Gmail and Google+

Google's just implemented a new feature in Gmail that — by default — lets anyone in your Google+ circles send you email without actually having your address. (Google is sending out email now reminding folks that this is taking effect.)

Here's how to keep that from happening.

It's simple enough. Go to Gmail. Open the settings. In the general tap, scroll down to the "Email via Google+" section.

There you'll have four options

  • No one
  • Circles (folks you've added)
  • Extended Circles (these are folks added to circles by the folks whom you've circled)
  • Anyone on Google+ (all the folks)

By default (at least for us), this new feature is set to "Circles." Choose the one you want, scroll down and hit save, and you're back to normal.

You're welcome.