to fix it. I am waiting for the pixel watch and I will never buy anything from Samsung ever again.