Skip to main content

LG G5 review: Great cameras attached to a modular mess

The quick take

The strength of the LG G5 as an Android smartphone is as much overshadowed by its "modular" design. And the one module we have available in the U.S. isn't all that great. The other is great, but unavailable to us as yet. But even those hardware innovations are plagued by early manufacturing problems — and we have no idea of the long-term viability of these phone modules, or of LG's commitment to them. The G5 continues LG's long line of phones with excellent cameras, however. And the optional 360-degree camera is a world of fun.

The Good

  • Innovative design, USB-C, QC 3.0 charging
  • Excellent camera and fingerprint sensor
  • Removable battery and microSD expansion
  • Optional modules means additional functionality

The Bad

  • Modular section may be ill-fitted
  • Updated software is different, not better
  • Long-term viability of "Friends" unknown
  • Display is aggressively dark in auto

Intriguing, but with reservations

LG G5 Full review

You have to wonder if the LG G5 has a bit of an identity crisis. On its own, it's a pretty good Android smartphone. Above average, certainly. And absolutely intriguing, given that it's the first to switch to a "modular" system wherein the battery slides out of the butt of the phone — and in can slide a new bottom, adding new functionality. Is it a mere smartphone? Is it a mobile photography powerhouse? A portable hi-fi audio player? A window into a new vein of virtual reality?

It's all of those things, actually. And it's a reminder that LG is not (and has not been) afraid to do some relatively crazy things with its smartphone line. It moved buttons to the back. It was one of the first to experiment with glass backs. It's gone as svelte and as sleek — and as big and beefy — as anyone. It's as if iterating just isn't exciting enough for LG, even if that means an unpredictable experience for consumers (and, admittedly, journalists) year to year.

It some ways, with the G5, that's great. In others, we've got some serious questions about longevity and durability, especially considering the extra expense if the G5 is to truly live at the center of LG's new "Friends" ecosystem, full of easy-to-use accessories.

This is our full review of the LG G5.

Watch this ...

LG G5 video review

About this review

I (Phil Nickinson) have been using the LG G5 in one way or another for more nearly a month. We've spent quality time with a pre-production unit sent by LG on March 11, but with non-final software, hardware details that weren't quite dialed in, and radio bands that weren't ideal for the United States, which affects battery life. It was good for getting an overall feel for the phone, but not great for review purposes.

On March 30 we received an official T-Mobile review unit (as well as some of the "Friends" accessories) from LG, as well as a retail unit from AT&T, which we purchased. The T-Mobile unit was used for the bulk of this review. It's running Android 6.0.1, build MMB29M, software version H8310a, with the March 2016 security patch.

We used the LG G5 with an LG Watch Urbane smartwatch during the review process.

LG G5

Crazy, but it (sort of) works

LG G5 Hardware

Forget what you've known about LG's G series in the past. Just throw it all out. Gone are the curves of that made the last two generations of LG flagship such iconic devices. Gone are the rear volume buttons. Gone, too, is the overly plastic feel.

In their place we now have a metal body that doesn't feel like metal. A slightly smaller display. Volume buttons on the side of the phone. A couple cameras on the back. A detachable bottom end. A gently sloped forehead. A rear-mounted fingerprint sensor and power button. SIM card tray that doubles as a microSD slot. Infrared remote. USB-C. Laser autofocus.

You might well be expecting Frankenstein's monster. But LG has managed to do all this in a package that while maybe not as iconic as its past couple designs is more than passable. If anything, it's not boring. The single sheet of glass that makes up the entire front of the phone gives the impression that the 5.3-inch display is bigger than it truly is. (Even through the screen itself is smaller than its predecessor by two tenths of an inch) The chrome ring that separates the back from the body all but hides the breaks you'd normally see for antennas in this sort of design. (More on that in a minute.)

It's bit of a weird but powerful phone, to say the least. It's also more than a little worrisome. Let's get to it.

LG G5 specs

CategoryFeatures
Operating systemAndroid 6.0.1
ProcessorSnapdragon 820
Display5.3-inch IPS quad-HD quantum display (2560x1440, 554 dpi)
Storage32GB UFS ROM, microSD up to 2TB
RAM4GB LPDDR4
Rear camera16MP main, 8MP wide-angle (135 degrees)
Front camera8MP
Battery2800 mAh removable
ModulesLG Cam Plus (camera grip with 1100 mAh)
LG Hi-Fi Plus with B&O Play
Dimensions149.4 x 73.9 x 7.7mm
Weight159 grams
NetworksLTE/3G/2G
ConnectivityWifi 802.11a/b/g/n/ac
USB Type C, NFC, Bluetooth 4.2
ColorsSilver/Titan/Gold/Pink

The LG G5 body — fit and finish and feel

There's a lot going on with the LG G5, in terms of how it's built, how it feels — and how well LG executed on both.

This is a big slab of a phone. Not quite a phablet, but it fits nicely between the Galaxy S7 and Nexus 6P in terms of size. It's relatively easy to grip — and in the fingerprint sensor/power button on the back leads your index finger to the right spot — even with its smooth, matte finish. The dual cameras and their accoutrements look a little funny, but they're quite useful.

The front of the phone is almost entirely a single piece of glass. The curve at the top of the phone is wonderfully done. Subtle, but unmistakeable. It's one of those features that LG pulls off that makes it stand out, even when there are more popular curved displays on the market. The earpiece is tucked up there of course, and there's an LED hidden in there as well.

That top curve also stands in stark contrast to the removable plastic section at the bottom of the phone. That's the modular butt, and it's easily the most polarizing feature.

Image 1 of 4

LG G5

Image 2 of 4

LG G5

Image 3 of 4

LG G5

Image 4 of 4

It's metal on the inside, but doesn't feel like it on the outside.

Moving parts are always hard on a product like a smartphone. They add to the complexity of the device. They also add another avenue for error. We've used three LG G5s in writing this review. One pre-production model, one a retail unit supplied by LG, and one retail unit we purchased ourselves. All three have small but noticeable differences in the way the modular butts feel, and how well they fit into the phone. One model is practically sharp along the bottom edge, and is pretty uncomfortable when it rubs on a pinky finger. A couple of them have sharper edges on the USB-C port — which, again, rubs on the finger. One of our modules fits into the base of the phone just a little worse than the others. (But still better than the preproduction unit we had.)

The "metal body" used in the G5 also has been a source of consternation for some. The simple fact is that the G5 doesn't particularly feel like a metal phone. Certainly not in the way that the iPhone does, or in the way that HTC's phones do. Or in the same way that the edges feel on the Galaxy S7, or the LG V10. The G5 has a metal skeleton, and the back is covered by paint and primer. This is (partly) how LG managed to hide the antenna lines on the G5. The trade-off is that the phone doesn't really feel metallic. (And LG's marketing may be a little aggressive in its metallic message.) We've also seen a few instances in which the primer and paint aren't 100% even, leading to hints of the antennas below.

A chink in the armor

None of this is overly surprising, but it is worrisome. There's always a break-in time for any manufacturing process. Machines have to be dialed in. Tolerances have to be met. Early runs are almost never as good as later runs.

What absolutely does worry us is the durability of the paint-on-metal scheme. As we were filming our review video and swapping out modules we found a small crack in the paint, right in the middle of the phone at the end of the metal body where, without a battery inserted, there is opportunity for a good bit of flexing. Did we cause the crack through some sort of user error? Is there some sort of larger issue at play here? We're honestly not sure. But it's absolutely not anything we've experienced before, nor is it is something we'd expect to see happen in the first week of using a device — even one with as innovative a design as the G5.

If you're buying a G5, we'd take a close look at the bottom section and check the fit. If there are any sharp spots, or if it doesn't fit as well as you think it should, take advantage of the seller's return policy. Same goes for the paint job.

While this isn't quite a deal-breaker for us with the G5, it's a pretty major cause for concern.

The LG G5 display — always on, always blue, often dark

If there's one part of the LG G5 that's immediately a bit of a let down for me, it's the display. There's nothing inherently wrong with LG's IPS Quantum Display — it's a more-than capable panel. But it just doesn't hold a candle to what a high-quality AMOLED screen can do at this point.

That starts with whites not really being white — particularly on the T-Mobile model we've got here. The color temperature is more blue than we'd prefer, and the whole thing just has a soft look and feel about it. And there's a good bit of color shift as the phone's direction changes.

The auto-brightness setting on the G5 also is pretty quick to head to the dark side of things. That's good for battery life, maybe, but it can be pretty hard on the eyes. On too many occasions I found myself turning off the automatic setting and getting things back to a visible level on my own. That's not something I ever really want to have to worry about — particularly since the G5's brightness slider takes up more space in the notification pane. I'd prefer it just works well, and then I can remove the slider and get some space back.

LG G5 always-on display

That said, the 5.3-inch diagonal size has been fine for me. Yes, it's all of two tenths of an inch smaller than the G4. But you won't miss it. It's still a ton of real estate — more than you get on the Galaxy S7, less than what's on the Nexus 6P. I haven't had anything I'd consider to be real LCD light leakage, either. (For that, I'll point you to my Nexus 9.)

Another good change has to do with the polarization of the display. As anyone who wears polarized sunglasses knows, the screen on the G4 was useless in portrait — kind of a bad thing when trying to take pictures outside in daylight. LG has changed things on the G5 so that you can still wear your sunnies and see the display vertically as well as horizontally. There's a pretty major color shift, but it works. And that's better than not working.

Like Samsung, LG also has added an always-on feature this year. Hit the power button and the screen goes dark. But the date and time pop up nearly immediately.

That is, once you turn the feature on. It's off by default on our two retail models, which seems sort of silly considering that it was one of the tentpole features when the G5 was announced. Now? It's not even mentioned on LG's product page.

Regardless, it's there, and it works. You can't do a whole lot with it — just notifications or a cute little "signature" — but at least it works with more apps than just LG's. (Which is something we can't say for Samsung's implementation of the same feature.)

Fingerprint sensor, meet home button

The G5 isn't the first phone from LG to sport a modern fingerprint sensor — that title goes to 2015's LG V10. Both were integrated into the power button. The difference? The G5's works and doesn't make you want to throw the phone into the ocean.

LG G5 fingerprint

If you've used or read about any of the current fingerprint sensors from the likes of the Nexus 5X or 6P, or Huawei's other recent phones, you'll know you're in for a very good experience. The sensor is always polling, which means all you have to do to unlock and wake the phone is lightly press your finger to the circle. The power button is superfluous in that regard, though it still needs to be there for those who don't use the fingerprint sensor (as well as for other technical reasons).

That's pretty much all there is to say about that. It works extremely well, and it doesn't look too bad on the back of the phone. My accuracy is damned near 100% — close enough that it's still my go-to method of unlocking my phone. And like on other devices, it's kept me from using the Smart Lock function to bypass the lock screen when connected to a trusted device.

The fingerprint sensor also works with all of the native Android fingerprint functions. If it worked on another Marshmallow phone, it'll work on the G5.

LG G5 modules

Fun, with a caveat

The LG G5 Modules

The LG G5 — as a smartphone, that is — is almost secondary to this whole "modular" thing. You can remove the bottom portion of the phone, and replace it with a module that enhances the phone's capabilities. And the modules are part of the larger "Friends" ecosystem that LG is launching along with the G5.

There's nothing really subtle about popping out the battery, removing it from the base, and slamming in a new module. It needs to be a little rugged to stand the test of time, and it's definitely a little awkward. First you have to find and press the nearly hidden button on the side of the phone, which ejects the base ever so slightly. Then you have to slide it out and remove the battery, which takes a good bit of force. How that'll hold up after six months depends on how often you're swapping things out. It's a concern, but not anything we can answer just yet.

At the outset we have two modules to go along with the G5. They're entirely optional, but do add functionality to the phone. You keep speaker functionality with both. And the speaker is decent, though not anything we'd really write home about in any event.

LG CAM Plus

CAM Plus — it's a camera grip, just not a good one

The first — and the one you're more likely to see at this point — is LG CAM Plus. It's a sort of grip that adds some physical camera buttons along with an extra 1,200 mAh of battery that trickle charges once you've pressed a button. It plugs into the bottom of the phone easy enough — and that's that.

Problem is it's not so much a "grip" — something you'd figure would be ergonomic, right? — than it is a huge battery hump with buttons. There's nothing comfortable about using it in that regard.

If you've seen any videos of anyone using CAM Plus, you'll see them almost gingerly using the scroll wheel with the tip of their index finger. That's because it's pretty horribly positioned on the outboard side. It scrolls easily enough, giving you a smooth transition through the 20 or so steps of electronic zoom. Scroll the other way and you'll eventually transition into the wide-angle lens, where you'll find another nine zoom positions. It's just really hard to get your finger on.

Image 1 of 5

LG CAM Plus

Image 2 of 5

LG CAM Plus

Image 3 of 5

LG CAM Plus

Image 4 of 5

LG CAM Plus

Image 5 of 5

LG CAM Plus

The two-stage shutter button is in a better position, though it's a little slow to function at the half-step.

CAM Plus runs $69 retail, but a number of places are giving them away when you purchase the G5 — which is about the only way we'd recommend it at this point. The good news is that even though it adds a good bit of bulk to one end of the phone, CAM Plus doesn't make the G5 too end-heavy. Nor does it feel all that weird in your pocket.

LG Hi-Fi Plus with B&O

Hi-Fi Plus with B&O PLAY

The more exciting module is this one — Hi-Fi Plus with B&O PLAY. It adds a 32-bit DAC — that's a digital-to-analog-converter — and amplifier, powered by Bang & Olufsen for high-fidelity audio at 384 KHz. (For those of you who really worry about such things, it's got ES9028C2M and Sabre9602C chips inside.)

Before you get too excited, however, know this: Hi-Fi Plus has yet to be certified by the FCC. So you can't buy it in the U.S., and it doesn't yet work with U.S. models of the G5 anyway — you can't even power the phone on — so forget about importing one for now.

That said, it's a very cool module. (We used it on our European pre-production unit.) Swap it in and plug your headphones into it (instead of using the 3.5mm jack on top of the phone) and you'll instantly notice how things sound better. More crisp, more clear. Muddied kick drums stand on their own. Individual instruments can be made out more easily. It makes you wonder why this wasn't just built into the phone in the first place.

Image 1 of 3

LG Hi-Fi Plus with B&O

Image 2 of 3

LG Hi-Fi Plus with B&O

Image 3 of 3

LG Hi-Fi Plus with B&O

In any event, the module just adds a few millimeters of length to the phone. It's also black — a contrast to whatever color of G5 you come away with.

In a word, it sounds great.

Whether it sounds great enough for whatever price tag gets put on it — a wild guess on our part would put it around $200, if we're lucky — is entirely subjective, of course.

But Hi-Fi Plus isn't just a module for the LG G5. It's also a standalone DAC for anything that can connect to it via USB-C. That at least makes whatever the eventual price is a little more palatable.

Performance and battery life

The LG G5 is one of the first round of phones to use the new Snapdragon 820 processor from Qualcomm. And while LG mostly escaped the drama surrounding 2015's batch of Snapdragon 810 processors (in no small part due to using a custom 808 in the LG G4 and V10), this processor also has gotten a lot of hype. And therefore folks are paying a lot of attention to it.

Performance-wise, we've not seen any red flags. Any heat has barely been noticeable. The interface runs without hiccups, as do all of our daily apps. (A full 4GB of RAM certainly doesn't hurt with that.)

Snapdragon 820 may not change your life, but Quick Charge (and/or the removable battery) will.

There's been quite a bit of teeth-gnashing over the slightly smaller battery in the G5. As we've written previously, however, we're only talking about a 6% drop in capacity, to 2,800 mAh. The G5's (somewhat literal) ace in the hole remains that you can remove the battery and swap it out for a new one.

That's likely going to remain a selling point for a lot of people. In our time with the G5 we've averaged between 12 and 15 hours of daily usage before needing to charge. Some days were a little less, if we really pushed things and didn't spent much time on Wifi. Other days we didn't need to charge until bedtime — but just barely.

That's on par with what we've seen from the other major Snapdragon 820 phone — the Samsung Galaxy S7. It's also maybe a little disappointing given Qualcomm's claims of "2 times the performance and up to 2 times the power efficiency" of its Snapdragon 810 processor. But then again we're talking about phones, and not chips in a lab, and there's more to battery drain than just the processor. Real-world is what matters here.

And so don't expect the G5 to be a multi-day phone. If you're going to have a long one, you'll probably want to top up at some point. That's easier than ever thanks to Qualcomm's Quick Charge feature, though. And the G5 has QC3.0 — the newest iteration. We've taken the phone from 3% battery up to about 60% battery in just 30 minutes while using a Tronsmart QC 3.0 charger. An extra 20 minutes or so on top of that will get you topped off completely. That's not bad at all if you don't want to deal with extra batteries. (Choice is a good thing.)

As far as storage goes, you can get the LG G5 in any sort of flavor you want, so long as it's 32GB. That's the only option available for internal storage, a move other manufacturers have taken, too. You can, however, add on a microSD card for addition external storage — though do note that LG also has chose to eschew the Adoptable Storage feature available in Marshmallow for standard extended storage, so you can still pop the card out of the phone and into any other reader and get to your files.

Back to the internal storage — you'll have about 20GB (give or take) left over for your own data once the OS has done its thing.

LG G5 screens

And then there's this ...

LG G5 Software

Fun fact: Nobody who uses words like "user interface" likes the software that comes on any phone that's not "stock." Such is the way of the world. And everyone else probably doesn't ever change their home screen anyway.

Relax. It's just a default user interface. You can (and should) change it.

And so it's been somewhat amusing to see the nerd-hate for LG's new UX 5.0 that's making its debut on the G5. LG has decided to do away with the app drawer and move to the "Springboard" way of doing things, wherein all of your apps live on a single layer, and you just keep swiping through to find things instead of having a home screen and then a separate app drawer.

The nerds were not amused.

It's completely usable, though — but you'll want to do some extra customization. The home screen settings give you the option to sort apps alphabetically. This will be the quickest way to find things that aren't on the first page. A long press on an app lets you quickly uninstall or rearrange things, and a long press in empty space brings up options for your widgets, home screen settings — and a separate section for apps that you recently uninstalled, should you want to quickly reinstall them. (Apparently that's a thing.)

If you just have to have an app drawer and just have to have it come from LG, it's made available a previous version — LG Home 4.0 — through its own SmartWorld app.

This is all just noise about a launcher, though. If you know anything about launchers, you know that there are a lot of good third-party apps available that improve or reinvent your phone's home screens in one way or another. (We've got a great list here.)

More: What you need to know about LG's app drawer alternative

LG is making a much bigger deal about its "Friends Manager" app, which brings together all of the accessories in the "Friends" ecosystem. I've used it just twice — when initially setting up the 360 CAM — and that's it. (You'll also use it to download the LG Hi-Fi Plus Manager app, which is used to update that module. But it's not necessary to actually get the high-def sound — and, again, it's not yet in the U.S. anyway.)

There's a whole mess of preinstalled software on the G5, of course. LG continues to use its own suite of apps — calendar, email, music, etc. — and a whole smattering of LG apps, really. And if you have a G5 from a U.S. operator, get ready for the bloat. T-Mobile has poisoned its G5 with Lookout security, as well as Sling TV, "App Source" for yet another app store, a trial Whitepage-powered caller ID that costs $3.99 a month after the first week (remember that the next time John Legere boasts about doing things different), T-Mobile TV, and others. AT&T's version of the G5 is crapped up even worse.

Finally, LG's quick settings area is worth a mention once again, if only because it continues to take up more room than it needs, cutting into the space for your notifications to live. You can hide the brightness, volume, screen sharing and file sharing options — which is a start — but one of these days the other manufacturers need to realize that Google is the only one doing this right.

A quick word on security and updates

LG doesn't exactly have the best track record when it comes to regular updates for its phones. While it's beholden to the carriers as much as any other Android manufacturer, there is room for improvement.

Previous-generation phones needed four or five months to be updated to Marshmallow. Monthly security updates haven't been publicly discussed by LG. And we really don't have a feel for how the G5 will fare in that regard. When you think timely updates and regular security patches, LG phones are not ones that come to mind. We'd like to see that change.

That said, the G5 is encrypted by default, and asks you during setup to require a PIN before the phone will even boot. That's the right way to do things.

More little tweaks all over the place

Stock keyboards can be a crapshoot. Just go ahead and do yourself a favor and download anything else. It's not that LG's is awful — aside from the prediction and ridiculously small secondary function. And don't you dare turn your phone sideways. Other than that, it's fine.

LG's also added in those badge notifications for specific applications, wherein you see the number of unread things on the app icon. It's not all that useful if you're the sort of person who always has unread notifications, and I've only seen it in Twitter so far. But it's there.

A long press of the recent apps key still serves as an old-school menu key, and the back button still refuses to rotate when the keyboard is open as a reminder that you can hit it to hide the keys. (Not that that's really a great way of doing things either.)

And if you're looking for the old QSlide button — which lets you float some of LG's apps atop everything else — it's hidden away in the Home Touch Button settings (under button combination).

Point is there's a lot going on in the G5, with a lot of features (that you might or might not want) turned off by default. You'll need to do some exploring.

LG G5 cameras

Two lenses, no waiting

The LG G5 Cameras

As has been the case the past several years, the cameras are where LG really shines with its phones. The LG G4 was easily in the top one or two or three smartphone cameras over the past year. The LG V10 essentially had the same setup — only it added manual video controls, too.

The G5 shakes things up a little bit by adding a second, wide-angle lens, shooting at 135 degrees. Flipping between the two is just a single tap on the screen, or you can let the phone handle that on its own as you move through the full range of the zoom. The transition is a little slower than we'd like, but so long as you know that going in it's OK.

LG G5

As is always the case you've got a bevy of modes to make your way through. Auto is the one you'll probably spend most of your time in, of course, and there's a "simple" mode that makes things even easier. If you really know what you're doing you can use the manual controls and tweak things like ISO and shutter speed and aperture yourself.

Shooting modes include panorama, time lapse and slow-motion. Popout and multi-view take advantage of the wide-angle lens, with the former giving you a sort of picture-in-picture effect, and the latter taking a regular, wide-angle and finally a selfie before combining them into a single frame. Snap takes short clips of video and stitches it all together.

And LG now has nine film-style filters that give your pics and videos an old-school look. (Kids, ask your parents what film was.)

The proof, as always, is in the finished product:

LG G5 sample pictures

Image 1 of 19

LG G5 rear camera in HDR

Image 2 of 19

LG G5 rear camera

Image 3 of 19

LG G5 rear camera

Image 4 of 19

LG G5 rear camera at night

Image 5 of 19

LG G5 rear camera

Image 6 of 19

LG G5 rear cameras in pop-out mode

Image 7 of 19

LG G5 rear cameras in pop-out mode

Image 8 of 19

LG G5 multiview mode

Image 9 of 19

Dog in repose (with the main rear camera)

Image 10 of 19

Looking south down the High Line

Image 11 of 19

Full zoom on the statue of liberty

Image 12 of 19

LG G5 front-facing camera with HDR

Image 13 of 19

Pensacola Fish House in HDR

Image 14 of 19

Pensacola Fish House wide lens

Image 15 of 19

Phil in a front-facing camera

Image 16 of 19

The author ... riding

Image 17 of 19

Phil in the front-facing camera

Image 18 of 19

Beneath ATL

Image 19 of 19

Beneath ATL — wide-angle lens

LG G5 sample video

Using the camera has been exactly what I've come to expect from an LG phone. The camera app isn't the best out there, but it's easy enough to shoot with. I do miss the larger volume buttons on the rear of the phone for quickly launching the camera app (you can still do it with the volume button on the side), but that's a small thing.

LG G5 and friends

Potential, both good and bad

LG G5 Bottom line

It's easy to get sucked into the internet vortex of hate when it comes to smartphones. Little issues tend to be magnified. I didn't have a real issue with the G5's metal body not really feeling like metal — until it became a problem and somehow grew a crack where the modules meet the phone. I can deal with LG's software just like I can deal with any manufacturer's software. It's maybe not great, but it's really no worse. The carrier bloatware is a shame — but LG is at least selling unlocked versions through retailers like B&H, so it can (and should) be avoided. The G5's camera is great. The 360 CAM is a lot of fun.

The G5 just feels like too many unfinished (and expensive) thoughts in one phone.

The question is whether all of that adds up to a compelling phone. In and of itself, there's a good bit to like about the G5. The large sloped glass on the front of the phone is gorgeous. The fingerprint sensor works flawlessly. The dual-camera system is very well done. And while it looks a little funny on the back of the phone, it performs great and is a very cool option to have. And for many, the removable battery remains a must-have option.

But the modular system isn't yet a fully formed thought. The camera grip isn't all that useful, the hi-fi audio is great but not yet available, and in any event might be worth more as a standalone DAC than something you have to swap into a phone and reboot before using.

Will there be more modules in the future? And will LG support them in its next flagship smartphone? Or is this going to be a one-off purchase? Those are big questions that impact our overall take on this phone, good as it may be.

This isn't an awful phone to use. Not by any stretch of the imagination. It's just that there are better phones out there — and also really good phones for less money.

Wait for it ...

Should you buy it? We'd wait

If you've been cautiously eyeing the LG G5 as a potential purchase, we'd recommend waiting for a little while. If the manufacturing process still needs to be dialed in a bit (and that happens to basically every phone), then the extra time could pay off. If it's already dialed in and what we're seeing is symptomatic of the metal-primer-paint scheme, then we'll certainly hear about it from folks in our LG G5 forums.

Then there's the modules themselves. The CAM Plus grip just isn't that compelling. The Hi-Fi Plus module isn't yet available — and we don't yet know when it will be, or how much it'll cost. The 360 VR goggles — well, we haven't even mentioned them in this review because they're not available yet either. (Nor is the Friend we're really waiting on — Rolling Bot!)

Arguments for buying the G5? It's got a great camera. But then again so does the V10 and last year's LG G4 — to say nothing of competing manufacturers' phones. If you need a removable battery, however — just have to have one — this will be a phone to look at. But for now it has its limitations. Whether it grows into something else — the center of a complete ecosystem — well, we'll just have to wait and see.

Money money money money

Where to buy the LG G5

If you're going to throw caution to the wind and go ahead and buy a G5 just because you want one — good for you! Hope you enjoy it! And we have some handy links to some of the best places to pick one up in the U.S., UK and in Canada.

Where to buy the LG G5 in the U.S.

Where to buy the LG G5 in the UK

Where to buy the LG G5 in Canada

LG 360 CAM review

Among the various "Friends" that LG is releasing alongside the G5 is the 360 CAM. This is a 360-degree camera that uses two 200-degree degree cameras to capture nearly the entire world around you. You don't even need a smartphone to control it, though you get much more out of it if you use the companion app. And it's not just limited to Android — 360 CAM works on iOS as well.

The question is how good it's going to be in the first-generation crop of affordable 360-degree cameras.

Read our full review

199 Comments
  • Nice review Posted via the Android Central App
  • Great phone. Modules are a major flop imo. I would NEVER use that feature. Removing the entire lower half of my phone? Just no... Everything else looks great though, especially that camera! Posted via the Android Central App
  • The only module that interests me is the B&O DAC. And now, it looks like it won't be coming Stateside, at least for quite a while, since any reference to it is removed on their website. It's not just us who get the shaft. Our neighbors up north (Canada), South Korea and Puerto Rico don't seem to get it either. Why, LG?
  • This has nothing to do with the FCC.LG isn't even selling the module in their home country.Very odd.Something must have fallen through or they see the handwriting on the wall about the G5 and are trying to cut their losses. Posted via the Android Central App
  • I think there's a bigger picture to the lack of availability of the DAC to these markets, including their home market.
  • The DAC module is definitely the most interesting, although I don't care nearly enough about audio quality to spend even $100 on a high-end DAC, let alone however much it'll actually end up costing. I would actually be super interested in the camera module, if it weren't being universally panned. It's a little frustrating that using the DAC module would prevent you from using any regular cases, though. Of the modules that are available now, that's the one that I would expect to want to have attached at all times.
  • What would be even more amazing is if the HTC 10 has a high-end DAC integrated into the phone like the V10. There goes the need for a pricey module.
  • Yeah I'm almost expecting it since HTC hyped their boomsound up but their doesn't seem to be 2 front speakers. IMO a high quality DAC is much more important and useful than the speakers. Let's hope the HTC 10 lives up to their own hype.
  • HTC always has superior loudness through the headphones. I love that. Posted via the Android Central App
  • The audio module is being offered for free in bundles across Europe. So they may be managing supply to see which modules attract more people. Posted via the Android Central App
  • You guys over in Europe usually get the good stuff...
  • Looks like Phil and I came to the same consensus with the G5. It might be best to wait for a bit. The quality issues with the build are definitely a cause for concern if you're looking to buy one (I know some guys who have pretty good units, and that's fine), so it's best to wait to see if these get sorted out further down the road. Plus, the phone drops in price after a while too, which is typical when it comes to LG devices. Overall, I've kinda grown a bit on this phone. I do like it and I think once the quality issues are ironed out, then it has the potential to be another solid phone. The real issue with the phone for me (nothing to do with the modules, which I still think are quarter-baked and more of a gimmick as of right now), is that it's selling in the same shelf as its main rival; the Galaxy S7. Seeing Samsung's marketing muscle, the rave reviews of the S7 and the pretty impressive sales figures, it would be interesting to see how the G5 holds up. Overall, I kinda like it, though I think had LG shifted their focus a little more towards refining the phone rather than promoting these modules, it would have the potential to be better. But, we'll see how this pans out in the future. I still very much prefer the Galaxy S7e over the LG G5, but, this is a pretty good choice (well, pretty much your ONLY choice of the crop of 2016 flagships) if you absolutely need a removable battery. Good thing is that the phone does perform pretty well.
  • Yeah I pretty much agree, except this phone hasn't grown on me. I think they should've improved on the G4, much like Samsung did with the S7, rather than make a completely different phone. IMO LG would've been better off making this a completely different line, instead of the S7's competitor. I'd rather have seen a larger battery, better build, and toned down skin. Just those 3 things would've got my attention. Instead I'd be more curious with the V11, but only if they do some work to the software. Obviously their skin doesn't bother you as much, but I think we both agree that LG taking chances and not being afraid to be different is a good thing. I just think they should've went about it differently, and not have done such a dramatic overhaul to the G series. At this point, I'm desperate to replace my work phone (S4). I don't want another Samsung but I want something different from my 6p, so I'll most likely go with the HTC 10. I've always liked Sense and if the rumors are accurate, it'd be a nice complement to my current devices, ESPECIALLY if it has USB-C (since my phone and MacBook have it, I don't want to have to travel with different chargers).
  • Being different isn't necessarily better. I think LG needs to understand that. There is nothing wrong with trying new things, but I think they should have done so on a lower-volume product to see how feasible it is before putting it on a mainstream product. Case in point: The 2015 MacBook. It's an experiment for USB-C on a laptop and for the Core M, basically. They could have dramatically overhauled the MacBook Air, but they chose to launch a separate product for that purpose so people who are willing to try living with one USB-C port have a choice while others who need the extra functionality have their choice. I feel that LG should have done the same. Release a radical product with a radical feature for those who want it while releasing a more "played it safe" product that is basically a refresh of an existing product for those who want the same formula, just improved. And yes, I know the phone works just fine without the extra modules. It's just that, I can't help but say "compromise" when describing the G5. There's just so many things that could have been done to improve the UX if it hadn't been for LG focusing so much on the modules. It's still a solid phone. Just one that had a lot of potential while it was in the works.
  • They will do a manufacturing respin I bet. Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • LG messed up on this phone. G4 is better any day I think. Buggest flaws are the gap in the module seam and no more dual screen app feature. Both those combined are deal breaker for me. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Yeah, the only practical improvement over the G4 that I see here is the processor. I liked the G4 a lot, but the 808 is a real junker.
  • It's actually not. There's no excuse for the 808 to not be running like a beast. It even easily outscores the 805 on some CPU benchmarks, and the 805 is just a incredible mobile chipset. What's needed is optimized software. LG couldn't provide that as usual. This X Pure that I have runs extremely well. It's a very fast and consistent phone. Any mobile device with 2 cortex A57 cores is far from a junker, lol Posted via the Android Central App
  • Q Slide still exists. It just has to be enabled. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Not Q slide. There was a dual split screen mode just like Samsung's I believe. 1 app on top half of screen and 1 app on bottom half of screen. Not as widely supported by 3rd app developers as Samsungs split screen is, but still good to use for the preinstalled apps. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Good luck to LG with the v10 replacement and the g6,I have to say,this is a pass.At the same time,if you like it,go for it. Posted via the Android Central App
  • All in all a great review. I think I am right on par with your thoughts. The modules don't really interest me to be completely honest. I don't mind the butt slide out. The battery life has actually been pretty stellar for me so far (much better than my v10) and all in all this phone is snappy, feels nice in the hands and its almost to the point where I may not even want to root or ROM the phone. Posted via what ever tickles me at the time.
  • Have you tested battery life on the V10 with mm yet? I've noticed that its improved with the update compared to Lollipop Posted on an LG V10
  • No. I had a custom de-bloated de-branded rom with greenify, amplify and xposed modules. Battery life was horrible even with all that. Never got more than about 2-3 hours SOT without having to hit the wall. Posted via what ever tickles me at the time.
  • Same story with my G4. R.I.P GPe program
  • I hear ya..... Posted via what ever tickles me at the time.
  • I get 4-5 of SOT on V10, so depends on the way you use it. VZW Moto X DE/N7
  • If HTC can get the m10 out quick they could definitely get a leg back up on lg. Hopefully they're staying up late at night making the phones too. Posted via the Android Central App
  • The reviews on this are pretty consistent it seems, about as consistent as the S7 reviews. Where as the S7 got positive reviews pretty much across the board, the reviews to this seem to point to an alright phone compromised by gimmicky hardware. Sad that LG feels the need to try and differentiate themselves through hardware gimmicks, instead of just making a good phone with good software. Maybe next year.
  • Or maybe a few months later when there might (hopefully) be the V10 successor. Maybe they'll refine the phone and make it better instead while doing away with stuff on the OG V10 that didn't work out so well.
  • Eh, perhaps, but the V10 is pretty much the definition of a niche device. They might fix the issues with the V10 but they really need to fix the issues with their mainstream flagship competitor. At this point it seems like we are always waiting for LG to fix something, their lousy UI, questionable build quality, etc. I think they'd be better served by listening to their users, instead of trying new things for the sake of trying new things.
  • I agree. I think they should just use a niche device like the now-defunct Flex line for new ideas and focus on improving their mainstream flagship in meaningful but impactful ways. When these ideas become sustainable to put on a mainstream device, then it can be done. R.I.P GPe program
  • I think that is a really good idea, it seems like the main problem with the modular design is the execution, maybe if they'd tried it on the V10 (or its successor) first and ironed out the details it would have been better executed in their mainstream offering.
  • What's worse is that LG is stuck with it, they can't just phase it out they are too far in now. Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • Yeah, that's what I thought. If LG did it on a more "niche" device, they still get the recognition of trying something different while allowing them focus on ironing out any kinks with their mainstream flagship while also refining the idea until it's feasible to put it in. To me, I think the main reason nobody else has done this is because this is untested waters. Project Ara still isn't out yet (no word on when it will ever be out) and there's quite a risk in doing something like this. Kudos to LG for taking the risk, but I wish it wasn't done on their mainstream flagship.
  • How is the V10 a niche phone? This phone is has great build quality, the camera imo is the best with the manual control, the second screen is very useful. I think we have come to a point in cellphones now that folks will find anything to complain about it. Give LG credit for doing what they did with G5, no one else is trying something new but playing it safe and going the Apple way of not changing a thing and pimping out features that should've been in the last phone. Alright my rant is over Posted via the Android Central App
  • Give LG credit for software that's worst than its predecessor?? No, Let's get LG to fix their stuff and make a kickass phone instead of apologizing for them. Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • LG did make a kick ass phone it is the V10. The UI is what it is. Folks hate touch wiz, folks hate sense, folks hate pure android. All I'm saying no other OEM other than samsung is trying different things like LG to push the envelope of cellphones. That's were I'm saying give the credit, if you don't that cool too. Posted via the Android Central App
  • "This phone is has great build quality, the camera imo is the best with the manual control, the second screen is very useful." None of those things make it a mainstream device. It's build, size, and sales numbers prove my point that it is a niche device. Even its main competitor (The Note series) is a niche device, there is nothing wrong with that, it just is. Don't be so sensitive. I am also not going to give LG credit for anything, trying something new is fine but if the execution is sub-par then you blew it. I don't give credit when a company tries something new and that new thing is executed poorly.
  • DING DING DING Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • Wow they try something new that has not been done and its poorly done wow. What was the standard? Posted via the Android Central App
  • You can be the only person doing something and still do it poorly. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Don't need anything to compare it to to see that it is poorly executed. Not that hard really.
  • The camera grip isn't good. It's not ergonomic and the button placement is rather poor, especially the zoom wheel. The DAC is a great addition, but it looks like it won't come Stateside for an indefinite period, and that also includes Canada, South Korea and Puerto Rico. Considering how it's messed up, at this point, I think the modular thing might be a flop unless LG can convince other manufacturers to make stuff for it. I still recognize and praise LG for trying something different with a pretty darn good idea (on paper). It's just that the modular design doesn't add a lot of benefits right now and seems to bring with it a new host of issues as well.
  • Well for starters, it's not sold everywhere like the G series phones.
  • Chipped paint is a deal breaker in my book. The phone in a mess. I want to like LG but they are making it very hard. Posted via Nexus 6 running on any data plan I want
  • Yeah when I heard that I was like...deeyummmmmm!! Posted via the Android Central App
  • LG just take an L and pull the plug on this one and focus on the V10's successor : improve battery life, do away or improve "second screen", optimize further, for the love of all that is good revamp this UI, improve battery life and last but not least beautify the thing for all these picky fashionistas out here. Posted via the Android Central App
  • +1 Posted via Nexus 6 running on any data plan I want
  • Hold this L LG lol
  • The issue is that now android holds the L, leaving Samsung alone at the top. Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • I'm not a fan of LG mainly because of their less than beautiful design. I totally agree with you that they should focus on the V10. I've heard nothing but good things about it. I just can't get beyond how it looks visually.
  • ^^^^^This.. LG should Cut their losses on this i would go as far as to halt manufacturing on G5 because they will have a lot of stock unsold. I love my G4 along with my 6p but certainly wouldn't consider G5. Posted via the Android Central App
  • I'm not sure why everyone is bagging on the look of the g5. On videos and reviews.... I'll admit, thing looked horrid. Now that I have mine in hand, I actually think it's a pretty damn good looking phone. Wall to wall glass on the front (except the removable butt) and a pretty decent look around the sides and back.....i am very happy with this thing and in retrospect, the g4 and all those gimmicky backs were a bit uglier than the g5. Posted via what ever tickles me at the time.
  • *sigh* So much for getting this phone I'm going to pass. Posted via the Android Central App with Nexus 5x
  • It's funny that LG has been aggressively advertising the G5 as a phone with many different modules that can be added to the phone, yet there's only one available right off the bat, and it's not even that good or useful. The thing that really turns me off to this phone is the quality control issues and the longevity of the paint and primer on the phone. If it cracked when you had the phone for less than a month, what's the phone going to look like in six months? That issue alone is reason enough for me to pass on getting the phone.
  • Quality control issues also seemed the same for the V10 for the first batch, especially with the Qi chip burning out as well as the weird cracking issues caused by the glass being too close to the stainless steel rails. Posted on an LG V10
  • And for the G4 too with the bootloop issues. We are starting to see a trend here.
  • This baby will be $250 in under a year. Love buying the flagship phones that are all fugged up that no one will want. My money is waiting....
  • Lol Posted via the Android Central App
  • You must be a clark howard fan....
  • Yes! I'm loving all these cool new phones but I'm not buying any of them until next year on the cheap. Early adopters always get screwed with QC issues and buggy software. Posted via the underrated M9
  • Having finally seen and held a G5 in the flesh, another issue is it just doesn't feel nice. The join on the module is just too obvious and that is before it has been removed and replaced. It just has to have a case and then the modular design becomes even more of a pain as you have to remove the case every time you change a module. Seeing the review and others I'm not confident that the build quality will mean the phone will last the 2 years between contracts. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Yep Posted via the Android Central App
  • Great review! but again you guys missed on one key point, RAW! not even a single mention of it or dng's and it's a biggggg feature! Does anyone even get the purpose of it? it's a big deal! if someone really values their photos, having a raw just as the original makes this phone even more desirable. Photos are way over sharpened, and video is slightly overblown by about half a stop, but it was the same as the G4, maybe Cinema4k may help?
  • It's also a pretty standard feature in high-end phones now — but not something most consumers will use.
  • Yeah it's true, but it would be great to at least mention it, there are many smartphones out there aside of "Flagships" that have yet to support Camera2 api. But I'm not the general non teksavvy consumer so...I hear ya. I mean take a look at these shots when you get the chance I shot 2 years ago wtih my Nexus 5 with raw and without, Raw processed: https://www.flickr.com/photos/particlefountain/15818221021/in/album-7215...
    Jpg out of camera: https://www.flickr.com/photos/particlefountain/15635283100/in/album-7215... How could anyone not want this feature? especially since many apps like snapseed and lr are freely available to edit them. All these issues with the camera quality are moot then lol.
  • Had the feature for a couple years now. Never used it. Not trying to win any photo contests... Just want my phone to take decent shots. Posted via the Android Central App
  • True true, but for people who want that extra punch and the non destructive nature of raw, it works for me! I shoot raw+jpg all the time, jpg's for immediate distribution, but raw for quality. But yeah for the general consumer who just wants a great shot without doing much, jpg is the way to go, I just like having the original just in case, plus I shoot for a living so it's kind of a necessity for me.
  • Lol yep Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • +1 :D
  • You mean to tell me THAT PHOTO is shot on a Nexus 5? A phone that didn't exactly have the world's greatest camera? And you got a great looking one out of it?
  • Hehehe not sure if you're sincere or not but yup! those 2 photos came from the Nexus 5, one straight out of camera non-hdr jpg, the other a raw processed in lightroom on pc. I hopped on board raw the moment lollipop was released, L camera was out and it's still a great no frills gets the job done type of camera app, I can even shoot 3k/30p footage on it, 1080p/60fps, 600p/120fps, manual video and photo controls, burst raw shots at 30fps up to 20 frames, bracketing on top of it, with raw! which is....soooo cool!! I'd like to see a current flagship's be able to shoot bracketed RAW'S at 30fps. I love my Nexus 5, it's fast, small, no skips or sh*t, great low light performance if you can hand hold 1/2sec ;).but after 2 years it's battery really...really sucks. I don't think people give the phone enough credit when it comes to the photo department.
  • Yeah, I was being sincere. Given that the phone’s camera was kinda panned, it's nice to see someone take a phone that doesn't exactly have a great shooter and get a nice looking shot out of it. (I live by 3 words. fastboot flashing unlock)
  • Awww thanks :D I say it's not the camera that makes a great photo, it's the one who wields it ;) FFU! nice! ditto. I settled on a G4 myself, flashed back to lollipop for root! since I have the bloody Canadian version, no root for MM :( To a techhead it's hard not to have it. Still have my N5 and it's smoother than my G4, kinda sad eh?
  • Do any major Android manufacturers not support RAW output in their flagships at this point? I think LG, Samsung, Nexus, HTC, and even OnePlus all have RAW support in their flagships. Sony does not lol.
  • I think you pretty much named them all lol. but the older G3 and S5 don't. I don't think the S6 did initially though.. I just think people rely too much on HDR for a great photo, when they could get an even better photo with a lil time in post using snapseed, lightroom, or photomate R3 with the raw.
  • Speaking of which, how is Snapseed compared to Lightroom? I've been dabbling in the latter but just curious enough to try another app out which can edit RAW/DNG files. Posted on an LG V10
  • Snapseed I find is much faster to actually edit than lightroom and offers more features such as blur etc. If you really want the full Desktop Lightroom experience, I recommend Photomate R2/R3, pretty much mirrors lightroom on desktop and includes noise reduction which neither Snapseed or Lightroom support. It's a slower and not as user friendly as the others, but I highly recommend the purchase! best used on tablets but it does have a simple smartphone interface if you need it. I love R3 on my Shield tablet with the stylus, so you can imagine heh. I think your best bet for quick and satisfying edits is Snapseed, but don't expect the best results when processing low light, since no NR. But!!!....lol you can use Adobe Photoshop Express's Noise reduction after processing ONLY the raw in Snapseed MINUS the filters and sh*t. Then re-import the exported NR photo back into snapseed and add your filters and sh*t lol. Though I'm not sure if you have to pay for the feature, I loaded it up on Express quite some time ago. Hope this helps ^_^ Oh and always export at the highest quality setting if you plan to re-import to another program, tiff even if you have the option, then save the final to jpg for upload, best to keep the quality in check throughout the passes.
  • Epic Fail from LG... Loved the G3 and 4 and everything this phone did besides the metal unibody failed imo Posted from my LG G4
  • We've had G3, G4, G5... Wish the G5 had kept the curve and the leather back but there's zero doubt that it's easily the best phone out of the three. Qucik Charge, photo ability, fingerprint reader, and performance all make it a great upgrade. Was going to keep my G4 until I got my hands on the SO's G5. Our phones are case kept so it negates much of the build stuff. We love the battery swaps for travel and camping. Overall this phone still checks off more boxes than just about any other offering for our household. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Never been a fan of LG products, they just dont have the quality feel to them. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Great review Phil!
  • Wow so LG gives you a metal unibody ✔ SD card support ✔ removable battery ✔ and folks still complain. No phone is perfect, and believe it or not everything that leaves the factory is not 100% going to work right problems will happen. Just like TV, Cars etc. Posted via the Android Central App
  • No phone is perfect sure but not every phone has bad light bleed issues and ugggh software, also read the review. Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • I did not read the review just read the comments of folks crying about this and that. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Then you can't be defending it.
  • Then you're saying nothing of value. Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • Then you should be reading the review before making a comment. Then you'll understand why this phone isn't getting rave reviews from users and even some critics.
  • He had no light bleed issue in the review. Posted via the Android Central App
  • This phone is much,much less than "perfect". Posted via the Android Central App
  • SD and Removable battery are both detraction from the device to me. Not including the better camera and improved DAC standard are definitely a detraction. No improvement on screen camera, going backwards on battery life, going backwards on build quality, horribad update schedule, poor physical design layout, etc, etc. Just having two or three random features that a tiny group of people want to have doesn't make for a good phone. Device needs to be better than the sum of its parts. This one just isn't - and the parts aren't that great to begin with.
  • There was NOTHING wrong with the G4 with the notable exception of the software, the leather was great and they were sooooo CLOSE to perfection. Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • My wife had the G4, and while it's not my cup of tea - it was a very reliable daily driver for her and honestly I'd expect the G5 to perform similarly on the most important areas to her (because it's the same parts) except for battery life - which means she'd be better off with a G4.
  • The G5 performs better with better battery management. Posted via the Android Central App
  • I just bought a G4 new for $300cdn, or like $250usd, I couldn't justify paying close to $1000cdn for the G5. I love my G4! but sadly it's the Canadian edition and no root for Marshmallow, so I went back to lollipop. Still got my Nexus 5 though and there's a big difference with the fluidity of it. The G4 at times shudders, while my Nexus 5, it's soooo smooth! They really should bring back GPE
  • I'd like that. You can also try out the Nexus 5X. It's a little smaller, but better screen, better battery life, smooth as butter, camera is roughly equal but for different reasons (so if you like the G4 camera, keep that!) and obviously better updates and more secure.
  • Yeah I was highly contemplating the 5X but the lack of OIS is a real bummer, plus I've heard plenty horror stories. I just bought the G4 to hold me over,. I'm really waiting for the Next Nexus's, give me a Nexus 5x, with OIS, more ram and maaaaaybe an sd card and I'd be happy lol. I am a Nexus guy at heart, but I couldn't justify the $500cdn for it.
  • Totally agree dude, plus they should be commended for breaking the mold and doing something different, sure it may not be the best and has issues but they did so many new things! while still keeping to their core strengths, removable battery and sd card. And for the camera, if it ain't broke, don't fix it. I'm glad they kept the 16mp camera and 8mp is enough for the wide, because who's gonna want to zoom in? it's a wide shot!, just use the other lens ya know? I just think people love to complain, have their voices heard. Samsung refined, LG broke the mold.
  • Are we just going to forget the software? Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • Yeah the software isn't the best, but put Nova Launcher on there. Give it a few weeks for root on the SD model, and then I'm sure there will be a CM nightly for it. Give it time, the XDA community will get their hands on it, get LG Tweaksbox and Xposed, many problems solved.
  • Totally get it on the launcher just put another one on, but you should not have to go to XDA today fix issues with this phone, I wouldn't complain about it in 2010/2011 but now no dice. Love what those guys at XDA do though. Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • So true so true, you got a point. But for us geeks heh, there's not much of a limiting factor. I loooooooove XDA! great community and really appreciate what these guys do.
  • Lol yeah for us we will tinker and break everything. Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • But that's the whole mental rush there! lol as long as we can revert back, only time is an issue :D
  • The problem is that only the T-Mobile G5 has an unlockable bootloader. LG didn't say whether the unlocked version of the G5 will have an unlockable bootloader. Only the European LG G4 has an unlockable bootloader that's compatible with LG's tool. The T-Mobile LG G4 also has an unlockable bootloader that's done in the same way as the G5. So it looks like if you want to ROM this device, you need to get one from T-Mobile. LG doesn't seem to care about unlocking the bootloader on the rest of its devices, as any response from the staff when you ask them about it is always the same robotic "No plans to do this" nonsense. The only reason I wanted to unlock the bootloader on my G4 is to remove that ugly AF UI. It's too big in terms of display density and color choices are just all over the place. Not to mention the one on the G5 doesn't bode well with me due to its increased usage of the color white throughout the UI. Since I can't do it, but mostly because it's becoming a myriad of issues, it's going away, to be replaced by a phone with a tolerable UI. And yes, I did mention I am getting a Note 6 multiple times before. And I'm still sticking to that. That's because TouchWiz, when you theme it, is actually tolerable, to me anyway. I still prefer HTC Sense (I didn't say stock Android because while I love it in custom form, I think it's a little bare in stock form. Also because I don't want to be labeled as a Nexus fanboy) but TouchWiz has improved pretty significantly as of late, especially in terms of performance and with the theme engine, the aesthetics are there. Also the lower display density at 540DPI, standard on the Note, optional via a hidden setting on the S7. Anyway, my rant is over. I don't hate LG, because they make great stuff like their OLED TVs and all that, but I think they don't really seem to care about the XDA community or the requests for improved software and looking at the G5, I'd say they took a step forward, then took half-a-step back. PS: Yes, I know the XDA community makes up a minority of users. But still, at least cater to them. HTC, ASUS and others could. Why can't LG?
  • "they should be commended for breaking the mold and doing something different" WHY?! People keep saying this but if the different thing they did wasn't done well why should we be commending them? This phone company literally shipped crap in a box but we should commend them for trying something different. Being different for the sake of it is pointless, and companies should NOT be commended for it.
  • It's almost like the Era of apologizing for Android phones all over again. Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • Well same could be said for the S6, it wasn't great out of the gate, but it took the S7 to really make it's stand. I just learn not to take smartphones too seriously, people are so passionate about their brands that it tends to blind them to others. Sure this phone isn't great, the build quality could be better, the backlight bleed is horrible, but they took a chance, it may fail, but without failure, they won't learn. The G2 was cool and was one of the first to have the SD800 chip along with the Nexus 5, G3 was the first 2.5k screen, the G4 refined the G3, and the G4 is awesome! at least we have these reviews to enlighten us. They ****** up, but Next years model will probably be a drastic improvement over this years. They tried something new, they failed in some respects, but their camera is pretty dope, battery life is decent and you got options for accessories. To each their own, I won't buy it but I do admire that they're trying something new and I honestly like the design of it, you may not but again, to each their own.
  • At least they did. It just ended up being quite a flop. Still gets recognition from me for trying something different, but that's it. It's different, but not necessarily better.
  • When people spend $600- $700 for a device, it damn well better be perfect when it comes out of the factory. The very fact that the G5 has a ton of QC issues is alarming and people have every right to be hesitant on giving LG money for this device. Posted via the Android Central App on the S7 edge
  • DING DING DING Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • DONG DONG DONG....the witch is dead...er G5 is dead.....
  • DING DONG DONG DING
  • Lol wtf are we doing Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • Not quite sure....lol
  • But do the ports align??!!! Hahaha :P
    I do want to try this phone just to see how it feels, but past experiences with modular stuff (laptop cards, older phone's cameras...remember that Moto with swappable cameras? Yeah, that didn't pan out too well) makes me weary.
  • There's a reason modular keeps coming back and keeps dying. It's a neat idea that suddenly doesn't make sense once you're holding the gizmo.
    In today's world where everything short of the battery can be unified into a single chip system, building a modular phone is literally building extra failure points into an expensive device.
  • I really did not like the look of the phone when they first introduced it, it has kind of grew on me. Truth be told, 99% of the buyers of this phone will never take the bottom off of it, ever, they won't have to worry about chipped paint, they will not care about modules, they will like the idea that they can change batteries, but they will never buy a spare battery. The APP drawer missing, I don't like but that is an easy fix. If the bottom is miss aligned by a micro, big deal, you are all going to put a case on it anyway. I never use auto brightness, they all stink when it comes to that. No, it is not a Samsung super duper G7, but then I don't think they are that great other than the Camera. I think everyone is getting a little bias, It is not a good phone unless it says Apple or Samsung on it.
  • Nope!Calling out bad as bad,regardless of manufacturer. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Lol at the generalizations that everyone is an idiot, I'm biased against phones that are inferior than their predecessor. Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • But it's just not inferior. There are some design elements I'd wish they'd kept but the G5 is a better overall phone. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Tell us that when your paint chips. Or when the friends show up to the party and they are crazy expensive and not worth the Hassel.
  • 99% of buyers won't be taking the bottom off the G5? Seriously? That's the one major selling point of the phone. Most people who purchase the G5 will be taking the bottom off to switch modules or replacing the battery. It's amazing how people will make any excuse to excuse the deficiencies of a device. Look, I'm a huge Samsung fan, but if they came out with something this bad, I'd be rightly ripping it apart.
  • Wow! I agree with you!
  • Except that 99% won't take it off. Casual users gonna casual. That said, the phone is still expensive failure prone trash.
  • Great review Phil and AC. Not a surprise. This phone is a mess on several levels. Very real light-bleed issues, the module doesn't line up, LG stretched the truth, big time, regarding this being an all metal phone. The front of the main module is plastic and of course it's all covered in a thick layer of primer. Kind of defeats the whole wow factor that this phone was supposed to bring....remember? Removable battery with an all metal body. Whoops. The whole modular concept would have been SO much better if they would have simply implemented it as a back battery cover option... instead of the whole bottom coming off. You can pretty much bet there will be an unusually high number of returns, because of the module concept. This hardware has failure written all over it from day one. No doubt this will be a huge and costly lesson learned for LG. G6 will most likely be epic. Let's hope,
  • I have to wonder what the LG execs are thinking right now they look at these sites too. Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • They're thinking consumers don't know what the hell they're talking about. The same way I feel when I work for customers Posted via the Android Central App
  • Work for customers?? For food? A shed to crash in? j/k :)
  • Look at htc. Thier cameras have been the Achilles heel of thier problems and they never learned, until now i hope.
  • Bottom line: You get a phone with a decent screen, decent camera, bad battery life, bad physical and software design, poor record on security and updates, poor build quality and some "optional" features that should have been included standard. The volume buttons are on the wrong side, power button is duplicate function as FPS (fail), front bottom bezel isn't the same color/material as the top bezel and isn't flush, blah, blah, blah - long story short, #nope.
  • My bottom line: get a 6P or S7, at the high end they stand alone. Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • For now I'm forced to agree. Here's to hoping that .. oh wait, other than Samsung and Nexus we're done for the year. Ok, so yeah. Buy a 2015 or 2016 Nexus or a 2016 Samsung. Otherwise, #nope.
  • Funny how the year ends so quick we kind of know the story with Android devices by June at the latest lol. Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • Also forgot to say this on one hand with good marketing this MIGHT be HTCs chance. Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • Might be? They better hope! Posted via the Android Central App
  • We still potentially have a phone coming from Motorola; however I think if I held my breath I might die
  • I think they missed quite a lot of opportunities on this one, unfortunately. They focused too damn much on the modular thing....
  • Kudos to LG for trying something different, but the coating is getting bad press and seems to scratch easily. I think they should have stuck with the V10's rubbery coating, which wears better and is easier to hold. Posted via the Android Central App from my S7 edge
  • There is a lot going on with that phone and with all the negatives that you and many others have touch on, I have to say no with this phone. The modular idea is a win but the phone itself as you have discovered is flawed. Also, every review I have read points out that the display has extreme light bleed that is so bad that it can be seen in a room with the lights on. I don't like the Quality that LG is putting out. I had a Nexus 4 that lost it's camera lens before the first year was out.
  • Sample pics aren't showing up in the app. 5x Posted via the Android Central App
  • The app is two steps forward one step back, but it's getting there. Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • Yeah the app has greatly improved. It is good enough to be my daily, and I love the no ads. The site itself...is out of control. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Yeah they just gave up on it. Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • The camera module would have been so much more usable if they had moved the scroll wheel to the other corner on top... Posted via the Android Central App
  • It's almost as if no one inside LG touched this phone and just designed it on a computer and sent the schematics to the factory. Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • great review. I am an LG G4 owner (T-Mo) and I like my phone but am looking forward to the Note 6 coming out soon (about the time I can upgrade). If the only thing that is good about this camera is the camera....then that old line comes into play "move along people, nothing to see here". My G4 is becoming a pain for me...since the MM update....battery sucks and it lags hooribly. I will try hard resetting (3rd time) it.
  • I bet the note 6 will be THE phone Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • Funny that both the OP and I are G4 users. And both of us are waiting for the same phone.
  • What a crock of crocking bullcrock. They cant afford to slack on the G6 series. Id throw the cards in on that device and go in another direction.
    Who AM I?
    A never to buy a Lg device again guy. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Chill Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • This phone is garbage. The idea is a cool one but their materials and implementation is straight trash. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Year a after year LG has the worst calibrated displays of any of the major OEMs. Their white point is absolute garbage.
  • Modules aside (I probably won't use them) and build quality aside (assuming manufacturing tolerances improve over time), just using the phone as a phone, is it worth the upgrade from a G4? I dont have an issue with LG software (other than the WiFi cutting out every now and again) and whilst the G4 has been good to me, the 808 struggles with some of the games I play; overheats, frame rate issues to the point of it being unplayable, general Laggyness and screen auto dimming all the time. It gets frustrating at times. Hoping the 820 will be worth the upgrade in a couple of months. Plus I want to keep the IR blaster for controlling all my stuff for when my toddler misplaces the remotes. Otherwise I'd have probably already have bought a s7e. Posted via the Android Central App
  • It sounds like you might need the HTC10. Posted via the Android Central App
  • I have considered that. I'll wait for the reviews on it. Hopefully HTC don't screw it up again, might be a tall order. The M8 was my first android after switching from Apple and I loved it, even with the inconsistent camera. Still have it as my backup. Miss that front facing boomsound. Posted via the Android Central App
  • I said it when I saw the first leaks and everything I've seen since has just confirmed it... This phone is a prototype that should never have been released until it was finished and ready. The build is clearly questionable. The design, while admittedly subjective, looks awful. The modules don't fit properly, and of the 2 they have made, one seems kind of useless, and one doesn't seem to be available for sale. 3rd parties are unlikely to bother making any despite LGs hopes, and I'd be surprised if even LG made any more. Points for effort LG. Posted via the Android Central App
  • The downside to LG deciding to push the limits of their design team instead of just improving on the G4, and honestly I didn't even like the G4 that much. What LG seems to fail to notice is that Samsung just made a fantastic device that is only fundamentally better then what they had before and reviewers love it, you don't need to reinvent the wheel if what you have works; maybe we can just make it out of rubber instead of stone.
  • If they'd made a G4, with a steel frame and removable back, like the V10, but keeping a similar form factor as the G4, plus this dual camera setup, they could have knocked it out of the park. Unfortunately it's a swing and a miss. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Looks like I'll be sticking with my V10 and iPhone 6s dynamic duo. Posted via the Android Central App
  • "We'd wait." Solid review and perfect conclusion.
  • I think as mentioned they really just needed to refine the G4 with built quality i don't really have any issues with the software. This should of been a different line experiment line they really messed up a very good G4. This may not do very well and we should see some reshuffle at LG mobile division. I suspect next year most of the gimmicks will be gone. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Scroll wheel. I saw scroll wheel.
    I'm so happy. :D When are they going to put one back on a device proper? :p Other thing I take from this : if you want a G5, buy 3 and pick the best one!
  • Shame. I've really liked my G3, but I don't see myself upgrading to this G5.
  • Same, I'll wait till my G3 dies
  • " and you'll instantly notice how things sound better. More crisp, more clear. Muddied kick drums stand on their own. Individual instruments can be made out more easily. It makes you wonder why this wasn't just built into the phone in the first place" Exactly. This outrages me. Posted via the Android Central App
  • Kinda makes sense as the average consumer won't even care for the dac and will be satisfied with the stock DAC that snapdragon offers. LG wanted to use the B&O DAC to make those who want better audio invest in their modular chin program. Too bad they overlooked several things and voilà! The DAC module isn't available in the US nor usable on US G5's. Posted on an LG V10
  • I appreciate that this written review blasts T-Mobile a little bit for the bloatware. On the podcast it sounded like you guys were praising T-Mobile because they put less bloat on the G5 than AT&T. I count 11 non-LG bloatware apps in the screenshots you posted from the T-Mobile unit, compared to 15 noted in the article about the AT&T variant. 11 vs 15 is not praiseworthy. T-Mobile is only SLIGHTLY better than AT&T in this regard. Should a carrier get it down to less than 5, maybe you can praise them a bit.
  • True though T-Mobile's built in apps (exclude the main app placing a data counter notification permanently on the notif shade) don't blatantly advertise their own services to the phone unlike AT&T. Posted on an LG V10
  • Rewind back to the rumours and unveiling when some of us "lay people" pointed out these exact criticisms only to be shot down by the AC mafia...
  • Who are this AC mafia and how do I join? Posted via the Android Central App
  • It's the INNER CIRCLE Posted from my Nexus 6/Nexus 7 2013/Surface Pro 3
  • Do we get robes? I'm dying to join something where we get to wear robes. Posted via the Android Central App
  • You never talk about the INNER CIRCLE, besides the INNER CIRCLE doesn't exist. Posted from someone's Note 4
  • All in all Big Blah of the phone VZW Moto X DE/N7
  • I could give a **** if a phone FEELS metal or not. However, machining fit and finish do matter. Pet peeve. Also, it is 2016, there is NO reason a phone's display should not be AMAZING. It is the primary way we interact with our devices. Holding my G4, right now, I'm thinking if I had to go out and get an LG replacement, it would be a V10. Posted with my LG G4 6.0 via the Android Central App
  • Such dodgy build quality LG, that's why your phone survived a 5ft drop test and still worked as opposed to the engineering marvel that is the S7 that wouldn't even turn on. While the LG phone should be put against the S7 people should remember this is so different from the G4 the finish isn't going to be perfect....much as the beginning of the Samsung S range wasn't perfect. As a side point, if someone points out the YouTube video contributor didn't know how to turn the S7 on.....erm, the G5 didn't turn off and a five minute repair would sort the glass. All I'm saying is stop knocking a generation one product (all new construction) to a polished but nothing really new product....imho
  • Great review of course. Phil u are looking rather svelte lately.
    I think the s7 / s7 edge has me spoiled on hardware. This feels like the s6 did. Not ready / underwhelming. Maybe next year. Now if the m10 could just include water resistance!! Posted via the Android Central App
  • I don't know why anyone would buy this over the 6p or the s7. Seriously. Posted via the Android Central App
  • The main thing I wanted LG to improve on was the UI, and it seemed to get no better at all. Now I'm dying to see what HTC has in store for the 10.
  • I've watched so many reviews of this phone and by far this is my favorite one. The last thing he says about whether the modules will work on the next phone or not was really interesting. I feel like no matter what they choose to do, people are going to **** on them. If they choose to keep the module thing going next year, people are going to complain and if this ends up being a one time thing, people are going to complain about the modules being a waste and not working on their new phone. Posted via the Android Central App
  • We will never know. But I wonder if the reviews would have been better if LG released a phone more like the G4 or V10.. maybe just using the same design language as the old phones and metal around the body. I just want a G4 with a SD820.
  • In my opinion they shouldn't of tried this module thing on their flagship. Maybe start a new line to test the water. Instead they should of just continue what there were already doing good on previous phones. Great camera (G4) good built quality/design (V10) and just improve their battery, screen, and most importantly UI. Posted via Samsung's beast S7
  • i really want to Love this phone, but ever since the annoncement i have been hesitant... i had a G2, G3, and now a G4, i really love the rear buttons and i feel like it was a trademark for LG that they have now taken away im sure i will own it one day, i do buy and sell phones a lot.. but Samsungs S7 looks like a much better choice for the price right now Posted via the Android Central App
  • I feel LG thought "modules" and designed a phone around that idea rather than design a good phone first that had modules as a feature. I signed off on the G5 a while ago after I heard you'd have to remove the battery to change modules. So basically remove the battery and restart the phone every time you wanted to change modules. Wouldn't have been cooler to be able to use different modules on the fly, changing them as you needed without interrupting your use of the phone? That was my initial thought. Either way, it looks more like LG fans should wait for a V10 successor for a real LG flagship with buying.
  • Not exaxtly. LG found an innovative way to do removable battery in a metal body and then tried to monetize it further with minimal additional R&D investment. (I'm a product dev consultant). This shows in how the modules are almost afterthoughts by design.
  • Phil,
    I just want to say, I like the WAY you reviewed that phone.
    I loved the part where you showed 3 large screens showing all the default apps. Instead of us watching a video of you guys just blindly flick flick flick flick flick all over the place not really showing us Anything. Guess you are trying to prove you can flick and not get lag.... How bout Not flicking all over the place and maybe show us a little Brand specific software?
    AND, you talked about the Native Keyboard etc. You actually gave us more in that one video than I have seen in any review. I feel like a review shouldn't just be "it has android on it" ... "you'll probably want to cover all that up with a launcher" blah blah blah
    None of that helps. This video review showed more of what LG wants the people to see. They don't want you to go get google launcher.
    I feel like reviews forget that, you need to review what is ON THE PHONE, out of the box. Not sell us on your favorite launcher or keyboard.
    It's fine to give an opinion, like I plan to swap out the keyboard, but I like the fact that you actually said " hey, it's not bad, but, this is the reason I will replace it" At least I got the SEE the keyboard that comes On the phone.
    Anyways. Good job on the review. I think it was one of your best.
  • @ mayconvert : Exactly!!
  • That's definitely not a review. You just counted all the features that it has. What about the opinion? The actual review? What author thinks about it? Posted via the Android Central App on my Zuk Z1. Loving it.
  • How does the DAC module compare to a standalone DAC from FiiO? Posted from my Moto X Pure Edition via the Android Central App
  • Very nice review Phil. You covered all the important points of the phone and modules. Personally, I think LG gambled on this variant, and I think they are going to lose long term. More to come down the road. BTW...looking cool in the beard man...must be hanging around Jerry too much...lol:)
  • I could have written most of this review months ago having had LG for years and seeing the specs etc. No idea why the majority would buy this instead of S7 options. Consumer reports gave s7 best phone review of all time. Not perfect but world's better than this mess. Cracking??? Geez...
  • I had a feeling the modules would be half baked and they sound that way. Great idea but sounds like the execution was done poorly.
  • Why did they remove app drawer? So it looks more like an iPhone's UI? I hate not having an app drawer.
  • The stand-alone phone is very nice in hand. The screen is brighter than the G4 and it is very snappy. I still think I like the V10 better because of the back buttons though. Better luck next year LG. Posted with my LG G4 6.0 via the Android Central App
  • I've had my G5 for almost 3 weeks and am Thrilled with its' performance. Like someone said : memory card ✔, removable battery ✔, Great battery life ✔, super fast performance ✔, still the Best camera ✔. If you're worried about chipped paint then get a Skinomi full body protector !
    This unit is Far better than either the G3 or G4. Granted, the curved screen felt nice but this G5 is lighter and weighted evenly. And the Sound is Much better than Any unit they've put out. The "Friends"? I didn't get it for the Friends, I bought it because it's a Great Phone all by itself!
  • Great review, Apparently you don't need a new app to have an App Drawer You can opt for a different Home Mode though - Home with App Drawer, which will bring back the app drawer. Easy Mode is available, too.
  • So I have read about this phone. A lot of people were having problems with it and had returned them several times trying to find one that worked correctly.